We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, excellent tea service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Kensington

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Kensington
Ranked #36 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Shakopee, Minnesota
2 reviews
“Great location, excellent tea service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Kensington Hotel for the third leg of our anniversary trip to Europe. The staff were exceptionally friendly. I was well rested every night with no comfort or noise issues. Breakfast was absolutely delicious every day. The afternoon tea service is a must! Great way to relax and recharge after travelling.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Chad J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrea D, Manager at The Kensington, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
What an amazing review, thank you for taking the time to share your experience and for choosing The Kensington Hotel for such a special occasion. It is fantastic to read how much you enjoyed your stay. We have shared your comments with our team and they were all very proud and are all looking forward to welcoming you back to your London home.
Kind Regards, Andrea Doyle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,628 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,962
    511
    113
    29
    13
See reviews for
487
1,085
191
405
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (364)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2014

Just spent two nights at this hotel and I must say the staff are super. Special mention to the porter who supplied cold bottles of water following our morning run. Nice touch. Reception staff were also excellent. Internet worked without the usual fuss fo some hotels. Room was clean as you would expect.. Coffee machine, nice bed linen and a comfortable bed. Our room 521 was very small and more like a single room than a double which was disappointing. The neighborhood is great for restaurants, bars and coffee shops. Also very convenient to the tube for District and Piccadilly line so a good spot to stay for getting around. Didn't eat there so can't comment.

Room Tip: Avoid the 5th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maurice_J37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrea D, Manager at The Kensington, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Thank you for writing such a great review following your recent visit. We are so pleased to have exceeded your expectations. I have passed your comments onto our team who were delighted to look after you during your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2014

Great hotel with fantastic staff, service was first class, our suite was perfect, room service breakfast was all very good and the longe service in the evening very attentive.
I would recommend this hotel as one of the best I have stayed in.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Keith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrea D, Manager at The Kensington, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Wow! “The Best Hotel in London”, we like that title and we are thrilled to read you had such a good experience with us. To know that you thought so highly of our hotel, our staff and our service in particular is incredibly motivating for us all and I am delighted you will definitely return. Your personal recommendation means the world to me and my team and we are very grateful for your support. It was a pleasure to have you with us, thank you for choosing the Kensington Hotel and I look forward to welcoming you back very soon!

Kind Regards,
Andrea Doyle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2014 via mobile

We spent a night in the Kensington Hotel and found it to be wonderful. The room was well appointed and the service and friendly staff were exceptional. Food and facilities were also great and the WIFI was simple to connect to and it worked well. Room was very clean, bed was comfy and the room had everything we needed.
The friendly service from the staff makes the difference though - they were exceptional - making it a great hotel. When we asked for something it just happened - and quickly.
Close to an underground station so getting around is simple.
We also loved the Nespresso machine but not all rooms may have one?

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank M L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrea D, Manager at The Kensington, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write this wonderful review. It is fantastic to read how much you enjoyed your experience with us and that we managed to exceed your expectations. We have shared your comments with our team and we are all looking forward to welcoming you back to your London home again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
184 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2014

We stayed only for one night at this hotel and we like it. We were upgraded on arrival and had a very spacious room, with comfortable bedding, still there is nothing special. Breakfast was not pleasant at all.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CeciliaGeneva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2014

This place was even better than described. It is calm and spacious and has charm and style. We loved Staying here and looking into the queensgate you have a feeling of staying in the posh precint and 20 minutes away from oxford street .
We could calmly start in the morning and take our breakfast and when we came back from the hustle of the city could have a bite and some nice relaxion.
The staff here treated us as if we were friends and took care for everything we needed or wanted to know. Thank you for everything - Danke für alles. If we come back to London we would like to stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank platzalexanderd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrea D, Manager at The Kensington, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
We are thrilled to read that you had such a good experience with us and thank you for posting this wonderful review following your stay. Your personal recommendation means a lot to us we are very grateful for your support. It was a pleasure to look after you and our team are delighted that they managed to make you fell so special. Thank you for choosing the Kensington Hotel and I look forward to welcoming you back very soon. Kind Regards, Andrea Doyle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
columbus ohio
Level Contributor
120 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at the Kensington. The desk, concierge and housekeeping staff were all friendly and helpful. This was our first trip to London, so were were a little unsure about the location of the hotel, but we couldn't have picked a better one. Within a short walk you are at the South Kensington tube stop and the neighborhood has many restaurants, bars and markets. We also walked to Kensington Palace and gardens and the Royal Albert Hall for a concert. Our hotel room was called a family room. It was large with two double beds and a huge bathroom. It faced out the back of the hotel. The view was the roof tops of other buildings, but it was quiet. Our stay was so comfortable and relaxing after full days of sightseeing. We also had breakfast and high tea in the first floor restaurant, both times it was delicious.

Room Tip: We were in room 511. The room is right off the elevator (lift) but when you enter the room, you ent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelerColumbusOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrea D, Manager at The Kensington, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such an amazing review following your recent stay with us. I am thrilled you enjoyed your stay so much and your continued, future support is incredibly important to us. To know that you will definitely return is music to our ears. Your right this is a fantastic location, we have all the best sights in walking distance and without the hassle of the west end crowds, the perfect place to be. We hope it wont be long before you come and see us again at The Kensington Hotel. Kind Regards, Andrea Doyle.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
The Ampersand Hotel
The Ampersand Hotel
#46 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,012 reviews
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#62 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,531 reviews
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
Crowne Plaza London Kensington
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#12 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,017 reviews
South Kensington
The Bailey's Hotel London
The Bailey's Hotel London
#122 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kensington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kensington

Property: The Kensington
Address: 109 - 113 Queen's Gate, London SW7 5LP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in London
#33 Family Hotel in London
#36 Luxury Hotel in London
#50 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Kensington 5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located in leafy South Kensington and just moments from Knightsbridge, Hyde Park and Sloane Square, The Kensington offers 150 unique and stylish guestrooms and suites. London's largest townhouse suite (approx 2,000 sq ft), roll top baths and four-poster beds are truly befitting of this Regency quarter. The Town House bar & restaurant and a magnificent lounge area comprised of period drawing rooms offer a traditional but contemporary setting for afternoon tea, lunch or evening dinners. Our guestrooms are individually decorated in an elegant townhouse style, using sumptuous fabrics, deep upholstery and an eclectic mix of contemporary art and furnishings. The atmosphere is relaxed throughout, with the engaging and innovative service creating the ambiance of a smart private members club. All rooms include flat screen TVs, air conditioning, luxurious Aromatherapy Associates bathroom products, Nespresso coffee machines and complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Doyle Collection, Agoda, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your The Kensington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kensington Hotel London
The Kensington London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing