We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall A good Stay”
Review of The Kensington

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Kensington
Ranked #34 of 1,075 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 26, 2010

On my latest monthly weekend away with the girls, we stayed at this lovely Hotel. I have decided to start writing reviews on all the great propertys we stay in as the UK does have some truely great finds!!! The hotel was clean and fresh, location fantastic, service also great. Thoroughly enjoyed my stay!

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jor20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,943)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,603 - 2,609 of 2,943 reviews

Reviewed May 20, 2010

I enjoyed my stay at The Kensington.

The hotel staff is terrific -- extremely accomodating, helpful and pleasant. I can't say enough good things about the staff!

I particularly liked the public front parlors/lounge area -- a comfortable place to sit and work or relax.

There are two computers and a printer in an alcove off the lobby, next to the elevators, for guests to use. Very convenient and useful.

Since the hotel is a combination of the three residences, the rooms can vary in size and shape. I had a very nice, spacious room. I did see two rooms, however, on the relatively small side.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DCTravelFan100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2010

Stayed here in February and we were highly impressed. Wonderful decor, very friendly and informative staff. Very close to Earls Court and easy access to all major sites and places of interest. A little on the expensive side but worth it for a short stay (and a birthday treat!)

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tomwood09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2010

My husband travels to London often and stays at The Kensington Hotel (as a matter of fact, there now!). Our kids (ages 8 & 10) and I accompanied him in January, attaching vacation time to his business trip. This hotel is in a great location, walking distance to Earl's Court subway station and walking distance to several museums (free entrance to London museums!)
The spacious room we stayed at had 2 comfortable queen sized beds, a sofa, tv, desk, closet, & small table in the middle of the room -- try to fit all that in any other standard hotel room. The bathroom area had a double sink, toilet, tub and a separate glass-enclosed shower area.
The breakfast that was included in the room was delicious -- a selection of cold foods/hot foods/pastries...even made-to-order eggs & waffles, a kid-favorite. Drinks were also plentiful: selection of juices/teas/coffees and even smoothies. We got our fill and began to walk the city.
The hotel was not cheap; we usually stay in less expensive hotels but decided to splurge and not move hotels since my husband was going to be working for a portion of the time we were there. We're glad we stayed in the hotel; there were a lot of restaurants of all price ranges to walk to from the hotel. We would stay here again!

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pbduran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2010

From check-in to check-out, our stay was superb.
I travelled with my 4 friends for a girls weekend and all of us thoroughly enjoyed it. We had two lovely rooms with comfy beds, and they were quiet spacious too which was a bonus! Breakfast definitely deserves a mention as it was delicious, a great choice to choose from and the fresh smoothies were a nice treat.
I would like to express a big thank you to the staff, we felt very much looked after in every way. I would definitely return to the Kensington Hotel, with easy access to the South kensington tube station with it being just around the corner, It's the perfect location!

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank miss_lisamarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2010

I have been meaning to write this review for a long time, however, the habit is for people to rage against things they don't like and not rave about things they do. I plan to correct that.

I stayed in this hotel on the night of my wedding. We were warmly greeted by the front desk staff and offered champagne. We had themost wonderful glass of champagne and the tastiest brownies i think i have ever eaten. The room was extremely comfortable, the bathroom excuisite. For us the breakfast was a little pricey, but i would imagine it's standard for quality-London hotels. The warm fire in the winter was extremely welcome indeed.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Twoleftfeet83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2010

We stayed at The Kensington Hotel for our wedding night and although the whole experience was not cheap, it certainly made for a really special and glamorous stay. We managed to book a 3 nights for the price of 2 deal in a suite which is a beautiful large room. Even this was expensive so we would not have been able to afford it at full price. However, we had a fantastic time. We had a room on the first floor which was beautiful with a four poster bed & floor to ceiling windows all round. The room and the rest of the hotel was beautifully decorated and feels incredibly luxurious. The separate bathroom was big & had a free standing bath with a flat screen tv at one end so you could watch tv whilst in the bath - how decadent! It also had 2 sinks (1 each!), a separate shower & a separate toilet.

We were very well looked after in the hotel, the management put a complimentary plate of petit fours & a bottle of Moet in our room for after the ceremony which was so nice to come back to after our wedding day. We also invited a lot of our friends back to the hotel bar where we drank & partied until 1am. Some of our friends were a wee bit drunk by then and getting a bit loud but the hotel were very understanding and just looked after us. (probably because we were spending so much on alcohol!)

Breakfast was good and big - you can either have it in your room or in the restaurant, we did both and they were equally as good. Its also a great location with the Kings Road nearby and walking distance to Hyde Park and all the museums (V&A, natural history & science) at South kensington.

The only downside was that there is some traffic noise in the rooms as its on a main road so bring your ear plugs just in case!

All in all we had a lovely stay and would recommend this hotel for a special occasion - if you can afford it that is!!

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lilololo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
The Ampersand Hotel
The Ampersand Hotel
#47 of 1,075 in London
3,389 reviews
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#63 of 1,075 in London
3,797 reviews
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#14 of 1,075 in London
3,283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
Crowne Plaza London Kensington
Chelsea
Egerton House Hotel
Egerton House Hotel
#2 of 1,075 in London
1,455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kensington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kensington

Address: 109 - 113 Queen's Gate, London SW7 5LP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in London
#33 Family Hotel in London
#34 Luxury Hotel in London
#50 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range: $248 - $437 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Kensington 5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located in leafy South Kensington and just moments from Knightsbridge, Hyde Park and Sloane Square, The Kensington offers 150 unique and stylish guestrooms and suites. London's largest townhouse suite (approx 2,000 sq ft), roll top baths and four-poster beds are truly befitting of this Regency quarter. The Town House bar & restaurant and a magnificent lounge area comprised of period drawing rooms offer a traditional but contemporary setting for afternoon tea, lunch or evening dinners. Our guestrooms are individually decorated in an elegant townhouse style, using sumptuous fabrics, deep upholstery and an eclectic mix of contemporary art and furnishings. The atmosphere is relaxed throughout, with the engaging and innovative service creating the ambiance of a smart private members club. All rooms include flat screen TVs, air conditioning, luxurious Aromatherapy Associates bathroom products, Nespresso coffee machines and complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Doyle Collection, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Kensington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kensington Hotel London
The Kensington London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing