We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Vibrant venue”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ziloufs - CLOSED

Ziloufs
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $22
Cuisines: Asian, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Drinks, Late Night, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Transit: Nearest tube: Highbury & Islington (Victoria line)
Description: Ziloufs restaurant is a unique combination of cocktail bar and gastro den in north London���s Islington. The chefs serve up a delightful mix of Asian-fusion and pan-Asian cuisine with menus that change regularly with the seasons; locals and visitors alike have ensured Ziloufs has acquired a cult following since its 2008 opening. Head bartender Benjamin Purslow, who trained under Nopi's Niall Downey, keeps the cocktail list fresh with an ever-changing list of homemade ingredients and exotic spirits. A vibrant crowd also come for the retro furnishings and homemade curios: check out the fish tank in a TV. Now open to the elements, the bar is a great place to chill in summer whilst working up an appetite for dinner. Super Sunday roasts and flat whites, along with a range of books and newspapers to browse through, make an excellent way to spend a lazy Sunday. We love the seared tuna with miso-marinated aubergine, black bean and pickled ginger.
Level Contributor
53 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Vibrant venue”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2013 via mobile

The venue was chockablock when we arrived. Looks to be a very popular spot. The atmosphere was just great for our office Christmas party. The staff were friendly and the service was good. I enjoyed the food. I had lamb ribs to start and steak for main. Both had a Thai slant to them. A thoroughly enjoyable evening all round.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Julian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

137 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    40
    10
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Super food!! Great brunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2013 via mobile

I've had breakfast here a few times- it's amazing! Highly recommended.

Great selection of food. Vege breakfast is great and my friends tell me the meat breakfast is good too.

They do amazing drinks, ice coffee, strawberry milk shakes, even the free water is amazing, fragranced with cucumber and mint.

Great place for breakfast.

Helpful?
Thank Shona J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harpenden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Awesome flavours”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2013 via mobile

What a real treat for the senses. This place was informal but the food spoke for itself. 2 for 1 cocktails set the scene for a great night. Perfectly cooked Scallops with two little saucesand coriander notes were excellent. Then the jungle curry was a Thai style delight. Loads of seafood and plenty of spice but not too hot so the food could be enjoyed. I'll be back very soon.

I only found ziloufs because it used to be Tiger Lill's many years ago and I wanted to pop back for some flaming wok food. Will, the restaurant manager, was so enthusiastic about the food and the great gold coast trained chef that we went anyway and I recommend you do the same.

Helpful?
1 Thank LanceTrendall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Sunday catch-up”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

My girlfriends mum was in town yesterday and They'd had a busy weekend. We needed somewhere to get a decent roast with a nice relaxed, un-rushed vibe.
Zilouf's was recommended to me by a friend as in their words 'one of the best roasts in London'.
It didnt disappoint. Not only was my plate of astronomic proportions, it was also perfectly cooked!
The bone-marrow and salt beef croquettes were probably the best 'trimming' on my plate with the excellent yorkies coming in a close second.
Quite proud of my choice in wine as well (with a little help from a very friendly waitress): A Chilean red.
The girlfriend and her mum were feeling a little worse for wear and were delighted to find out that if you order a Bloody Mary with your roast you get the lot for £17.50!!!
If you like a decent Sunday roast for a decent price, this is a MUST try.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ChrisPrice1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place to steak out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

Really well done steaks. Bit of a surprise as it doesnt scream out you that steaks are the way to go here. Even the tartare was outstanding. Nice bar setup. Overproof hurricane if you looking for party times.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank garth s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ziloufs also viewed

 
London, England
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing