We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Increasingly grubby and crowded”

IoD - Institute of Directors
Ranked #3,196 of 28,484 Restaurants in London
Price range: $19 - $50
Cuisines: European, French, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: St. James's
Description: The Restaurant on the ground floor of 116 Pall Mall is open for all-day dining. Serving British and European dishes, where possible every ingredient is locally sourced and chosen for its seasonality. Head Chef Roger Evans has over 40 years' experience working in Michelin star restaurants and also trained Gordan Ramsay. The Restaurant menus have been carefully crafted with a passion for showcasing high quality ingredients and classic flavour combinations. The space offers an elegant environment to meet friends, entertain clients or relax after a day of work.
Reviewed May 28, 2019 via mobile

Unfortunately, there is nothing grand about the IoD today. Perhaps there was once upon a time, but membership is too high and this has turned into a one or two person WeWork location. It’s almost always too noisy and crowded to work, even worse for meetings. The membership fee isn’t worth investing in any more.

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank LazyL_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (138)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 138 reviews

Reviewed May 21, 2019

Came here for lunch after a formal occasion. I knew it was a traditional setting and that was exactly what I wanted. Good choice es from a simple menu, Excellent service, top quality food and delicious, if a little expensive, wines.

Date of visit: May 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 774ralphl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2019

First off all, you will be greeted with the most impressive richness and grandeur this building. We were seated in The Wine Bar restaurant a cosy yet restaurant feel space. We ordered the Burger which I have to say one of the best I have had in a long time! We didn't have to wait too long for the service which was prompt and swift. The restaurant itself was lovely although my only slight disappointment was there didn't seem to that full for a Friday evening..... then of course I could imagine a fabulous atmosphere in here.

Date of visit: February 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank missjingles2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2018

I have eaten here a few times, and the food is generally very good and sensibly priced for London. Not a wide menu, however the benefit of this is that the flavours are great.

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank t1metraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2018 via mobile

Beautiful building. Efficient, friendly staff. Excellent meal, nicely served and presented. Would be happy to host a function at the IoD.

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank JJEnglandUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed IoD - Institute of Directors also viewed

 

Been to IoD - Institute of Directors? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing