We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hit and miss, but much-needed local”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Donde

Donde
Ranked #5,750 of 22,375 Restaurants in London
Price range: $6 - $64
Cuisines: Spanish, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Hit and miss, but much-needed local”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

Hit and miss is our experience of Donde in Honor Oak Park. We ordered as much as we could from the menu to see what it was like, as it was our first time there.

I must agree with previous reviewers - the chairs are very uncomfortable as they're metal, plain wooden benches or bar stools that dig into your back and thighs.

Hits included chorizo and butter bean stew, padron peppers and olives - they're the same olives as at Tapas Brindisa.

Misses were tortilla was so hot it seemed to have come straight form the microwave and a tasty beef stew which looked like catfood. Sardines were well-grilled, but the smellier side of fresh, while the chicken dish was pointless - five or so slices of meh chicken fillet not really worth having on the menu.

Others have said it's no Tapas Brindisa, which is not so bad if you consider you can get a seat here. But the Borough market branch of Brindisa is only a short train ride away, and since most Brits have now travelled to Spain to eat the real deal, Donde is not really up to scratch.

A few menu tweaks, a little more care with what's being served and we could one of London's best locals on our hands, which is what we all want, so please, some tweaks so we can write rave reviews.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cakeist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    34
    9
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
86 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“New name, updated decor, same great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

I like the changes that have been made to this tapas restaurant, it has more of a local spanish tapas feel to it now and I was impressed to see it so busy when we popped in on a Monday night. The food was as good as always and it was lovely to see a number of special dishes available including a special wine list.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TinyEm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Great Local Tapas Bar”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

Donde is a newly refurbished local gem in Honor Oak Park. Great tapas which is consistently good and great value for money, especially on a Tuesday when they special offers on meze plates and tapas dishes. Also has a friendly lively bar serving a variety of beers and cider on tap and a good selection of wine. Highly recommended.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tersie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Refurbished and still tasty”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

This is local to us and we were quite excited about visiting following the recent refurbishment and rename - the restaurant is now called Donde. I was hoping the menu might have had a little update along with the interior but the food offering is much the same. Firstly the refurb - whilst the restaurant certainly looks better it seems to have lost something of its cosyness. It was quite a chilly evening and this combined with the new metal chairs made things a little uncomfortable. The bar section of the restaurant has also been refitted with high tables and high chairs. It may be down to my diminuitive 5'2 height but I've never found high chairs particularly comfortable or enticing. The bar is somewhere we would like to linger over a nice bottle of Malbec on a chilly winter evening but its quite hard to get comfy and cosy on these sorts of seats.

Decor preferences aside, the reason we like this restaurant is the food. Whilst there may not be a huge range of dishes on offer there is enough of a selection to keep you satisfied. We love the achovies (heavy on the lemon and garlic) and the meatballs. The mezze platter is a good option and comes with a generous helping of sourdough - useful for mopping up!

This certainly isn't the best tapas I've ever had - portions could be a little more generous and the variety improved but as local who has visited a number of times I can say the food is consistently good. Service was very friendly (if a little inattentive) and the Tapas Tuesday deal (£2 off platters and £1 off tapas dishes) improves the value for money.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VivaVeevers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Lovely local bar and food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

Thank goodness there is good quality food, lovingly made, fresh presentation. I am so glad I don't have to visit swanky neighbourhood to get this quality food :-)

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HarissaIsHot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Donde also viewed

 
Croydon, Greater London
 

Been to Donde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing