We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bistro 1 - Beak Street - CLOSED

Bistro 1 - Beak Street
Price range: $25 - $37
Cuisines: Mediterranean, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Neighborhood: Soho
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2014 via mobile

A nice little traditional bistro with a set menu that's great value at £11.90. Service, atmosphere and drinks prices all fine. I'll certainly go back.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank StreetSnapper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    27
    10
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
99 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“a night with dame edna”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013

I booked this restaurant because it had availability and was near the palladium where the great dame was playing.
The food was prepared quickly and the staff friendly. It was fine for £11.00.
The bread was fresh and the meat well cooked.
It is a bit of a mish mish menu, but it is a good pre theatre meal with no hidden extras.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank nitricoxide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Not outstanding food and staff”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2013

I went today alone and the food was not that good as I expected and the staff was not that attentive as I am used in London waiting service, the worst, the waiter kept my change on his own decision..I hope he will enjoy the 30 pennies!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Taly_psy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Not bad when you pay £11.90 per head”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013

Booked online 40 mins before arriving, which was excellent. Toptable deal gave us the usual 2 courses for £11.90 plus a glass of house wine each.
Good atmosphere due to lighting, quite a cramped place, toilets smelt as if drains are clogged up, decent service, a little slow getting the bill, food tasted average, provided bread and butter to start with.
In particular, veg mousaka lacked in flavour, and no tomatoes in the mix. Fillet of seabream and mash potato - couldn't tell the difference between anything on the plate.
But then, eating 2 courses at a restaurant with service and wine included all for £11.90 pp means the restaurant and offering wasn't bad for the price in this part of London.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ZJ_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks
Level Contributor
97 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Bad Drains Night”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2013

The lavatories are located next to the kitchen in the basement and the smell emanating from the gents loo was horrible. The staff did their best to mask it with disinfectant and deodorants but the smell kept wafting up the stairs to the restaurant.
The restaurant is small and "cosy".
Provided you stick to cold and presumably pre-prepared food you are better off than should you want it hot.
I was with two companions. Two us had the cold starter-fine. The other had the deep fried brie-cold and hard. He then had the fish dish- cold. We reckoned the microwave operator had probably not had sufficient training.
The manager to his credit halved our bill (the wine and beer were fine).
If the food was up to scratch it would not be expensive.
However, until thy sort out their extractor fans and up their game on heating the food I will not be bothering them with my custom.
One of my colleagues wondered how such a kitchen/lavatory arrangement be licensed by the council.
It's a shame because it could be a fun place to go.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 380Mac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro 1 - Beak Street also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing