We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No nonsense affordable Mediterranean cuisine in the heart of London”
Review of Bistro 1 - Beak Street - CLOSED

Bistro 1 - Beak Street
Price range: $26 - $39
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Soho
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
275 reviews
200 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“No nonsense affordable Mediterranean cuisine in the heart of London”
Reviewed March 30, 2014

We had intended to eat in the nearby Old Coffee House (see my previous reviews) but as the place was packed due to a football match, we had to look for a nearby alternative.

Bistro 1 proved to be a very good choice and it goes without saying we will be back soon. We tend to avoid tourist hotspots and the major chains and as we are regular visitors to London from elsewhere in the UK tend to look for affordable eateries with quality and well presented food.

We were greeted with a genuine warm smile and were encouraged to pick our own table. The ambience is pleasantly relaxed and homely. Bistro 1 is ideal for shoppers, office workers and the pre-theatre crowd on a budget.

The straightforward menu offers traditional British and Greek/Turkish-style classics. We opted for the 3 course deal with a large coke each which was excellent value at around £13 per head including our drinks.

I ordered falafel and hummus with salad and olive oil to start which was delicious and well presented. For main I ordered the home made fish cakes (salmon with herbs) with chunky fries, salad and tartare sauce. This was equally delicious, perfectly cooked and in generous portions. We both ordered tiramisu to finish.

In summary this place ticks all the boxes for an unpretentious informal dining experience

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrewms14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    28
    10
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very disappointing food”
Reviewed March 17, 2014

Chose this restaurant after reading the generally positive reviews. Staff were nice but can not recommend the food.Really disappointing.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fran58_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
261 reviews
192 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Return visit.”
Reviewed March 9, 2014

I recently paid a return visit to Bistro1 Beak Street.

My starter, Deep-fried Spicy Chicken on Skewers was delicious.
My main Dish Pancake filled with Goat’s Cheese & Creamed Spinach, was flavoursome and a new Dish for me.

Olives and Bread were complementary making excellent value, the Bill was under £10 including a Glass of Water.

Bistro1 is easy to find, Beak Street is off Regent Street on the Soho side.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AuldJimmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llanelli, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Pre-Theatre Meal”
Reviewed February 24, 2014

3 friends and myself visited Bistro 1 last Saturday night after I had looked online for nearest restaurant to the Adelphi Theatre and checked the reviews on Tripadvisor. I booked through Top Table and selected the two course meal with a glass of wine for £11.99, we booked a 5.30 time slot. I can honestly say that it was one of the nicest meals we have ever had the service was exceptional and all the waiters were really chatty and happy. There was plenty of choice, something for everyone, we also paid £2 and had a sweet, which was delicious, we will definitely by coming back x

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AmandaTJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A friendly service and reasonable prices”
Reviewed January 23, 2014

We had a good time at this cosy, friendly small restaurant in Soho and near to Piccadilly. Was met with a warm welcome and although the room is small you still feel you have your on space without anyone else impinging on your conversations. The £11.90 including a glass of wine menu was varied enough and with meat, fish, seafood and vegetarian dishes. For the starters the mixed mezes was pleasant but the feta cheese salad could have had more added to it, such as olives and cucumber. The salmon and the sea bream mains were cooked well done and slightly dry but still tasted fine with simple accompaniments. The red wine served before the meal was very light and not very characterful but was ok. Worth a visit.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Excurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro 1 - Beak Street also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing