We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely lovely hotel!”
Review of The Kensington

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 16 more sites!
The Kensington
Ranked #36 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Kristiansand, Norway
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Absolutely lovely hotel!”
Reviewed September 28, 2009

Stayed for two nights on a combined business/pleasure trip. The location close to Earls court exhibiton center was one of the criteria for choosing this hotel, and the good reviews and high ranking made the choise even easier.
We got a room without proper windows at first, and immediately asked for a change. Another room was available and prepared in an hour. I think the room with no windows (only two small openings with shutters and no view) probably should be sold at a very much lower price and with proper information. I think very few would be comfortable here, but some may be happy to pay less for an otherwise acceptable room on the 1st floor) Only an advise, because the stay in itself was perfect. Newly beautifully refubished, the colours and furnishings are exquisite and creates a warm and welcoming environment. Taxi had barely stopped before the doorman had picked our suitcases up with a smile and a welcome. Breakfast, oh, breakfast! My only regret was that I could not eat as much as I desired of all these delicacies. Coffee probably the best I have ever got in a hotel. I'm extremely sensitive about my coffe, and very few hotels pass "the test" for me. (We travel quite a bit) The head waiter (?) was all smiles, realxed helpfulness (remembered our name the second day and the hotel was packed) and a little well-placed humour. All these tings are often underrated, but adds up to form your mood for the day. We got ready for the day happy and smiling, and in no need for lunch!
Bed was so good I tended to want to go home early! A down filled duvet light as a cloud instead of the sheet &blanket. Heavenly. Stay here!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HiBe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,735 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,050
    525
    116
    30
    14
See reviews for
510
1,137
196
418
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (370)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2009

Excellent and very responsive staff. Great location. Clean rooms, though a bit small. Luckily we got a free upgrade to the suite. Really was a perfect home base for our stay in London. I recommend it HIGHLY to everyone. And i think because it was just reopened or something, we got an extremely good rate.

Stay at this hotel and you'll be happy!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank closetrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 19, 2009

We stayed at the Hotel on the occasion of our son's wedding and everyone had a great time and commented on what a lovely hotel it is. Wonderfully comfortable with up market bathrooms and we were made to feel really welcome.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MyfanwyCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belfast
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2009

My sister and I stayed here for one night while on family business in London on 12 Sept 09. We booked on the basis of great ratings on Tripadvisor from previous guests as we needed somewhere relaxing. The hotel is well located close to South Kensington underground which is served by the Piccadilly and District Lines. It is a pleasant 10 minute stroll to Kensington High street, We arrived on an early flight and went to the hotel to drop off luggage and ask whether an early check in was a possibility. The welcome by the lady concierge was warm and an encouraging start. However, our optimism was short lived as our request for an early check in seemed to flummox the receptionist on duty (we didn't consider this to be an unusual request for a hotel of this calibre). We were made to feel that this presented a problem as she said she had to find us a different room which could be prepared for us before the published check-in time of 2pm. In the end we decided to return at 2pm only to find that the room type we requested was not in fact what we had been allocated and again the point that this was our fault because of our early check in request was emphasised. It was on our return at 9pm when the room was at last to our specification, and then the bed throws and cushions were 'stored' on the floor for turn-down and the cups we had used earlier had not been refreshed. This gave the room a very untidy feel. Decor was bland with no pictures on the walls. We found the staff on duty at breakfast to be unfriendly with at least one extremely abrupt and inappropriate comment from a member of staff which left us feeling again uncomfortable. This is a lovely hotel with spacious relaxation areas for guests as well as free internet access. We booked through an online booking agency which offered us a very competitive rate and we genuinely felt that the service offered by key staff at this hotel was second rate (perhaps as a result of how we had booked), as was the room we found ourselves occupying. The staff we encountered at the Kensington would greatly benefit from customer service training perhaps shadowing their contempoaries in the Westbury Hotel in Dublin. The Kensington Hotel is seriously let down by poor service which left us feeling sorry we had booked. We informed the hotel of our concerns through their customer satisfaction survey and currently await their response.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shuvfantastic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheKensingtonHotel, Deputy General Manager at The Kensington, responded to this review, September 17, 2009
Dear Shuvfantastic,
Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent stay with us. I would like to sincerely apologise for issues you encountered during your stay and would like to reassure you that these are not the level's of service we strive to deliver here at the Kensington Hotel. I will personally investigate the matter fully and contact you directly in response.

Kind regards,
Gearoid Lyons
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2009

Having stayed before i was looking forward to visiting again - breakfast was a disaster - ordered cooked breakfast - black pudding was cold raw and uncooked in the centre - staff grudgingly took it back - on check out the bill was wrong and they had excluded the £25 credit forr food and drink that they both advertise and promote

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank deckie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheKensingtonHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Kensington, responded to this review, October 20, 2009
Dear Deckie,
Thank you for taking the time to review The Kensington Hotel and I am deeply saddened that your stay was not to the standard it should have been.

Please be assured that all your comments have been taken on board and highlighted with the relevant departments. Your feedback is very important to us and it is through this feedback that we can improve the services we provide.

Once again, please accept my sincere apologies for the disappointment caused and I hope to welcome you back again in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Andrea Doyle,
Guest Relations manager
Andrea_doyle@doylecollection.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviewed September 14, 2009

Our wedding party have just spent the weekend here, and I simply can't recommend it enough. This hotel combines the luxury of something much more expensive with the personal service of something much smaller.

We came to them late one Friday night a few weeks before our wedding after another venue (booked months earlier) had let us down badly. We instantly felt comforted by the atmosphere of the hotel and its staff and this feeling grew over our subsequent dealings with them over the course of the next few weeks leading up to the stay itself. We were given personal points of contact, though all the staff in the hotel we had dealings with were excellent and seemed genuinely friendly. This was a view mirrored by all our guests. In fact, we found it so difficult to leave that we extended our stay for a further night.

We've come away from our wedding with some amazing memories, and the Kensington Hotel is indelibly part of that of that experience.

  • Stayed September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jondgreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Skye, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
137 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2009

Booked very much at the last minute, but managed to secure a superior king size room for £190 plus VAT including breakfast for 2 people. Room was on the 4th floor and with windows onto a quiet side street. The room was certainly large by London standards, spotlessly clean and well equipped. There is a mini bar which you can't use as a personal fridge which was a very minor irritation. There should have been bathrobes - and these were missing, but we couldn't be bothered to phone reception and ask for some. The bathroom was large with underfloor heating and nice toiletries. There was a large plasma screen tv in the bedroom and supposedly free wifi, although we didn't manage to get our i-touch to find the network, despite phoning reception for help. I suspect our room might have been too far away from the router. The bed was really comfy with a feather duvet and feather pilows. An excellent night's sleep was ensured!
We walked to the Albert Hall for a Prom concert in the evening and came back to the hotel for dinner. The restaurant food was excellent, but the wine was a bit pricey.
Breakfast was superb. Lots of choice including imaginative healthy options and a good range of cooked choices in addition to the "full english". Service was polite and friendly.
The hotel is in between South Kensington and Gloucester Road tubes, and we think South Ken was marginally closer.
In short, a great find and we would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacqui R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
The Ampersand Hotel
The Ampersand Hotel
#48 of 1,067 in London
3,180 reviews
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#58 of 1,067 in London
3,660 reviews
Chelsea
Egerton House Hotel
Egerton House Hotel
#3 of 1,067 in London
1,364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#14 of 1,067 in London
3,134 reviews
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
South Kensington
Crowne Plaza London Kensington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kensington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kensington

Property: The Kensington
Address: 109 - 113 Queen's Gate, London SW7 5LP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in London
#33 Family Hotel in London
#36 Luxury Hotel in London
#50 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Kensington 5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located in leafy South Kensington and just moments from Knightsbridge, Hyde Park and Sloane Square, The Kensington offers 150 unique and stylish guestrooms and suites. London's largest townhouse suite (approx 2,000 sq ft), roll top baths and four-poster beds are truly befitting of this Regency quarter. The Town House bar & restaurant and a magnificent lounge area comprised of period drawing rooms offer a traditional but contemporary setting for afternoon tea, lunch or evening dinners. Our guestrooms are individually decorated in an elegant townhouse style, using sumptuous fabrics, deep upholstery and an eclectic mix of contemporary art and furnishings. The atmosphere is relaxed throughout, with the engaging and innovative service creating the ambiance of a smart private members club. All rooms include flat screen TVs, air conditioning, luxurious Aromatherapy Associates bathroom products, Nespresso coffee machines and complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Doyle Collection, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, Ctrip TA, TravelUp, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your The Kensington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kensington Hotel London
The Kensington London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing