We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Service”

One Twenty One Two Restaurant
Ranked #3,168 of 23,677 Restaurants in London
Price range: $27 - $80
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: Westminster
Description: In commemoration of the hotel's former neighbour, Scotland Yard, this restaurant is named after its universally-famous telephone number, Whitehall 1212. With fine wines and flawless service, One Twenty One Two at The Royal Horseguards is contemporary dining at its very best.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

My wife and I arrived on a freezing day in March. It was a lovely suggestion from the waitress that maybe we would like a cup tea/coffee before we started on our cold champagne. Very welcome. A pot of tea and a pot of coffee and we were settled.

We were on a package for lunch but could choose anything from the menu. The food was excellent. I did add a side dish of broccoli with almonds as this sounded interesting. It wasn’t really but that was the only dish that disappointed. We had 3 courses and were so full. If you are choosing the excellent ice-creams ask for them to be served in cones. They come up in nice little cones on a special stand. The service was efficient and friendly throughout.

I have read one reviewer who said he felt he was eating in a corridor. It is an unusual layout but if you ask to be seated further from the main door the next section is quite cosy. There are 3 sections and the one nearest the door has two marble walkways separating tables.

The wine list is good although maybe a bit on the high side, but hey this is central London.
The afternoon teas looked good to. So we are going back in May to try those.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SilverTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
C B, Food and Beverage Administrator at One Twenty One Two Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of One Twenty One Two following your visit in March - I'm so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your dining experience with us!

Your recommendations about the ice cream dish is very kind - it has been very popular!

If you do return in May for Afternoon Tea, it would be great to welcome you back to the Hotel - we hope to see you soon!

Best wishes,

the One Twenty One Two Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (663)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

483 - 487 of 664 reviews

Reviewed March 18, 2013

We booked a table for four for Saturday evening as part of a TravelZoo deal and found everything to be perfect in every way. Jordan the Sommelier was walking along beside us in Whitehall Place and realised we weren't quite sure where to go so he took the time and trouble to escort us to the door. We received a very warm welcome and were shown to a table. All the tables were a reasonable distance from each other which is always nice. The champagne aperitif (part of the deal) was Laurent Perrier so that was very good. We all ordered different dishes from the a la carte menu and every one was superb. Jordan gave some advice over our choosing of wines (the wine list is one of the biggest I've ever seen!) and we ordered a bottle each of red and white. Again, we were all very pleased with our choices. We probably ordered too many side dishes as we had quite a lot left over. The mash was wonderful! Since the meal was previously paid for, we only had the bill for the side dishes and wine which came to about £125. Service charge was also included.In hindsight, the TravelZoo offer wasn't as big a saving as we thought since three courses would cost £39. per head and we wouldn't have had the champagne. However. we had a wonderful time and will definitely return on our next visit to London.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank LostinDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
C B, Food and Beverage Administrator at One Twenty One Two Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2013

I'm so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your dining experience with us at One Twenty One Two so much! Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

I will make sure that your comments are passed on to Jordhan, who I am sure will be delighted to hear such positive feedback on his recommendations and his service. We will also look into the pricing of our offers for future.

We really hope to be able to welcome you back to the Restaurant at some point in future!

Best wishes,

The One Twenty One Two Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

It was my friends 50th Birthday anf three of us went for Afternoon Tea before the theatre. and WOW! The sandwiches were wonderful, Beef, Smoked Salmon, Cream cheese and Cucimber and Coronation Chicken, Choux pastry with egg mayo and cress and a brown bread with melted cheese. We were asked if we wanted more but we cose to go on with teh scones which were lovely and warm with homemade jam and clotted cream. We had seconds! This was followed by little cakes and fondants etc. All served with pots of freshly brewed Breakfast tea. We also tried the Strawberry and Cream tea blend which was rather nice. Could not fault the staff who were attentive without being over powering. The setting was brilliant and we felt very special. Thank you we will be back and will certainly recomend this to friends and family.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank stumps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clare B, Food and Beverage Administrator at One Twenty One Two Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Thank you ever so much for posting a review about our Afternoon Teas (we don't often receive feedback on the Teas via Trip Advisor, so it's great to see yours!)

I'm so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your Afternoon Tea experience for your friends 50th Birthday with us so much and that you appreciated the range of sandwiches on offer.

Your review has been shared with our Pastry and Lounge teams and all members are feeling very encouraged by your positive commments regarding the quality of the food and service you received.

Thank you once again for choosing the Royal Horseguards Hotel and we hope that you will be back to join us at some point in future!

Kind regards,

on behalf of the Royal Horseguards Lounge and Pastry teams.

Could not fault the staff who were attentive without being over powering. The setting was brilliant and we felt very special. Thank you we will be back and will certainly recomend this to friends and family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

we came here recently for dinner and although we had a prepaid voucher this made no difference to our super evening. This is a lovely restaurant inside the royal horseguards hotel and whilst the restaurant has no windows this does not distract from the room.we were asked if we would like our champagne in the bar, which we did and we did have nibbles with them. The restaurant is mainly a beautiful red colour. Tables are nicely separated so you can have a conversation without others listening. Service was attentive and friendly and not snooty like some can be. The food was excellent,well presented and had great taste.
although the meal is excellent value for money the bill does quickly mount up when you have a bottle of wine etc but, it is all worth it.A really enjoyable visitand we will be coming back when next in London

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank seesee06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clare B, Food and Beverage Administator at One Twenty One Two Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Thank you ever so much for your recent review of our One Twenty One Two Restaurant - it is so lovely to receive such positive feedback!

I'm so pleased to hear that you liked the layout and decor of the Restaurant and that your enjoyed the food and service you received during your evening with us. We would love to welcome you back to the Restaurant, so do please get in touch if you decide to join us in future!

Kind regards,

on behalf of the One Twenty One Two team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

I took my wife here for a 'date' lunch with our daughter. This is a restaurant inside a luxury hotel. We 'cheated' and went for their set menu (£15 for two courses and £19 for three per person) rather than their normal menu (£33 upwards I think). The set menu give you three choices for each course. The choices give enough variety (and include one vegetarian option in each). The restaurant was clean. Tables are sufficiently separated so you are not on top of each other. The decor tasteful. Service was attentive as you would expect in an establishment of this nature. The food was excellent: well presented and -most importantly - great taste; the quantity was about right too.

The only thing we could fault was that I had asked for the spinach to be removed from my meal; on delivering it to the table the waiter realised the mistake and it was quickly and efficiently rectified. We have used the restaurant before and were disappointed to learn they have stopped serving chocolates with coffee; we also noticed that there were no nibbles when we had our pre-dinner drink.

A quick word of warning; although the meal is excellent value for money the bill can quickly mount up if you have a bottle of wine or other drinks; not a problem if you are expecting this.

A really enjoyable visit; we will be coming back at some stage when we are next in London.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Rich09Kent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clare B, Food and Beverage Administrator at One Twenty One Two Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

Thank you ever so much for your recent review of our One Twenty One Two Restaurant following your lunch with us.

I'm so pleased to hear that you found the layout of the Restaurant comfortable and that there was enough variety on the menu. Our Chef is particularly pleased that you found the dishes to be delicious and well presented!

I will also be passing your comments regarding the service over to our Restaurant Manager and am glad that you received the high standards of service fitting to a Restaurant based in a 5* Hotel.

Regarding your feedback on the chocolates served with coffee, I will certainly pass this onto our Restaurant team, who will be able to consider reinstating this aspect of our dining experience.

Thank you once again for taking the time to give us your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Restaurant in future!

Kind regards,

the One Twenty One Two team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed One Twenty One Two Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to One Twenty One Two Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing