We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, friendly and a great nights sleep”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Bermondsey Square Hotel
Ranked #292 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Quiet, friendly and a great nights sleep”
Reviewed February 11, 2014 via mobile

Used this Hotel often because it's convenient to whereI need to be......but it is more than that. The staff are friendly, breakfast is good....but best of all. A great nights sleep.
Only fault - getting a taxi on some days is a nightmare - but then you cannot really blame the Hotel for that.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Mario a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Holland, General Manager at The Bermondsey Square Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Thank you Mario a. Our investment in great quality beds has really paid dividends. We use madison beds in our superior rooms and ViSpring beds in our clubs & suites. What a difference a good nights sleep makes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,308 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    577
    532
    128
    41
    30
See reviews for
134
649
80
258
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed February 10, 2014

I had my 30th for 50 people at Bermondsey street hotel, the event was seamless, the staff very organized and helpful and the food was really really great + the menu was very reasonably priced for such excellent food. It could not have been a better evening, i highly recommend the venue / restaurant for any special occasion.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kat M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2014

Had a super weekend away with my Mum. They also have small organic veg stalls outside independently run with super offers. Hotel staff was super as always. This trip was my 3rd visit & yes I would stay with them again. Had an evening meal there with a fab fish which reminded me of Doley's in Australia! All in all a really nice Hotel.

Room Tip: All the rooms are very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShazieJordie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Holland, General Manager at The Bermondsey Square Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear ShazieJordie
Thank you for your kind words. Please come back for a fourth and fifth stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2014

I recently stayed at this hotel on a weekend away with my partner. The room was comfortable, nicely appointed and very clean. I have to say that I felt the foyer and bar/restaurant area left a lot to be desired. It was cold and unwelcoming and had no appeal whatsoever. As we arrived late on Friday evening, we decided to eat in the restaurant. The food was average at best, but I did think the staff were friendly and efficient. The bar area would not inspire you to sit down and have a nightcap as there was no warmth or ambience. The nearest train station London Bridge was a good 10 mins walk and that was fast walking not a leisurely stroll. Overall, the hotel is a bit off the beaten track even though the locality does boast some excellent restaurants and bars. I would not choose to stay in this hotel on my next visit to London.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SusieFerg17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Holland, General Manager at The Bermondsey Square Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear SusieFerg17
I am pleased that you enjoyed your room but sorry that your impression of our bar and restaurant was univiting. I must apologise that dealing with a leak that we had before Christmas in the bar took a little longer than anticipated and meant that the area was less welcoming than usual. Please rest assured that the works are now complete and I hope that I can encourage you to return to see the difference.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
146 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2014 via mobile

Nice hotel in a highly gentrified area of Central London Beat the River Thames with lots of bars, pubs, cafes and restaurants. The hotel is crowded with hip (or At least meant to be hip) people and also a bit overpriced but definitely worth a stay!

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank van_brunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

Good hotel, clean and tidy...quite a walk from the nearest tube... Approx 15-20 mins. Nice area quiet with good amenities local.

Nice comfy bed with good facilities in the room. Nice big towels in the bathroom... The only slight downside is that there was quite a lot of noise when people walked past the rooms and the interconnecting doors between the rooms also let a lot of noise through...

Good value and would definitely use this hotel again.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Carly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 26, 2014

Booked in for 3 day Christmas break , Location is good and 10 minutes walk from tower bridge and the nearest tube station. There is a Sainsbury metro opposite the hotel and a whole host of restaurants with in a few minutes walk of the hotel.
The Hotel is very new and would describe it as upmarket "Premier Inn". The prices are very reasonable for London. The rooms were spotless and well presented the bed was extremely comfortable the only complaint was our room did not have an opening window and the room was too warm and very stuffy. As some one who normally sleeps with the window open this was not good!!
Regarding the food the breakfasts were as good as anything I have ever experienced 10/10 the evening meals were of a high quality and portions generous, With regards to the actual Christmas dinner there was little ambience and no little or no effort had been put in to giving it a christmassy feel this was very disappointing i would a liken it to having a delicious Sunday lunch in a Starbucks .
In all we found the hotel to well presented , great value for money , with friendly helpful staff and would recommend this hotel, the only two negative things were the stuffy rooms and the lack of atmosphere for the Christmas lunch.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gail R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Southwark
Premier Inn London Tower Bridge Hotel
London City Hotel
#224 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
Whitechapel
Arbor City Hotel
Arbor City Hotel
#123 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Clapham / Battersea 
Rafayel on the Left Bank - Hotel & Spa
Southwark
Mercure London Bridge
Mercure London Bridge
#302 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,939 reviews
Southwark
Hilton London Tower Bridge
Hilton London Tower Bridge
#173 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bermondsey Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bermondsey Square Hotel

Property: The Bermondsey Square Hotel
Address: Tower Bridge Rd, Bermondsey Square, London SE1 3UN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Southwark
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#215 Luxury Hotel in London
#243 Romantic Hotel in London
#274 Business Hotel in London
#287 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bermondsey Square Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bermondsey Square Hotel is located in the heart of ever evolving Bermondsey, with its thriving restaurant, bar and club scene, art galleries, design studios and boutique shops. A short distance from the City, the Design Museum, Borough Market, Tate Modern and Tower Bridge, it is ideally located to visit some of London’s finest sights whilst staying in an up and coming neighbourhood.Gregg Wallace's latest restaurant venture, Gregg's Bar & Grill, is open at the Bermondsey Square Hotel. The warm decor in the Restaurant is in line with the Hotels 70s style and the menu in Gregg's is focused on good key ingredients, unadulterated by complicated flavors and reliant on good provenance and sourcing ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, ACCOR, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Bermondsey Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bermondsey Square Hotel
Hotel Bermondsey Square
The Bermondsey Square Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing