We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dinner”
Review of Goodman

Goodman
Reserve with OpenTable
Goodman is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #101 of 22,557 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $34 - $52
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Mayfair
Transit: Oxford circus tube station is within 1 minute walk
Description: Goodman is a uniquely British interpretation of a New York grill, offering the best beef from both sides of the Atlantic. Among the huge selection of meat we serve in our Mayfair restaurant is American USDA 'Prime' corn-fed beef, grain-fed Irish Angus, and various rare breeds from the Lake District. Every steak we serve from our extensive 'cut' list has been dry-aged on site - it's the best way to concentrate flavour - then we cook it over charcoal. To accompany your steak, we're proud of the American red wine collection we have amassed - we know it's the best way to complement red meat. Our Mayfair restaurant is located just off Regent Street.
Lansdale, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
“Dinner”
Reviewed August 13, 2014

Very nice place with good atmosphere. Steak and service was excellent. Pricey but also came highly recommended by the locals

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Thumperk9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,847 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,248
    459
    103
    27
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
York
1 review
“Very good meal - great steaks”
Reviewed August 12, 2014

Starter of king prawn tempura was excellent followed by a beautifully cooked steak. Nice glass of Cotes de Rhone as well. The staff were friendly and helpful ensuring we had British meat. I will be back !!!!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Homeserve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very good steaks”
Reviewed August 10, 2014

Great steaks, great chips....great value.
wine list large and offers fairly good value for money
Downside...staff could be a little more attentive

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank harvardtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baku, Azerbaijan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Hype but no substance”
Reviewed August 10, 2014

Very disappointed to say the least. I was on a fact finding mission by a leading brand of luxurious hotels and decided to see what all the hype was about and people commenting how good this place was.
The service was poor from the greeting till we left. The description of the steaks was incorrect. I was even given the wrong wine by the glass and when questioning the waiter if he was sure that this was the correct wine, he just said of course it is. If somebody had said this to me, I would have changed it because if somebody questions the wine by taste without seeing the bottle, it means they know a little about wine.
The starters were plain and uninteresting and they sort of presentation you would expect to see in Franky and Benny's. The steaks were cooked well and tasted good but the sauces and sides again, fell well short of the mark. You can have the best food in the world but if you do not have the service to match (and this was not a week-end), you can forget about bragging about being the best.
I dined with a Head Chef from another hotel and you might say we are over picky. But if you can impress those people in your industry, you will for sure blow away your customers.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank WeAreLegion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Another great meal ... with something new!”
Reviewed August 8, 2014

They keep amazing me ... have now added Norwegian King Crab (might need to be ordered in advance!) which is SO sweet and tender ... and have also just been approved to serve real Kobe Wagyu beef, which they do as a (decadent!) starter ... brings a whole new meaning to surf'n'turf ... We were joined by friends from Denmark who thought Mash was the epitome of steakhouse experiences and now have seen/tasted that Goodman's is Premier League ... the others are just Championship!! Just ask Usain Bolt ... who showed up to have a late night meal!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DrDaveSmile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Goodman also viewed

 

Been to Goodman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing