We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Small portions”

Court Restaurant at The British Museum
Reserve with OpenTable
Court Restaurant at The British Museum is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3,374 of 22,374 Restaurants in London
Price range: $26 - $51
Cuisines: European, British, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Bloomsbury
london
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Small portions”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

Had lunch today. The food was well presented and tasted fine. However was expensive for the size of the portions. Still felt hungry afterwards.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank aligre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

534 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    126
    201
    115
    58
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
201 reviews
153 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Poor food + poor service + Expensive = Avoid”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

The British Museum has a great opportunity to make the Court Restaurant a destination dining spot like some of the other large museums around the world. Unfortunately, that is not the case presently.

The menu is unimaginative and very expensive for what you get....even for a restaurant located in a museum. We ordered the Board with cold cuts (meats) for 16 pounds and the portions were very small. This was meant to be shared by 2 persons and it was barely enough for one. We asked the server who brought our meal if bread was included (it was missing) and she said yes but then failed to return with the bread. We waited a few minutes and had to get another waiter to bring us a few slices of bread. Terrible service.

I would not recommend this restaurant; you would be better off going off-site or perhaps trying the Cafe on the first floor. Avoid this restaurant at all cost.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank A_OKD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
153 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“A lovely place for a quite drink, before heading back into the crowds”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

We spent most of a day at the British Museum, which was an excellent place to visit.

We stopped for lunch in the family-friendly cafe, near the bookshop, and stopped for breaks at the cafes on the ground floor in the main hall. It was only towards the end of the day that we found the Court Restaurant.

Although we only went there for a few glasses of wine, the service was excellent and price reasonable. Plus it had an excellent ambiance - feeling still part of the museum, but quiet and relaxing, unlike the other food and drink places in the museum.

Well worth a stop, even for just a quiet drink, before diving back into the crowds.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Drewll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantaFe
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“totally disappointing”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

Terrible food, overpriced for what you get and terrible service- I had been excited to have lunch at the Court Restaurant and I went with my family in a party of 4. We waited a long time for our order to be taken- and even longer for our food to arrive and we were not successful in getting any attention from the wait staff when we needed anything. We ordered a salad nicoise which came in a bowl - not a plate. There were way too many onions and no place to get rid of all of the onions which were mixed with everything else- the base of the salad was virtually raw green beans- which all tasted like raw onions- It was the worst salad nicoise I have ever had- something I thought would be hard to ruin- When I did complain- the manager said he was from Nice and he knew what a salad nicoise was and I did not-- I have eaten in Nice and all over the South of France and none of the salads I had were terrible like this-- The other salads we ordered were also terrible- big hunks of squash in the salad which was cooked rather unevenly and no place to cut up squash in the bowl they serve the salad in- We ordered a large cheese platter for 16.50 pounds which came with 3 small oat crackers which was not enough for 4 people and not enough for all the cheese- when I asked for bread - it took another 30 minutes and they charged me 4.50 pounds for 3 pieces of bread- I have eaten at many of the cafes and restaurants in museums around London and I have enjoyed everyone except the Court.
There was some sort of shade cloth below the gazed dome area and over the restaurant area but it was full of dirt and debris and was very unappealing in a food setting.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SantafeTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harlow, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Pragmatic choice”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

You have to want to eat early - we were doing a tour starting at 7 - so this was the pragmatic choice. Food was adequate, as was the wine. Given our time restraints, which we explained, food could have come quicker. Not specially inclined to return for dinner but would try lunch/afternoon tea - great view from windows to people watch!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank trickcyclist_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Court Restaurant at The British Museum also viewed

 

Been to Court Restaurant at The British Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing