We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Polish food in London (tasted by a Pole)”
Review of Tatra

Tatra
Reserve with OpenTable
Tatra is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #8,425 of 22,552 Restaurants in London
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Hammersmith / Fulham
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great Polish food in London (tasted by a Pole)”
Reviewed December 18, 2012

Just wanted to share my experience of food and ambience at the Polish restaurant Tatra near Shephards Bush and Westfields.
Quite difficult to park in that area, but apart from that food was excellent (just like back at home). We had barszcz with a sauerkraut and mushroom croquette, a schabowy with mash and a cucumber salad (mizeria) and bigos. Everything was very hot and very tasty.
Highly recommended. Price for 2 starters, 2 mains, 1 dessert, 2 hot mulled wines: £64.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank agmagrybdut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    44
    17
    17
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“A gem in Shepherd's Bush!”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

I've never been to a "foreign" restaurant in England that was FULL of the "foreigners" but Tatra was full at 6.30 on a Saturday evening and we were lucky to get a table for 2! I think I was the only guest who was speaking English! I thought "That's got to be a good sign" and boy was I right!
The food was sensational, the service impeccable, and you have to try the home made vodka!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank gardencity285
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Something different”
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Went to meet friends for late afternoon Sunday lunch.
It was 17.00Hrs and the host was very friendly and welcoming.
The food is different from what you will find in a normal English contemporary restaurant. Polish speciality is more what you will get, and something worth trying. The food is fresh and price is very good.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loughton
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“the taste of home looks great!”
Reviewed April 12, 2012

I loved the food here - proves that the taste of home can also look amazing! I had the pierogi, which were great, and my wife had the potato pancakes. She has really high standards, and thought they were fantastic.

Do try the vodkas, too, even if you think you don't like vodka! The great thing about flavoured vodkas is that you can't taste the strength! I recommend the cherry, a real classic.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank jiggybelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Delicious dumplings!”
Reviewed March 1, 2012

Ignoring the single bad review out of all the good ones by someone who sounds a little unreasonable, we made the right choice choosing this fantastic restaurant. The food was outstanding. Started with a couple of infused vodkas, 2 types of dumplings and a goats cheese, then a goulash and a kiev for our main. No time for dessert, but will definitely return without a doubt. Even worth travelling across London for. With wine 70 quid for 2 which was good value for money.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank BluestarAndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tatra also viewed

London, England
London, England
 
London, England
London, England
 

Been to Tatra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing