We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Once was enough” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bistro

Bistro
Ranked #1,202 of 22,199 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $19 - $37
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Westminster
Description: Bistro is a sophisticated restaurant serving contemporary European cuisine based on the freshest and finest quality ingredients. Bistro impresses with its unique presentations and flavours created through local sourcing of fresh produce and the Chef's careful selection of meats, seafood, poultry and vegetables. Sophisticated soft, warm decor, sleek banquets and crisp white linen, create a timeless setting to enjoy the sumptuous choice of signature dishes, English favourites and pan-Asian delicacies.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
227 reviews
153 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Once was enough”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

Not awful really but nothing to make us return. The hostess graciously found us a table as they were fully booked. Our server was a bit amateurish but perhaps couldn't handle the overflow. Appetizers were very good but the snapper we ordered was bone dry and overcooked. the accompanying veggies had no flavor. Glad we good eat at this restaurant as we were staying there for 8 nights but looked for other options after this one night.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank diBiella51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGR_CPLONSJ, Manager at Bistro, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear diBiella51,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to Bistro 51. The team and I were very disappointed to read that you did not entiely enjoy your experience and found both the food and service to a level that you were expecting. We hope to establish why you had such a negative experience and ensure that changes are made to make it better.

Thank you again for the review, I hope that we do have an opportunity to welcome you back and so you are able to see the changes and improvements that have been made.

Thank you again for the review.

Yours sincerely,

Edward Riches
Hotel Manager
Crowne Plaza London St James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    144
    129
    28
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
1 review
“Our daughters 18th birthday dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

What a great restaurant and venue. We found and organised my daughters 18th birthday for 50 people by email from Saudi Arabia - so going blind really! But what a great choice. Very helpful and friendly staff guided us through the whole experience from the planning to the actual evening. Lovely warm atmosphere despite the freezing temperatures outside and super ambience throughout the whole restaurant. We all pre-ordered from a 3 course dinner menu, which was very reasonably priced and delicious. Each choice was presented well and no one was disappointed. Even with some last minute cancellations the restaurant seemed to take it in its stride. An absolute must for anyone looking for a stylish place to eat in London however big your group. Thank you all very much for making the evening a huge success. Regards Lizzie & Peter.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lizziewhizz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGR_CPLONSJ, Manager at Bistro, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear Lizziewhizz1,

Thank you for your review of your recent meal to celebrate your daughters 18th Birthday. we are delighted that you all had a great time and found the food and service to a high standard and enhanced the entire experience. I am pleased we could accommodate you all and when you are next back in London, we hope to see you back again!

Thank you again for your review.

Yours sincerely,

Edward Riches
Hotel Manager
Crowne Plaza London St James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

Good business lunch, maybe a little bit too pricy. Service was above average, but only 2 staffs for 4-5 tables at the time meaning services was a bit slow. Food was good, I had risotto and that was cooked to a above-par standard. Business partner had Chicken Tikka Masala from the Indian menu, claimed to be very very good indeed.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jasperlai8429
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGR_CPLONSJ, Manager at Bistro, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Jasperlai8429,

Thank you for your recent lunch visit to Bistro 51. We were delighted to read that you generally enjoyed your meal and found the food quality to be above your expectation. I was a little disappointed to read that the service was a little slow, something for us to work on.

We hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back to Bistro 51 on either your next stay in the hotel or if you are visiting this area of London. Thank you again for the review.

Yours sincerely,

Edward Riches
Hotel Manager
Crowne Plaza London St James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

Excellent food, service and value for money for lunch. The restaurant was a little quiet for a Saturday but it suited us perfectly.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bullermeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGR_CPLONSJ, Manager at Bistro, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear Bullermeister,

Thank you for your review of your meal with us, we were all delighted to read that you enjoyed your lunch time experience and found the service and food much to your liking. Saturday lunch time is one of our quieter sittings, but this can vary and is sometimes also very busy.

We hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back again and thank you for the review.

Yours sincerely,

Edward Riches
Hotel Manager
Crowne Plaza London St James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey, Channel Islands
Level Contributor
106 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Good food , good service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

I thought that with such a wide range of styles on the menu it would fail to deliver but actually the food was rather good (I went for Indian). Perhaps a little expensive for what it was but the service was good (if a little pretentious) and certainly not slow.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank BigMac58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGR_CPLONSJ, Manager at Bistro, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Dear BigMac58,

Thank you for the review, we were delighted that you enjoyed your meal with us and found both the food as well as the service very much to your liking. Our menu is very varied and as the Hotel is owned by an Indian Company, Taj Hotels, our speciality is our great Indian Cuisine.

We hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back and enjoy the food again on a future stay or visit to the area.

Thank you again for the review.

Yours sincerely,

Edward Riches
Hotel Manager
Crowne Plaza London St James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro also viewed

 
London, England
 

Been to Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing