We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Wow” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Goodman

Goodman
Reserve with OpenTable
Goodman is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #96 of 21,585 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $33 - $51
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Mayfair
Transit: Oxford circus tube station is within 1 minute walk
Description: Goodman is a uniquely British interpretation of a New York grill, offering the best beef from both sides of the Atlantic. Among the huge selection of meat we serve in our Mayfair restaurant is American USDA 'Prime' corn-fed beef, grain-fed Irish Angus, and various rare breeds from the Lake District. Every steak we serve from our extensive 'cut' list has been dry-aged on site - it's the best way to concentrate flavour - then we cook it over charcoal. To accompany your steak, we're proud of the American red wine collection we have amassed - we know it's the best way to complement red meat. Our Mayfair restaurant is located just off Regent Street.
Redbourn, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Wow”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

Great atmosphere, the steaks are amazing, every mouth full was awesome. The chips we the best I have ever tasted and our waiter was very attentive and helpful with suggestions on cut of beef.
Loved it, will definitely go back!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Justine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,724 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,166
    427
    97
    25
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
St. John's, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Night out”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Reservations a necessary as you would have a long wait ,food excellent friends had steak cooked the way they liked. I had the chicken it was delicious (a full one) .resturant had loud music that you found yourself shouting, but the staff were well informed and made sure your table was important to them And received in your orders in a timely manner. Sides were plenty for two reminded me of Ruth's Chris and steaks we're USA grade

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank eddy452
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great steak and a great wine list”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

We've been to goodmans a few times now and can never fault it, no matter which steak you go for its always cooked perfectly to your liking, the staff are always very attentive and the wine list is fantastic, can get a little pricey but worth paying a little extra for the quality

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Fieldsmonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey,uk
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great service and steak”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

Had reservations for early Saturday evening,glad we reserved as this place was already busy.We skipped the starters as my hubby decided he was going to tackle a 800g rib eye with sides!The waitress was very helpfully on advising us on cuts/size and flavours.When steak arrived,the tables next to us couldn't believe the size of my hubby and the size of the steak he was about to devour.I ordered USA fillet 250g cooked medium rare and it was perfect,for sides we had Truffle chips and Garlic mushrooms,both were delicious but defininately enough to share.Anyways,we both finished the meals completely satisfied and with the hubby deciding that he could easily polish off a 1kg cut next time around!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank louiSurrey_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Best Steak in Europe”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

Visited for brothers graduation after many good reviews and was not disappointed. This place is undoubtedly built for men - the menu is steak from all different cuts and sizes and it was a nice touch them bringing out the different cuts and explaining the tastes and cuts and what would suit everyone.

I had a Porthouse from the US and it was the second best steak I've ever had (it was pretty close to Peter Lugers in NYC). It was superbly well cooked, fantastic meat and severed perfectly. We had a few slides - the chips were excellent and everything in good portions.

The service was very friendly and unpretentious but still felt that you were in a top restaurant.

If you like steak - go here immediately, you will not be disappointed.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Seanmwalsh10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Goodman also viewed

 

Been to Goodman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing