We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent hotel”
Review of The Kensington

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Kensington
Ranked #36 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Devon
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 287 helpful votes
“An excellent hotel”
Reviewed March 29, 2014

Last time we stayed here we were not happy with our "superior" rooms and this time they kindly upgraded us to their "junior suites" which, in our opinion, raises the hotel to 100%. Charming and efficient reception staff, excellent porters and concierge and wonderfully attentive and professional bar and restaurant staff. I would particularly mention "Baby" George who, the first time we entered the bar rushed up to us with two cushions; he had remembered from our last visit six months earlier that my elderly friend had a bad back. That is what I call service.

Regarding the comfort and facilities of the hotel, I can only repeat what I said in my last review It has been tastefully and luxuriously upgraded and, combined with the superb staff, leaves very little to be desired.

One small point which perhaps holds it back from the very highest echelon of London hotels – I believe they should require a little more decorum and formality from some of their guests. On one evening there was a man in shorts and sandals with a baseball cap worn back to front lounging in the bar. This would not have been permitted in more formal and traditional establishments and perhaps the porters should discreetly mention to guests from overseas that in England it is considered very bad manners for a man not to remove his head-dress indoors. On another evening a drunken hen party effectively made the bar untenable for residents with their shouting and periodic outbreaks into song. Again, behaviour which should not be permitted in a 5-star hotel.

This point aside, I have nothing but praise for this excellent hotel.

Room Tip: Avoid the basic "superior" rooms if you can which are rather cramped.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank IainGDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrea D, Manager at The Kensington, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience of The Kensington Hotel in this wonderful review.
It is fantastic to read how much you enjoyed all aspects of our hotel. George is a brilliant ambassador for our team, he absolutely loves to surprise and delight all of our guests and he will be over the moon when I share your very kind and thoughtful words of appreciation with him. Thank you also for your feedback on Aubrey Bar; please be assured that I have communicated this mater to the relevant teams to ensure these situations are being managed properly. We are delighted to know that you will be returning to us soon and are all looking forward to welcoming you back to your London home again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,774 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,084
    528
    118
    30
    14
See reviews for
522
1,152
197
422
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (374)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
s.a
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2014

We had a wonderful three nights in this hotel. It is located in a very classy area few minutes from harrods yet in a quite area. There are many restaurants and cafés located two minutes walk. The rooms were very clean and the toilets are very well decorated. The staff in this hotel were extremely friendly and helpful especially the room service and house keeping staff but I encountered few problems with the restaurant service during the breakfast and the lobby restaurant service, they were slow and not as efficient
as the other staff in the hotel. I do recommend this hotel strongly and I would definitely consider staying again here.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dr.amal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrea D, Manager at The Kensington, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Thank you so much for this wonderful review. To know that you thought so highly of our hotel, our team and we are delighted to know that you liked our rooms and location so much. Thank you also for letting us know about your experience in our breakfast room and lobby and please be assured that this matter has been investigated and addressed. We are delighted to know that you will definitely return to see us again and look forward to welcoming you back to your London home again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2014

We just spent the last four nights in a great hotel, The Kensington (Doyle Group), located a five-minute walk from the South Kensington station, a direct ride from Heathrow, and also the site of two other tube lines. The staff is wonderful and attentive. The room we had (323) had two queens (we had our daughter along with us in the room) and was larger than any european hotel room we've ever had. The two elevators were also generous by European standards. The sitting rooms, bar and dining rooms were meticulously decorated and grand. We enjoyed wine by the fire prior to dinner our last two nights, and wondered why we hadn't started that practice earlier... The views from our room weren't great, but the room had windows on three sides, and had a lot of light. Everyone including the maids, concierge, wait-staff and management were kind and engaged. We have nothing negative to report, other than perhaps a 4 out of 5 on the food.

Room Tip: Loved 323 - large and well-lit with many windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wbacon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrea D, Manager at The Kensington, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
What an amazing review, thank you for taking the time to share your experience of the Kensington Hotel with all of our Trip Advisor friends. It is fantastic to read how much you enjoyed all aspects of our hotel, particularly that you found our location so great and our staff to be so attentive. I was really pleased to know that you enjoyed relaxing in our morning room and drawing room. Sitting next to our open fireplace in a cosy armchair with a glass a wine is just the perfect place to be on these cold nights. Your kind comments have been shared with our team and they were all very proud to have made your stay so memorable and are all looking forward to welcoming you back to your London home again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eskilstuna, Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2014

We stayed in a total of 4 days at the Kensington Hotel, when we first came the staff were very helpful and we felt very welcomed. Our room was a standard room, it was not big but enough, very clean and nice interior. It had a little coffee machine from Nespresso and you could also make tea if you wanted. We asked to have a dress and a shirt ironed because we were attending a wedding, the staff were again very helpful and we got them about 40 mins later than what I told them at the first place (had to ask to get the clothes) was a bit disappointing but the ironing was made perfectly. I would have given this hotel 5+ if it wasnt for the terrible staff in the Breakfast area, I mean they were very kind and nice, but it seemed like they had no overlook what was going on, the breakfast itself was GREAT! But again the staff brought wrong coffe, the food you ordered was a bit cold (sometimes) and they didnt know what a coffe americano was (I mean I expect that from a high class hotel like this). Except from that our stay was perfekt and i recomend everyone to stay here. The street just outside had a bunch of great restaurants and it is close to the tube and walking distance to a lot of things s well.

Room Tip: We stayed at the second floor, our room had a big air-con machinery right outside and made a lot of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexandra_swe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrea D, Manager at The Kensington, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
Thank you for your recent review. I was delighted that you enjoyed our stay with us, particularly that you found our team to be so friendly. It was disappointing to hear about the issues you experienced in our breakfast room and I would like to assure you that these matters have been addressed. Please feel free to contact me directly the time you are travelling to London as I would personally like to look after your booking for you. Once again many thanks for your kind comments and your recommendation , this means a lot to us and we look forward to welcoming you to The Kensington Hotel again soon. Kind Regards, Andrea Doyle
andrea_doyle@doylecollection.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2014

The Kensington ist an nice hotel. I like the wonderful lobby and rooms in the ground. The staff its always friendly. Our room and bathroom was a little bit to small and the decoration has to be renovated, but otherwise it's tasty and has am warm atmosphere. I'll come back soon!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank crilotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrea D, Manager at The Kensington, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your wonderful experience at The Kensington Hotel. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay so much and your continued, future support is incredibly important to us and its is great to know that you will definitely return. We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2014

What a delightful venue. And what a charming welcome. A friend and I had chosen The Kensington Hotel as a much-need change of meeting place for the annual gathering of some 15 old school friends and the hotel staff had been most friendly and efficient in setting it up. A section of the lounge had been specially reserved for us. Low tables, set amongst comfy armchairs and sofas, were beautifully set with linen napkins and little bowls of freescias. Tasty sandwiches and gorgeous patisseries (including delectable chocolate temptations) were served with smiling attention that was never intrusive. Everyone voted enthusiastically to come here again next year. After the others had gone, the two of us went to the bar for a glass of champagne to celebrate the real success of our suggestion for this change of venue.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Penelope V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrea D, Manager at The Kensington, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Thank you very much for choosing The Kensington Hotel for this special occasion. We are thrilled to read how our team were able to ensure your visit was so memorable. Thank you also for sharing this wonderful experience, we know it’s all the little touches that make a difference to our guests.We are delighted that you found us now and hope it won’t be long before you return to your London home again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 23, 2014

I had an afternoon off so i decided to collect a bunch of pals to this Hotel, for an afternoon tea The sun was shining and we were sat by the window on a very comfortable arm chair with red velvetty covers ,we sandwiches, scones and clotted cream, all served with on a golden plated stand with 2 cases on each and was well arrayed. I’d highly recommend to go again as the spring flowers blossom also before the brights days go out

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wady a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrea D, Manager at The Kensington, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
We were delighted to welcome you for afternoon tea and thank you for taking the time to write your recent review. Our Drawing Room is such a beautiful setting to relax in and Afternoon Tea a speciality of ours, it was great to hear that we were able to create such fabulous memories for you. We all hope that next time you are in our neighbourhood, you will come a dine in our beautiful Aubrey restaurant or indeed stay with us here at the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
The Ampersand Hotel
The Ampersand Hotel
#48 of 1,069 in London
3,236 reviews
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#57 of 1,069 in London
3,699 reviews
Chelsea
Egerton House Hotel
Egerton House Hotel
#3 of 1,069 in London
1,390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#13 of 1,069 in London
3,177 reviews
South Kensington
Crowne Plaza London Kensington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kensington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kensington

Property: The Kensington
Address: 109 - 113 Queen's Gate, London SW7 5LP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in London
#33 Family Hotel in London
#36 Luxury Hotel in London
#50 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Kensington 5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located in leafy South Kensington and just moments from Knightsbridge, Hyde Park and Sloane Square, The Kensington offers 150 unique and stylish guestrooms and suites. London's largest townhouse suite (approx 2,000 sq ft), roll top baths and four-poster beds are truly befitting of this Regency quarter. The Town House bar & restaurant and a magnificent lounge area comprised of period drawing rooms offer a traditional but contemporary setting for afternoon tea, lunch or evening dinners. Our guestrooms are individually decorated in an elegant townhouse style, using sumptuous fabrics, deep upholstery and an eclectic mix of contemporary art and furnishings. The atmosphere is relaxed throughout, with the engaging and innovative service creating the ambiance of a smart private members club. All rooms include flat screen TVs, air conditioning, luxurious Aromatherapy Associates bathroom products, Nespresso coffee machines and complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Doyle Collection, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Kensington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kensington Hotel London
The Kensington London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing