We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tip Top Sky High Hot Tub!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Bermondsey Square Hotel
Ranked #292 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
48 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Tip Top Sky High Hot Tub!”
Reviewed May 16, 2011

We stayed here as a belated gift for 2 nights in Lucy Suite and it was absolute bliss! The roof top hot tub and terrace is just fabulous, immense and we found it very difficult to our ourselves out of the tub, day and night - but we managed! The room was a really good size, immpecably clean with very good facilities and pimped up curtains!! Bathroom wonderful with his n her sink and a super size shower. A marshmallow like bed and cloud like pillows made for 2 great nights sleep too! We live in London so we became tourists for the weekend and it's great location to do so either a lazy stroll along the Southbank and wharfs or hiring bikes to go that little bit further. Very impressed with Bermondesy Street and possibly the best coffee we've had for a long time in one of the best cafes too called Coffee@Bermondsey, first class! The hotel staff were all quietly efficient, helpful, friendly and welcoming. Breakfast very good but the air con is a little powerful Brrrrr and the coffee could do with some work but they're 2 tiny elements that do not matter a jot and we would happily return to the hotel and tub again soon!

Room Tip: If you want to splash out book Lucy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissR74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,307 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    576
    532
    128
    41
    30
See reviews for
134
648
80
258
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bethesda, Maryland
1 review
Reviewed May 16, 2011

The hotel is situated in a great neighborhood, walking distance to the tube. Along Bermondsey Street are many good pubs and restaurants, and the hotel restaurant (Alfies) and two others on the square are also commendable. The room was lovely and the staff was very attentive. The pleasant surprise I had during my stay was to find that on Friday mornings the Bermondsey Antiques market set up outside the hotel on the square, and on Saturday morning a farmers market.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JCoop054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol,UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2011

brilliant hotel, with fab quirky features. great space in the room and awesome shower! great idea for the mac tv as gives a very on trend idea of the modern hotel.
highly recommend the area aswell small unique cafe across from the hotel for a wonderful breakfast or treat with great pastries

staff really helpful car park is ten mins away but can find space on the street over weekend or evenings.

Room Tip: phon up on the day for an upgrade, not always fuld
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SharkfanBristol_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2011

The Bermondsey square Hotel is located in a lovely peaceful part of london - we couldnt believe how quiet it was despite being 10 min walk from London Bridge Station. We regularly visit London and we had never ventured to this part of town. Bermondsey street has lovely restaurants, is clean and had a great "village feel" about it. The hotel itself is modern, clean and everything i would expect of a hotel. Our only complaint was that you couldnt open the windows to let a bit of fresh air circulate! We stayed in a superior double room which met all our expectations. The breakfast was excellent with a huge portion, staff were all very helpful. We booked this hotel to go to a concert at the o2 arena which worked well as the jubilee line is at london bridge.

Room Tip: contact the hotel directly to get the best price!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CGHM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2011

We stayed here for two nights on a Superbreak rail/hotel package. We felt that everything was small with this Hotel (and we are not big people!). The reception desk and lobby area is small. We stayed in room 405 which was dominated by the bed as the room was small. When the door to the (small) en-suite was open it banged against the bed!
I agree with other comments, the room was hot and the air-con didn't work. The en-suite does not have any extractor fan or form of ventilation so ANY air in this room has only one place to go - into the bedroom. As the en-suite has a shower room the drainage grill produced it's own bad smells which also come into the bedroom.
There is nowhere to store any luggage so a one night stop max really. The room did have an ironing board & iron hung up but little room to put it up.
Our breakfast on the first morning was disastrous. Another version of small here i.e. too little staff and they were overrun. Communication between the waiting staff and the kitchen staff was hap-hazard so the whole thing descended into chaos. No-one 'greeted' residents (although they would have liked to) so people wandered in and sat anywhere so the wating staff had no idea who to serve next etc. We spent an hour and a half there without getting our english b/fast.
I did complain and the response was genuinely apologetic and we did get a complimentary evening meal which was very nice as were all the staff.
But the room we had wasn't really fit for purpose.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kern0wlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed May 8, 2011

Stayed over the Easter weekend after booking through superbreaks.
Very warm welcome on arrival and lovely room, which was ready well before check-in time. Good air conditioning in the room and a mini fridge with complimentary water and chilled wine glasses was a lovely surprise and very handy for your own food and drinks, especially on a longer stay.

Slight walk to London bridge tube station (10-15mins), but never seemed like a slog and actually puts the hotel in a quiet area, which is great for a good night's sleep!

Only slight problem was the apparent lack of harmony between the kitchen and front of house staff, made obvious by the kitchen open to the restaurant. Continental and cooked breakfasts were good however, although did feel slightly uncomfortable listening to arguments!

Overall I can't recommend this hotel enoughand will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fastal_400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2011

this hotel is pretty good value for money the rooms are good.. if a little warm.. i dont like to use air con and it was too hot without..

the reception staff are great,, but one thing bugs me.. the dining room/ bar is clean and tidy but the decor is god awful.. its not shabby but it just does not work.. it functions well as a breakfast room,, but its not an evening place..

every surface has clashing fabrics. lights of different styles and shapes are hung everywher chaneliers too..the bar part has mismatched furniture in 80s styl;e leather and there is a tv atop some kind of black box with cables hanging down..

this place could clean up in this area throughout the day,, if they had a modern stylish pared down look.. rather than a bad taste party..its a shame because the design of this common room is not reflected in the rooms.. which are pretty tastefull..

i dont know who was responable for the dinner area but i would like to fine out

rooms staff 9/10
dining area stlyling 0/10

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank boomshake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Southwark
Premier Inn London Tower Bridge Hotel
London City Hotel
#224 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
Whitechapel
Arbor City Hotel
Arbor City Hotel
#124 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Clapham / Battersea 
Rafayel on the Left Bank - Hotel & Spa
Southwark
Mercure London Bridge
Mercure London Bridge
#309 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,939 reviews
Southwark
Hilton London Tower Bridge
Hilton London Tower Bridge
#174 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bermondsey Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bermondsey Square Hotel

Property: The Bermondsey Square Hotel
Address: Tower Bridge Rd, Bermondsey Square, London SE1 3UN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Southwark
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#215 Luxury Hotel in London
#243 Romantic Hotel in London
#274 Business Hotel in London
#287 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bermondsey Square Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bermondsey Square Hotel is located in the heart of ever evolving Bermondsey, with its thriving restaurant, bar and club scene, art galleries, design studios and boutique shops. A short distance from the City, the Design Museum, Borough Market, Tate Modern and Tower Bridge, it is ideally located to visit some of London’s finest sights whilst staying in an up and coming neighbourhood.Gregg Wallace's latest restaurant venture, Gregg's Bar & Grill, is open at the Bermondsey Square Hotel. The warm decor in the Restaurant is in line with the Hotels 70s style and the menu in Gregg's is focused on good key ingredients, unadulterated by complicated flavors and reliant on good provenance and sourcing ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Bermondsey Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bermondsey Square Hotel
Hotel Bermondsey Square
The Bermondsey Square Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing