We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location to sleep and have fun”
Review of Sanctum Soho Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sanctum Soho Hotel
Ranked #534 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great location to sleep and have fun”
Reviewed February 26, 2014

Sanctum Soho is a great little hotel right off Regent street and on the edge of Soho. The entrance and lobby is simple and the staff friendly and kind but check in seems to take ages and the phone kept ringing interrupting the process to the point that this became annoying. I enjoyed the look and feel of the hotel and was happy to learn that I had been upgraded.

Nice soaps and lotions etc and soft great large towels and the shower with great water pressure. Also enjoyed the mini bar items here albeit a little expensive but I couldn't resist.

I would not recommend to have dinner here. It seems a total different experience and not sure if this is a restaurant managed by another company. Not friendly, had to ask everything five time it felt. I was going to go for dinner on my first night as traveling from the east but restaurant was very quiet so went to a local pub nearby which was fun. I went back for a drink upstairs in the bar area which looks great but again the service pretty poor and drinks expensive and the area was very quiet . The bar person was very inexperienced so I took my drink down to my room

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank willem333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

550 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    147
    69
    52
    67
See reviews for
40
281
24
95
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2014

The sanctum is a lovely boutique hotel in the middle of it all and slightly off the path.What do I mean? It's location on Warwick St. is kind of quiet however, the Sanctum is one block over from Regent St. (fantastic for shopping) and about 5 blocks from Old Bond St. (fantastic for lux designer shopping). I should also mention it is literally just a few blocks from Piccadilly, some of the West End theaters and last but not least Canaby St.
My experience in the hotel was quite pleasurable. We stayed in a junior suite, the room clean and looked lust like the photo on their web site. The hotel is decked out in full rock regalia, right down to the Swarovski studded door knobs. The staff was warm friendly and quite helpful, the bar was very good, the bartenders knew their stuff (not many people order an "old Fashioned"). The beds were pretty comfortable. My only suggestion to them would be to work a bit more on their room service. It is good, but they could bring it up to at least very good or excellent.
If you are looking for a fun, friendly, comfortable and just a pinch sexy, boutique hotel that is centrally located for shopping, theater and not far from some great sites and every form of transport, this is your spot. Did I mention they have a "cheeky" hot tub and lounge on the roof?

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Meliyu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterlooville, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2013

The staff were good and did deliver on service. The place needs a re-furb it looks very shabby, the seating in the bar area is appalling and desperately needs to be re- sprung, the carpet is badly worn and many of the walls require a lick of paint. There are many pictures on display in the restaurant/ bar area with big labels on displaying the price, this doesn't do anything to accentuate the place! Several beers advertised on the menu were out if stock/ not available? Rooms are OK, the bathroom was clean and the towels were gorgeous! This hotel is not worth the money, will probably not return.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank donmat1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2013

Moody, inexperienced staff, more concerned with Mark Fuller getting good service than paying guests.

Asked 3 times for a menu. Drink arrived 40 mins after we arrived and our food.

Cocktail arrived with the Bellini dripping down the side of the glass..tasted ok.

The rest of the Hotel is tired and dirty. Carpet down to toilets is thread bare in places, and the toilet - disgusting. A children's party was begin hosted..toothbrushes, toothpaste and abandoned flip flops were scattered over the room. Hair in the sinks..and as for the chairs in the wash area - I don't think it's been dry cleaned since the hideous accident that took place on it happened..!

We gave feedback - which was met with indifference and excuses and the fact the waitress was a trainee and had been spoken too?!! All-in-all a poor hotel that pretends to be something it isn't and won't ever be because they can't even get the basics right. Give it a good clean, makeover and staff who know what they're doing, or better still go and check out a Hotel Group such as Firmdale - and see how Hotels should be run!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vanessa00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2013

lovley hotel , glamorous and eclectic , room was quite small and only lit by lamps making it difficult if you needed to read anything , 4 poster bed was lovely and comfortable and very stylish large black mirror which unfortuneately had a large chunk missing out of it , also the curtains were ripped and hanging down from the centre . the downside was no tea/coffe making facilities , the bar is very expensive and breakfast also a little pricey, great location , ideal for shopping and west end , staff could have been a little friendlier there was no interaction apart form asking questions about checking in , would have been nice to have had some chat after a long journey includin g horrendous traffic jams but werenot given any advice on any of the facilities available ,a great hotel let down by lack of welcome or advice

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank misspog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanctum2011, Manager at Sanctum Soho Hotel, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
Dear Misspog,

Thank you very much for giving us your feedback about your recent experience.

We have checked all of our Superior rooms and fixed the curtains as well as the mirror. As for the tea and coffee facilities; unfortunately there is no space in those rooms, but we are thinking about it due to the customer feedback.

Feel free to contact me directly in order for me to know which staff member you dealt with.

Paul-Eric Licari
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2013

The hotel is in a perfect position: walking distance to my favorite shopping places and to the theaters.
The concierge service is a little amazing. A very gentle man will welcome you and provide you with all the information you ask for. And if he doesn't know, he will find out!
The rooms are a little small, still very stylish.
The only remark regards the breakfast: the restaurant waitress are either very slow or annoyed about serving.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LadySimonaUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanctum2011, Manager at Sanctum Soho Hotel, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
Dear Lady Simona,

Thank you very much for your review. We are delighted to know that you had a great experience in our Hotel. We have made sure that the food and beverage manager is aware about your feedback concerning the restaurant as well.

Paul-Eric Licari
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2013

I only visited the bar. Judging by this I could not recommend the hotel, but who knows. The décor is fun with a mix of rock glam and louche charm. The good bit ends there. The bar service was perfunctory. My Gimlet consisted of a small gin on the rocks with a splash of lime juice. I didn't bother to complain as I could see they could not deal with this. 13-95 for a so called cocktail - forget it. Go to any one of 20 excellent West End hotels or bars instead.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reiver59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanctum2011, Manager at Sanctum Soho Hotel, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear Reiver59,

I am sorry to hear about your poor customer experience on the roof top bar at Sanctum. Unfortunately the Gimlet is not on our cocktail menu and this should have been explained to you as we do not stock the appropriate ingredients to make the drink. We are currently working towards training our staff in an array of classic cocktails that aren't on our menu to ensure our customers feel more than satisfied in the quality of our cocktails as well as the standard of service.
You are more than welcome to return for a complimentary cocktail on our roof terrace and I am positive you will receive friendly, professional service along with a well crafted cocktail from our passionate staff.
Kind regards,
Nicky Elson
Bar Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Soho
Courthouse Hotel
Courthouse Hotel
#584 of 1,067 in London
1,456 reviews
Soho
The Z Hotel Soho
The Z Hotel Soho
#347 of 1,067 in London
1,626 reviews
Soho
The Nadler Soho
The Nadler Soho
#33 of 1,067 in London
2,165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Soho
Hazlitt's
Hazlitt's
#147 of 1,067 in London
616 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
The Z Hotel Piccadilly
The Z Hotel Piccadilly
#192 of 1,067 in London
1,127 reviews
Soho
Mimis Hotel Soho
Mimis Hotel Soho
#641 of 1,067 in London
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanctum Soho Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanctum Soho Hotel

Property: Sanctum Soho Hotel
Address: 20 Warwick Street, London W1B 5NF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Soho
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#332 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sanctum Soho Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Today’s rock’n’roll hotel is less about threats of incidental bodily harm and more about a glamorously decadent atmosphere, and the new model is a place like the Sanctum Soho.Here it means a dash of modern minimalism, a sprinkling of baroque opulence, and an emphasis on the darker end of the color palette. The in-room electronics are totally up to date, while some throwback touches are retained for atmosphere’s sake. It’s a twenty-four-hour hotel with a liberal, tolerant service concept; what you want, you’ll get, without so much as a raised eyebrow. In that, it’s not so fundamentally different from some of London’s more conservative luxury hotels — it just feels naughtier. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sanctum Soho Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sanctum Soho Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing