We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Meal and brilliant service - highly recommend”

Court Restaurant at The British Museum
Reserve with OpenTable
Court Restaurant at The British Museum is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3,575 of 22,557 Restaurants in London
Price range: $26 - $52
Cuisines: European, British, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Bloomsbury
MOUNT LAUREL
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent Meal and brilliant service - highly recommend”
Reviewed February 2, 2014

Went for lunch today at the restaurant, as we were in the area. Just saw the reviews this evening, and have to say they bear no resemblance to our meal today. Very courteous and helpful staff, and good choice of food. My veggie daughter had the trofie pasta with chestnuts, stilton and tenderstem brocolli, - it was fantastic. I had fish, again with the brocolli which was perfectly cooked, and some excellent double cooked chips and creamy garlic mayo. Pudding was the fruit crumble for both of us - a triumph! Plus creamy custard - and a good coffee afterwards as well. Not a bad price at all, lovely surroundings, and the sun even managed to make an appearance through the Court resto roof. Will be back there next time I'm in London, thanks for a great lunch guys.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JoF_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

546 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    201
    118
    63
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“So disappointing”
Reviewed January 21, 2014

Oh dear British Museum! This was such a let down. Visited with a friend on Saturday 21st January for lunch. Service was slow and staff appeared not to be interested. But the prices for absolutely average food was shocking. How can you justify charging £4.50 for three slices of bread and butter?! And £4.50 for a bowl of about 10 largish olives?! My main course salad was £15 and consisted mainly of tomatoes. My friend had lamb which she said was okay. Bill for 2 small bottles of water, bread, olives, 2 main courses and 2 sides was £63. Outrageous. Fabulous setting but such a let down. It really needs to get its act together.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, Yorkshire
Level Contributor
150 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Very disappointing”
Reviewed January 6, 2014

We were looking forward to our first visit since the re-vamp. First impressions - not good. Cramped tables and looking more like a cafe than a restaurant. Squeezing into our seats nearly demolished the next door table, (we are not super-sized people either!). The lack of a tablecloth further re-inforced the cafe feel. Was surprised to be given a menu with just 3 options each of starter, main course and pudding. As a veggie I had to have the boring old Puy lentils ... AGAIN! Please could you change the veggie option? (Found it strange having to choose the pudding course along with the main??) This was followed by the pineapple carpaggio. OK but not very inspiring. My companion opted for the shrimp dish which was just that.... a plate of shrimps. No salad garnish or bread was served with it. Then the hake which was said to be just OK-ish. A bottle of Pinot Grigio was lacklustre. Throughout we were rushed. At one stage I had hardly put down my fork when my plate was rushed away. A bill for £91 for two courses for two with wine, served and consumed in less than an hour and we left feeling hungry. I guess we will not be returning but will keep our fond memories of previous relaxed Sunday afternoons with starched white linen, good service, more choices and feeling replete rather than ripped off!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Allexie08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petah Tiqwa, Israel
Level Contributor
63 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Average”
Reviewed December 29, 2013

The food and service in this restaurant are completely average, we waited around 35 minutes for a soup that was no way worth the price asking, in fact it was one of the worst onion soups I have ever had, with a tiny floating piece of bread with cheese on it floating inside.
We also ordered a salad and duck rillette's which where again average, if and when I go to the museum again I will eat outside and come back to the museum after lunch.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LiatLS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Lovely menu and surroundings”
Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

As a party of seven adults, one child and two babies, finding somewhere to eat that could accommodate us and also tickle the taste buds could have been tricky. We chose here and it was a great choice. The food was excellent and our party was seated at a huge table behind the main seating where a bit of any related chaos caused no offence. Really a lovely meal.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ESilvester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Court Restaurant at The British Museum also viewed

 

Been to Court Restaurant at The British Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing