We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place”
Review of The Kensington

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Kensington
Ranked #33 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 16, 2014

I was staying at the Kensington London for my partners birthday and was delighted by fact that the quality of the hotel is high, modern and in a nice neighbourhood in London coupled with the level of friendliness and warmth at this hotel. All staff were all exceptional with a special mention to Valentina and of course George.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank feverpitch2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ms-Beccy-Gunn, General Manager at The Kensington, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2014

We were so pleased to help make your partner's birthday so special and delighted that you enjoyed the hotel. Thank you for recognising the staff. I look forward to welcoming you back next time you are in our neighbourhood.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,038)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,921 - 1,927 of 3,041 reviews

Reviewed January 14, 2014

Stayed over the Christmas period. Charming hotel with excellent service. Fabulous location with excellent transport facilities nearby. Unfortunately we had a problem with an error made by staff on checkout with a pre authorisation payment which caused great inconvenience on our forward travels.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RinaD443
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ms-Beccy-Gunn, General Manager at The Kensington, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2014

We were delighted to be your hotel of choice for Christmas and thank you for recognising the excellent service provided by everyone here at the hotel. I was naturally very disappointed to read your comment regarding the pre-authorisation on your card and would like to apologise for the problems this caused whilst you were travelling. I have discussed this with the Front Office Manager who also asked me to pass on her personal apologises and I wanted to assure you that we have addressed the comment to ensure that going forward this does not happen again. I hope you had a safe journey home and we all hope to welcome you back to the hotel when you are next over from Australia.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

It's always a pleasure to return to the Kensington Hotel. It's mostly motivated by business that I stay, however it's becoming more important to take some time out when in the Hotel. The reason? The staff and their welcome, attention to every need. It's my relax time too, and I always leave smiling! Kensington is such a great area to stay. It's easy to get in and out of, and has with plenty choices as to however one might like to fill their time.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
4  Thank Charles B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ms-Beccy-Gunn, General Manager at The Kensington, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write you recent review and for recommending the hotel in particular the service we provide. We are delighted to be your home in London when travelling on business or leisure and all look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

We have just returned from an overnight stay at the Kensington and are still feeling relaxed. From checking in to checking out nothing is too much trouble and their attention to detail is exceptional. All the staff are friendly and helpful, the room was spacious, clean and comfortable and the location perfect. We have stayed before and will stay again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TDB577r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ms-Beccy-Gunn, General Manager at The Kensington, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2014

Thank you for recommending the hotel and I was thrilled to read that we are your hotel of choice when visiting London. We are very proud of the service we offer and of our fabulous hotel so thank you also for taking the time to recognise this. We all look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

This hotel had great reviews on trip advisor and so we booked a superior double room for 6 nights from end dec to early jan. The location is good with easy access to the tube and within easy walking distance to Hyde park and Knightsbridge. The area has numerous restaurants and shops. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the lounge areas were very relaxing and inviting. We were however, very disappointed with the size of our room. There was almost no storage space or area to store bags. There was just enough room to walk around the bed. The bathroom was very small and useable by only one person at a time. The restocking of the bedroom supplies was not consistent. On a positive note, It was nice to have an espresso machine in the room and the room was nicely decorated.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank weston59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ms-Beccy-Gunn, General Manager at The Kensington, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write your recent review of the hotel. I was delighted to read that overall you enjoyed your stay with us particularly our location in South Kensington next to many iconic London sites. However, I am sorry that you felt the room size was too small and I do hope that next time you are in London you contact me directly on beccy_gunn@doylecollection.com so that I can personally look after your reservation as each room in the hotel is very different due to our townhouse layout and it would be my pleasure to discuss with you the variety of room selections we offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014


The afternoon tea at the kensington hotel was a wonderful experience, My friends came here last year around october and recommend that we should try whenever we are in London. The sandwiches were delicious and our server George is a very good host. we will be back again soon

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
5  Thank emily b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ms-Beccy-Gunn, General Manager at The Kensington, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2014

We were all delighted to read that you had been recommended to come to the hotel for afternoon tea by your friends and it was great to hear that you enjoyed the experience - thank you for taking the time to write your recent review and for also recognising George who I know is always so pleased to assist all our guests as is all the staff at the hotel. We all look forward to welcoming you back next year when you return to London.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

This is a good hotel for business and corporate meeting, the hotel offers free newspapers, and they are very generous with their fast wireless internet service, it’s almost impossible to find free wifi inside the hotel without a hidden charge. We were warmly greeted by all the staff at all times that we encountered them, extremely friendly and professional at the same time which I’ll count as a bonus point. There a Lovely breakfast in the morning with a quite lounge to enjoy my coffee and making calls.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank melroschette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ms-Beccy-Gunn, General Manager at The Kensington, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review of the hotel. We are delighted that you chose the hotel for your recent business trip to London and it is great to know that all little extras that we provide made such a difference. Over the last year we have been working to ensure that our internet signal provides great connection and fast processing so it was fabulous to have this recognised. We all look forward to welcoming you back next time you are in London whether for business or leisure.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
The Ampersand Hotel
The Ampersand Hotel
#47 of 1,077 in London
3,484 reviews
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
Conrad London St. James
Conrad London St. James
#51 of 1,077 in London
3,293 reviews
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#13 of 1,077 in London
3,360 reviews
South Kensington
Crowne Plaza London Kensington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kensington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kensington

Address: 109 - 113 Queen's Gate, London SW7 5LP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in London
#33 Family Hotel in London
#33 Luxury Hotel in London
#50 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range: $232 - $459 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Kensington 5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located in leafy South Kensington and just moments from Knightsbridge, Hyde Park and Sloane Square, The Kensington offers 150 unique and stylish guestrooms and suites. London's largest townhouse suite (approx 2,000 sq ft), roll top baths and four-poster beds are truly befitting of this Regency quarter. The Town House bar & restaurant and a magnificent lounge area comprised of period drawing rooms offer a traditional but contemporary setting for afternoon tea, lunch or evening dinners. Our guestrooms are individually decorated in an elegant townhouse style, using sumptuous fabrics, deep upholstery and an eclectic mix of contemporary art and furnishings. The atmosphere is relaxed throughout, with the engaging and innovative service creating the ambiance of a smart private members club. All rooms include flat screen TVs, air conditioning, luxurious Aromatherapy Associates bathroom products, Nespresso coffee machines and complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Doyle Collection, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Kensington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kensington Hotel London
The Kensington London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing