We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“DISGUSTING FOOD WITH CLUELESS STAFFS”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Aqua River Brasserie - CLOSED

Aqua River Brasserie
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“DISGUSTING FOOD WITH CLUELESS STAFFS”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

I recently move in the surrounding and we went to a quick something to eat. Our first choice was to the Riverside which seems very busy, so we went to Aqua situated just opposite. Big mistake. The service was appalling, rude, clueless, slow. The food, oh my good, I have tasted better in a cafe. Food was tasteless and horrible to eat, to the point where we are for the bill and refuse to pay for the food and left. Terrible experience and will never go back. Funnily enough I walked by the other day and it had been shut for 2 weeks by Environmental Health Officer. Now for EHO to close a restaurant down, there must be something terribly wrong. GOOD LUCK TO YOU IF YOU DARE TRY TO EAT THERE!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bouba03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    6
    11
    15
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very disappointing visit”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

Nice location which attracted us but the service was very slow. We waited 20 minutes just for a drink and it wasn't busy. We ended up going in to bring out our own. Food very average once it finally arrived. Reasonably priced but that's about it. More attention to detail needed.
We won't be going back!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank janell70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherborne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Visiting Tate Britain? Cross the river for lunch!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

Visiting Tate Britain with 2.30 pm timed tickets for an exhibition, we decided to amble over the river to find some lunch. We were glad we did. Just across the Vauxhall Bridge we saw a restaurant set below towering pyramids of what are no doubt very expensive riverside apartments. But the restaurant had masses of outdoor seating, and it being a sunny day that drew us like a magnet.

I really don't understand some of the reviews below. The staff were charming and very helpful. The food was excellent and good value. The wine was reasonably priced and very good. We sat in the sun and had a super time. And it was quite quiet, because this isn't a touristy bit of the riverside.

I imagine the restaurant gets taken over in the evenings by the residents of the apartments back from work, and I'm not sure about the ambience of the restaurant indoors. But for a lunch before the Tate, we thoroughly recommend it.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CanonEW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverurie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Must have the Cajun Chicken Burger”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

We came across this restaurant while looking for another place to eat, instead we stopped off here and glad that we did! Food and drinks are reasonably priced, and the food is full of taste. Must try the Cajun chicken burger with the mango salsa!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bonnyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
62 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Shocking - no rating really”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

We visited Sunday for breakfast, nice sunny morning so we sat outside. That is the good part of the review. The breakfast was shockingly bad. We ordered the mushrooms and poached eggs - eggs were hard boiled, the bread for the toast was the cheapest, thinnest white bread, floppy with no taste and did not warrant the £7+ price tag. My friend ordered scrambled egg with smoked salmon, the first attempt arrived swimming in oil and was an omelette chopped up NOT scrambled egg at all. They took this away and the returned plate was slightly better but after waiting almost an hour for it because they were short staffed it was very disappointing. The only saving grace is that there is Pret close by. Thank goodness. Do not go here!!!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cherrybsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aqua River Brasserie also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing