We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic hotel with superb service”
Review of The Kensington

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Kensington
Ranked #30 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 14, 2009

Our wedding party have just spent the weekend here, and I simply can't recommend it enough. This hotel combines the luxury of something much more expensive with the personal service of something much smaller.

We came to them late one Friday night a few weeks before our wedding after another venue (booked months earlier) had let us down badly. We instantly felt comforted by the atmosphere of the hotel and its staff and this feeling grew over our subsequent dealings with them over the course of the next few weeks leading up to the stay itself. We were given personal points of contact, though all the staff in the hotel we had dealings with were excellent and seemed genuinely friendly. This was a view mirrored by all our guests. In fact, we found it so difficult to leave that we extended our stay for a further night.

We've come away from our wedding with some amazing memories, and the Kensington Hotel is indelibly part of that of that experience.

  • Stayed: September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jondgreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,043)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,747 - 2,753 of 3,043 reviews

Reviewed September 10, 2009

Booked very much at the last minute, but managed to secure a superior king size room for £190 plus VAT including breakfast for 2 people. Room was on the 4th floor and with windows onto a quiet side street. The room was certainly large by London standards, spotlessly clean and well equipped. There is a mini bar which you can't use as a personal fridge which was a very minor irritation. There should have been bathrobes - and these were missing, but we couldn't be bothered to phone reception and ask for some. The bathroom was large with underfloor heating and nice toiletries. There was a large plasma screen tv in the bedroom and supposedly free wifi, although we didn't manage to get our i-touch to find the network, despite phoning reception for help. I suspect our room might have been too far away from the router. The bed was really comfy with a feather duvet and feather pilows. An excellent night's sleep was ensured!
We walked to the Albert Hall for a Prom concert in the evening and came back to the hotel for dinner. The restaurant food was excellent, but the wine was a bit pricey.
Breakfast was superb. Lots of choice including imaginative healthy options and a good range of cooked choices in addition to the "full english". Service was polite and friendly.
The hotel is in between South Kensington and Gloucester Road tubes, and we think South Ken was marginally closer.
In short, a great find and we would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacqui R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2009

Like the previous reviewer, my wife and I took the 3 nights for 2 offer. I understand the hotel has just been refurbished, and we found it was clean and fresh. The room we had wasn't what you would call large, but for the price you pay, and the location (South Kensington tube station is around 400 yards away) you couldn't get any better. The facilities in the room were excellent (I was able to watch the football on Sky Sports on a new wall mounted LCD TV). The staff were brilliant, and always attentive and keen to assist. I would definitely stay here again, and recommend it to anyone else wanting to stay in west London.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yellowbelly_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2009

Myself and my partner did the 3 for 2 nights deal. I must say, we have stayed in several hotels and boutiques in London and the Kensington is at the high end of our scale. Young but fantastic staff, very helpful and extremely polite. A bit out of the mainstream shopping, but very close to Harrods and Harvey Nichols. I would recommend this hotel to everyone. We had a joyous stay and will definitely return in the future.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank helkel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheKensingtonHotel, guest relations manager at The Kensington, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2009

Dear Helkel,

I would like to thank you for your comments.
I am delight to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, particularly that you found our staff to be so helpful.I will ensure your feedback is communicated to our team and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Kensington Hotel in the near future.
With kind Regards,
Andrea Doyle, guest relations manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2009

My husband and I spent five nights at this beautiful hotel in South Ken in mid August. We highly recommend it. We had a great package deal for the hotel from Luxury Link which included full breakfast every morning among other lovely treats. Our stay was great from beginning to end. Reception staff very friendly and helpful. Our room was a delight - the hotel is recently renovated so the rooms are first class, very modern, stylish, spacious and comfortable. Luxurious actually! Bed, extremely comfortable, lovely bed linens. Oh, wonderful bath products! So much so that I asked for a few extra samples for packing in my bags! The only downside I can think of is there is no iron/ironing board in the room. We had to call for one and it took ages for them to provide it. Breakfast at the hotel every morning was a wonderful way to start the day- so much choice and service was excellent! Dining room is beautiful! We had dinner our last night at the hotel and that was great too. We also spent time at the bar having drinks - great atmosphere. Concierge was very helpful in getting us tickets to a couple of shows and just generally a pleasure to deal with. The location of the hotel is fab! You are in the middle of it all. South Ken tube station a five minute walk away, world class museums in every direction and some great restaurants in the immediate vicinity - you are spoilt for choice in that respect. I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this hotel and would return in a heartbeat! Part of what made it so special apart were the staff. Not the cold British politeness that is so typical of folks in London. Rather, we found them to be genuinely warm (they smiled!) and hospitable. Special mention must be made of Giselle. She was fantastic and made us feel really welcome. We'll be back!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Valerie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2009

Me and my significant other stayed here for 3 nights in the summer. We decided to take a trip to London for her birthday and had a great time.

The Hotel
The hotel is excellent and the staff are there for your every need, they really cannot do enough for you. The location was great as we wanted the visit the parks which were very nice and the tube is 5 mins walk. The hotel has two computers which are located by the lift and are free to use which is another added bonus. The hotel has a very nice clean and quality feel about it and there are small thoughtful things I liked about it such as, helping yourself to a fresh apple on the way out and being greeted each time you approach the main doors. Excellent!

The Restaurant & Bar
We had continental breakfast each morning which was all very nice, we would also take a few cereal bars away if we were heading out! Everything was extremely fresh and the service was faultless. We had dinner in the restaurant one evening, the meal and the service was excellent. The bar area is extremely relaxing and is the perfect place to enjoy a drink.

The Rooms
Our room was very spacious and had a large LCD TV with various channels. The finish to the room was great, nice quality carpets, shutter blinds at the window, an excellent bathroom with shower and air con which worked brilliant. There was a safe in the room for which there is no additional charge.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank B4zza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2009

I stayed here with my husband for one night - a babyfree 24 hrs! The hotel is just such a delight - the decor is amazing, whoever is responsible for that - wow. Rooms are equally good, clearly top quality furniture and fabrics throughout. Location is spot on in the best part of London. We are definantly staying again.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annifin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
The Ampersand Hotel
The Ampersand Hotel
#47 of 1,077 in London
3,490 reviews
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
Conrad London St. James
Conrad London St. James
#51 of 1,077 in London
3,299 reviews
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#15 of 1,077 in London
3,368 reviews
South Kensington
Crowne Plaza London Kensington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kensington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kensington

Address: 109 - 113 Queen's Gate, London SW7 5LP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in London
#23 Family Hotel in London
#30 Luxury Hotel in London
#50 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range: $232 - $463 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Kensington 5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located in leafy South Kensington and just moments from Knightsbridge, Hyde Park and Sloane Square, The Kensington offers 150 unique and stylish guestrooms and suites. London's largest townhouse suite (approx 2,000 sq ft), roll top baths and four-poster beds are truly befitting of this Regency quarter. The Town House bar & restaurant and a magnificent lounge area comprised of period drawing rooms offer a traditional but contemporary setting for afternoon tea, lunch or evening dinners. Our guestrooms are individually decorated in an elegant townhouse style, using sumptuous fabrics, deep upholstery and an eclectic mix of contemporary art and furnishings. The atmosphere is relaxed throughout, with the engaging and innovative service creating the ambiance of a smart private members club. All rooms include flat screen TVs, air conditioning, luxurious Aromatherapy Associates bathroom products, Nespresso coffee machines and complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Doyle Collection, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Kensington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kensington Hotel London
The Kensington London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing