We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in London.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Bermondsey Square Hotel
Ranked #303 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Room had a funky design. The bed was really comfortable and it was quiet, making for a great nights sleep. Bathroom was nice. We didn't eat at the hotel at all so can't comment on that. We had breakfast from the Saturday market in the square outside and the coffee shop down the road on Bermondsey St. The hotel is really well situated for all the sights of the Southbank and the Buses 1 and 188 are really handy for getting into the West End. All the great restaurants and bars on Bermondsey St are right on your doorstep.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JPVLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,355)
There are newer reviews for The Bermondsey Square Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

803 - 809 of 1,355 reviews

Reviewed March 3, 2013

Two minor blips - 1. We got sent to a room with a spare bed in which meant we couldn't get to one side of the double bed - rectified quickly by giving us another room. 2. The TV remote stopped working - we decided not to replace it as it was late at night. Now the good stuff (a) the room was great (b) cool art work all around the hotel (c) food was excellent - we had dinner on Saturday night and Greg Wallace was dining there himself - he came around to a few tables asking if everything was ok and nicked one of my triple cooked chips (ok he did ask me first ;0) - his relaxed manner sets the tone for the whole restaurant - the serving staff were like graceful swans,probably paddling furiously under water but it didn't show when they were serving us as they were very personable. It says something about the place when instead of asking "Are you enjoying your meal" they ask "Are you enjoying yourselves?"A great experience :0)

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobWoolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Nice hotel, clean and modern.
Nice walk to London Bridge Tube with the superb borough market.
A bit of a walk in the wet though.
small reception area but efficient.
well worth a visit.
Had a nice meal in greggs bar and grill and the breakfast was excellent

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ccmn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

This is the 3rd time Ive stayed here and i was nervous to how the hotel would be "post Hotel GB show" on TV. I was pleasantly relieved that everything was as expected - helpful staff, restaurant was quiet but food was good. There is a kids menu for those of you that have children which was less than£6 for 2 courses. We had a twin room with a view of The shard which was great and the room was clean, quiet and very comfortable. The location of this hotel is what makes it a great place to stay - Bermondsey has a great number of super cafes and restaurants and is 15 min walk to the Shard and London Bridge station. Its perfect if you plan a trip to the O2 arena as the jubilee line runs through London Bridge Station. All in all a great hotel in a great location.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CGHM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

The hotel is located in a great area, looks ok ( no different to a holiday inn or travel lodge etc) and the breakfast was good. However, within an hour of checking in a letter was pushed under all rooms on the same floor regarding apparent smoking on that floor. I understand the requirement for them to do this, but bearing in mind that we had just checked in and left immediately to go sightseeing, this was a v poor welcome to say the least!

Reception staff didn't know anything about the area, things that were open and generally very unhelpful.

Won't be staying again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Scott D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

again trip advisor website crashed during reviewing - very annoying

very nice property, centrally located (close to tower and tower bridge, borough market, shard, railways - waterloo/london bridge), on bermondsey square which is a traffic calmed central london place
Modern building and acceptable level of kit in a small package which would allow personalized service
The pros
room size and decor, good beds, enertainment system, free wifi, fridge to use with free water, grohe raindance shower, all rooms on 6th floor fit for disabled people
Cons
service (despite well motivated and trying to be helpful not orientated - was sent off in wrong direction to borough market which is a local sight and not told that most stands would be closed sundays), fire alarm notification in three languages states a different day for testing in every language - potential safet hazrd, was told on check in that breakfast was complimentary but was charged (poss my mistake as not specified on booking but if I am told it's free i assume so)....
So in summary - good value for the discount offered online 90 pounds in this location is a steal but with my arm twisted to breaking point I would not pay there normal asking price around 300 quid - there is better for less

Room Tip: higher up - better view
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cramorra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Got taken here on a surprise weekend by my wife, who booked a suite for 2 nights. The suite was located at the top of the building, with a large bathroom and comfortable bed. The only negative was the inability to book a specific suite when online booking, and the poor knowledge of the check-in staff to what suites were available and what facilities they had. The hotel is located in a very convenient part of London, with lots of good restaurants 2 minutes away on Bermondsey Street, nice walks down to the river, and good bus connections to many parts of London. We wold definitely visit again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank philymanjaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Southwark
Premier Inn London Tower Bridge Hotel
London City Hotel
#227 of 1,072 in London
723 reviews
Clapham / Battersea 
Rafayel on the Left Bank - Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southwark
citizenM London Bankside
citizenM London Bankside
#84 of 1,072 in London
3,367 reviews
Southwark
London Bridge Hotel
London Bridge Hotel
#88 of 1,072 in London
2,729 reviews
Southwark
Novotel London City South
Novotel London City South
#263 of 1,072 in London
2,158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bermondsey Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bermondsey Square Hotel

Address: Tower Bridge Rd, Bermondsey Square, London SE1 3UN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Southwark
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#220 Luxury Hotel in London
#243 Romantic Hotel in London
#274 Business Hotel in London
#287 Family Hotel in London
Price Range: $153 - $297 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bermondsey Square Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bermondsey Square Hotel is located in the heart of ever evolving Bermondsey, with its thriving restaurant, bar and club scene, art galleries, design studios and boutique shops. A short distance from the City, the Design Museum, Borough Market, Tate Modern and Tower Bridge, it is ideally located to visit some of London’s finest sights whilst staying in an up and coming neighbourhood. The hotel's in-house restaurant and lounge serves breakfast, lunch and dinner daily and is open to both in-house Guests and walk ins. From May, throughout the summer, diners can enjoy food and beverage from the comfort of the hotel's terrace soaking up the atmosphere of the vibrant square. Complimentary tea and filter coffee is served daily from 11am - 5pm. Complimentary WiFi available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Bermondsey Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bermondsey Square Hotel
Hotel Bermondsey Square
The Bermondsey Square Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing