We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super hotel, convenient to all central London attractions”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Bermondsey Square Hotel
Ranked #266 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Bude, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Super hotel, convenient to all central London attractions”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2014 via mobile

Situated in a suprisingly smart part of the rejuvenated London South Bank, this hotel is top of me recommended list. Having lived and worked in London most of my life, I was a little apprehensive in booking a hotel around here knowing the historic reputation of the area. I must say I am pleasantly surprised. Great location convenient for all London attractions and facilities and considering it's inside the congestion zone (JUST!) it is very quiet.
Rooms are spacious, clean and well equipped with all expected amenities either supplied or readily available on request.
Check in staff are smart, efficient, courteous and on hand yet non intrusive. (I like that in a hotel.)
Excellent breakfast served in on-site 'GB' restaurant.
Well worth shortlisting in your 'places to stay' list.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    571
    529
    124
    38
    29
See reviews for
134
642
80
251
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (262)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sutton Coldfield
Level Contributor
104 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2014

Back for my 5th time at this great boutique hotel. Unpretentious yet chic and smart, stylish and quirky with a great team of staff, and some super deals, including 15% off the restaurant/grill, where we ate a delicious smoked haddock concoction and a tasty half-a-roast-chicken with excellent chips, and some very good value wine to choose from.
The rooms seem to have been freshened up since my last visit, with better TVs and new toiletries. The only thing I would suggest to improve it even further is to provide pots of fresh tea for breakfast, rather than a pump flask + bag in the cup DIY arrangement! (Super breakfast too!)
Lovely view of the Shard from my room. A short walk up Bermondsey St to London Bridge, or excellent local buses direct to Victoria, the West End, Euston, Marylebone... a real gem!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dnhbham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Holland, General Manager at The Bermondsey Square Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear dnhbham
So pleased that you enjoyed our Great Birds Rotisserie Chicken that was launched last week. Please spread the word.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
155 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2014

This is our second stay at the Bermondsey Square Hotel.

Every thing was good, our room on the third floor overlooked the Square.

No problems with noise. It's a little odd that the lifts are located behind the hotel reception.

The hotel is very clean, breakfasts were good and cooked to order.

They could do with safes in the rooms in the room.

We enjoyed our stay and expect to return.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KWDEW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Holland, General Manager at The Bermondsey Square Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear KWDEW
Thank you for your kind review, I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2014

I won a complimentary two night stay at this hotel and had not stayed in this area before so I didn't really know what to expect. The location of the hotel is good and we liked exploring the area around it, which seems to have had a lot of regeneration in the past few years. We loved the unique style and decor of the hotel. We found the staff extremely friendly and welcoming. We had an excellent dinner in the restaurant and found the drink prices fairly reasonable compared to some central London prices. Overall we really enjoyed our stay here and would recommend it to anyone!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2014

Why on earth the Bermondsey Square Hotel should have such enthusiastic reviews (and why it should have received Tripadvisor's 'Certificate of Excellency') REALLY beats me. I have stayed at a lot of hotels in London, from 3½ to 5½ stars, but this has by far been my least pleasant experience. I won't allege that a professional PR agency must be behind the ranking, because I couldn't possibly prove it, but the sheer number of reviews of such a small and relatively new hotel is noticeable, and one wonders:

1. Location:
Yes, this hotel is 'in walking distance from London Bridge station', but what does it really imply? A brisk 20 minutes' walk from and to the nearest Tube station every time you wish to change your shirt or shoes! Definitely not an option for anyone not quite so agile, or who carries luggage – or heavy shopping bags for that matter! In those cases you will definitely need a cab.

Also: Bermondsey Square is right at the (southern) edge of a relatively safe and regenerated area. If you walk straight North (towards London or Tower Bridge), you should be all right. But don't get lost at night (the infamous Old Kent Rd. is very close), or you might end up in trouble (you are actively discouraged by staff from walking to Bermondsey Tube station; throughout the night, the sound of sirens never dies down).

2. (Reception) staff:
Staff was, with one or two exceptions, not consistently friendly, in one case even downright rude. When we complained to the management about several shortcomings in our room, it took almost two whole days (!) before we received any response at all; just before our last night, management offered us an upgrade to a 'suite' (which turned out to be just a room with a balcony).

3. Rooms:
Rooms are very small; you can walk around easily only because they are so sparsely furnished: They have no wardrobe and absolutely no storage space for clothes. Tough luck, if you don't enjoy living out of a suitcase! There is no safe deposit box in the rooms, a first for any London hotel (or any 4* hotel in the world for that matter). The rooms are stuffy, but windows cannot be opened! You definitely cannot switch off the A/C if you cherish breathing, but there is a very unpleasant draught in the beds when it is on. Mattresses are so extremely soft and deep (almost like a foam landing mat for high jump) that someone who suffers back trouble will develop serious problems.

BTW: The so-called suites are no such thing; they are just slightly larger rooms with a balcony door that can be opened.

4. Cleanliness:
None of the rooms (we saw three different ones) was really spotlessly clean. We found limestone, grime and even mould in the shower and all gaps and corners of the bathrooms. Showerheads were full of limestone and had obviously never been descaled (stories of Legionnaires’ disease cross one's mind). Tumblers in the rooms were unclean, had obviously only been rinsed, not dishwasher cleaned! In the so-called suite, all four pillows on the bed were heavily stained; the sheets were shabby and had holes.

5. Internet
Yes, there is free Wi-Fi in the hotel, but the Internet is heavily censored - like in very illiberal societies: if you google for a Helmut Newton exhibition, the site is blocked because it's supposedly 'Porn'; if you want to find a distillery, blocked again ('Alcohol related website'). This is by no means just child protection; the web content filter cannot be deactivated.

6. Damaged property
One of our suite cases, a well-travelled Rimowa aluminium case in perfect working-condition was damaged by hotel staff (the telescopic handle was broken off, due to pulling it out by force without pushing the release button). The general manager rejected any responsibility!

There are many good hotels in much better parts of London, which aren't even more expensive. So why stay here?

Room Tip: Insist on a so-called suite (top floor rooms with a balcony), as they are the only rooms where you c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank vaya_con_dios_007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Holland, General Manager at The Bermondsey Square Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Dear Vaja Con Dios
It is such a shame that despite all of our efforts we were unable to please you during your stay. We went to great lengths to please you, moving you to one of our loft suites when you complained about our windows not opening, offering a complimentary late check out when we tried unsuccessfully to fix your very old suitcase, which was not broken by any of our staff members. Our mattress' are supplied by ViSpring and are often complimented by our customers. Our rooms are very clean as is evidenced by other tripadvisor members. Your demand for us to repatriate your suitcase despite providing you with a replacement and your agreement that this gesture was fair was a step to far and I am only sorry that it has resulted in this unfavorable review. I trust that other readers will not be put off staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertford
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2014 via mobile

This hotel was in a really great location, for exploring London. The room was well planned and really comfortable, with staff on hang 24 hours.

Biggest let down was the breakfast - this is a Greg Wallace restaurant. He needs to get hi own home in order before judging anyone else! Never had such bland food and when there is so much good foo locally, I was more than disappointed to be served basic sliced bread, with absolutely no flavour.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Gilly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2014

We ve spent two nice nights at the Bermondsey Square Hotel. The hotel is near the Bermondsey Street, where the pub's and Restaurant's are located. We had a room on the top floor, where the rooms are differently (colors) furnished. They are quite stylish and have a little balcony (which is very uncommon in London!). Breakfast was small, but tasty. Staff very friendly.

Room Tip: If you can afford it, book the one s on the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sladjana R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Holland, General Manager at The Bermondsey Square Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Dear Sladjana
I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay in one of our Loft Suites. They are all themed with iconic 1970's pop memorabilia and offer small terraces to enjoy the views over the square below. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Southwark
Premier Inn London Tower Bridge Hotel
London City Hotel
#217 of 1,088 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 682 reviews
Whitechapel
Arbor City Hotel
Arbor City Hotel
#121 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Clapham / Battersea 
Rafayel on the Left Bank - Hotel & Spa
Southwark
Mercure London Bridge
Mercure London Bridge
#306 of 1,088 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,915 reviews
Southwark
Hilton London Tower Bridge
Hilton London Tower Bridge
#174 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,920 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bermondsey Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bermondsey Square Hotel

Property: The Bermondsey Square Hotel
Address: Tower Bridge Rd, Bermondsey Square, London SE1 3UN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Southwark
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#198 Luxury Hotel in London
#243 Romantic Hotel in London
#274 Business Hotel in London
#287 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bermondsey Square Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bermondsey Square Hotel is located in the heart of ever evolving Bermondsey, with its thriving restaurant, bar and club scene, art galleries, design studios and boutique shops. A short distance from the City, the Design Museum, Borough Market, Tate Modern and Tower Bridge, it is ideally located to visit some of London’s finest sights whilst staying in an up and coming neighbourhood.Gregg Wallace's latest restaurant venture, Gregg's Bar & Grill, is open at the Bermondsey Square Hotel. The warm decor in the Restaurant is in line with the Hotels 70s style and the menu in Gregg's is focused on good key ingredients, unadulterated by complicated flavors and reliant on good provenance and sourcing ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, HotelsClick, Jetsetter, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Bermondsey Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bermondsey Square Hotel
Hotel Bermondsey Square
The Bermondsey Square Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing