We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb service, excellent food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Bermondsey Square Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Bermondsey Square Hotel
Ranked #272 of 1,086 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Superb service, excellent food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2014

My partner and I stayed here overnight, as part of a trip to see the Royal Philharmonic on the south bank. Eating and then getting to a show can be stressful and rushed, but we let the staff know that we would like a quick meal, and that is what we got. The service was super efficient without being hustled, and the wait person was completely charming and helpful. We didn't have time to eat the pudding part of the fixed price steak meal we wanted, so the lady made a note and served it to us when we got back at ten that night. The steak was just delicious, crispy satisfying chips, and a lovely apple cake some hours later. The room was very comfortable, and absolutely quiet even thought we overlooked the Square. Great breakfast - continental was fresh, varied and plentiful, and the eggs royale were a real treat. I can't overemphasise the excellent service and warm welcome that we had. Superb stay, and I will certainly be staying there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Siobhan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    567
    520
    123
    38
    29
See reviews for
133
635
80
246
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (261)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2014

I booked a room just for one night, We werenot expecting to stay here but we booked one night because our family was staying in the same square. We were really surprised with this hotel: big room, good location surrounded of bars, weekend markets, bakery and there is a lot of service in the hotel (gym, restaurant, etc.).
The people from the hotel are really polite and helpfull, wouldnt mind staying here again.
We stayed 2 adults and 1 baby.

Room Tip: Suites with view to the square have nicer views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank odinnet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2014 via mobile

My partner and I stay at the Bermondsey Square Hotel whenever we visit the city. Kehinda and his team are always happy to help and nothing is too much trouble for them. We haven't yet tried the restaurant but the menu in the room looked varied and reasonably priced. Will be sure to check it out when we return for New Year!

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank JOSH C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2014

We booked for a single night, first time staying south of the river. The hotel is relatively new, right on Bermondsey Square, so if you are looking for a modern hotel experience, and want peace and quiet then this is the place for you. Reception staff all very helpful, and the room was great. Well appointed and with a Beatles theme! Great size and power to the shower, and really comfortable bed.

Room Tip: We where on the top floor and had a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Puntersfriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Holland, General Manager at The Bermondsey Square Hotel, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Dear Puntersfriend
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castleknock, Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2014

We stayed here for a weekend in early June and would happily stay there again.

You can pay extra for a room with a view of The Shard. We didn't, but ended up getting one anyway, on the 4th floor. It's a fantastic view, especially at night. The room was very well equipped, nicely designed and furnished and very new and clean. Bathroom was very nice, with a very large shower. Room service is unobtrusive and friendly and it didn't seem to matter how late we left the room in the morning (or even early afternoon), the room was still made up when we got back. A feature we we loved, was that there was a fridge which wasn't packed with the usual minibar fare - it contained just wine glasses and bottles of complimentary water, leaving enough room for us to store our own items. Another nice touch was a card inviting us to ask for fresh milk for our coffee, if we didn't like the UHT milk supplied in the room.

The WiFi is quick, strong signal but must be signed into every two hours. Make sure you're not in the middle of an online check-in when it cuts you off.

Area is very hip and trendy, with some fantastic restaurants. "Village East" and "The Garrison" (gastropub) are highly recommended for food, service and surroundings. The area also has some interesting shops, nice parks and a modern art gallery called White Cube. The shard is also situated here and dominates the area.

The restaurant is "ok", we ate there once. We didn't expect the food or service to be as good as the neighbouring restaurants and it was neither, but both were more than adequate. Prices were also reasonable, especially with their 15% discount card.

The only slight hitch with staying here is that it's a 10 minute walk to the nearest underground station (London Bridge), which is just long enough to get a thorough drenching if it rains. But that wouldn't stop us staying there again.

Room Tip: Views from higher floors facing the shard may be worth the extra. But if you don't want to shell...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MDFD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2014 via mobile

Stayed their for our wedding anniversary. On arrival we upgraded to the lily suite. Very spacious, clean and with good view of london.
Next day we had breakfast at the hotel, very nice

Location wise it's 6 stops from kings cross and in a very nice area of london with plenty of bars and restaurants

I'd recommend this place to anyone

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gmt1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Holland, General Manager at The Bermondsey Square Hotel, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Dear Gmt1971
Congratulations on your wedding anniversary, delighted that we could be a part of it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2014

Tripped over this property when visiting friends in London one year, stayed three times so far, all excellent, rooms are very slick and beds super comfortable, the bathrooms are very nice, the bar and restaurant is good for a quick drink or breakfast (although there are a few nice spots very close by.)

The location is great, only a 5 min walk to tower bridge.

Loads and loads of great restaurants like Zucca, Pizarro, Antico (particularly good) and a great pub with a outdoor garden all on Bermondsey Street which leads down towards london bridge station and the tower bridge.

You get to feel like a local, no tourist trap eateries in this area.

Room Tip: The higher the floor the better, over looking the square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nw00dy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Southwark
Premier Inn London Tower Bridge Hotel
Whitechapel
Arbor City Hotel
Arbor City Hotel
#118 of 1,086 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
London City Hotel
#212 of 1,086 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Clapham / Battersea 
Rafayel on the Left Bank - Hotel & Spa
Whitechapel
Qbic Hotel London City
Qbic Hotel London City
#105 of 1,086 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,756 reviews
The Westbridge Hotel
#101 of 1,086 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bermondsey Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bermondsey Square Hotel

Property: The Bermondsey Square Hotel
Address: Tower Bridge Rd, Bermondsey Square, London SE1 3UN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Southwark
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#202 Luxury Hotel in London
#243 Romantic Hotel in London
#274 Business Hotel in London
#287 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bermondsey Square Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bermondsey Square Hotel is located in the heart of ever evolving Bermondsey, with its thriving restaurant, bar and club scene, art galleries, design studios and boutique shops. A short distance from the City, the Design Museum, Borough Market, Tate Modern and Tower Bridge, it is ideally located to visit some of London’s finest sights whilst staying in an up and coming neighbourhood.Gregg Wallace's latest restaurant venture, Gregg's Bar & Grill, is open at the Bermondsey Square Hotel. The warm decor in the Restaurant is in line with the Hotels 70s style and the menu in Gregg's is focused on good key ingredients, unadulterated by complicated flavors and reliant on good provenance and sourcing ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, ACCOR, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Bermondsey Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bermondsey Square Hotel
Hotel Bermondsey Square
The Bermondsey Square Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing