We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay, great location, great service”
Review of The Kensington

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Kensington
Ranked #36 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Geneva, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great stay, great location, great service”
Reviewed January 9, 2014

We stayed for 1 week in the hotel. We were very happy with the service, the location and the general amenities of the hotel. It's a clean place and we had a spacious room. Free wifi is a huge plus and the breakfast either in the room or at the dining room was very good and covered all our needs. Overall am excellent stay and will certainly return. Keep it up!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank angelosm644
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ms-Beccy-Gunn, General Manager at The Kensington, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your recent review and I was delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is always fabulous to hear when we meet and exceed expectations and I am so pleased that we will be your hotel choice next time you are in London. We all look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,818 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,120
    535
    119
    30
    14
See reviews for
540
1,162
201
428
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (379)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 9, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here a while back, first and foremost is the staff …. they are cheerful, friendly in any way imaginable no request is too large for them. rooms are very comfortable with bed and linen that are very clean and the room itself smelling nice and also tidy. london being a place of unpredictable whether we weren’t really worried about that because the concierge takes care of that. would definitely come back again.

Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank gray h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ms-Beccy-Gunn, General Manager at The Kensington, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
We all look forward to welcoming you back when you are back in London and thank you for posting such a fabulous review of the hotel. It is great to know that the Concierge were able to look after you so well and you found the rooms to be so comfortable. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014

My husband and I stayed at The Kensington Hotelfrom 28 - 31 December 2013. The hotel is situated in a great location and has lots of good restaurants nearby. It's close to the Royal Albert Hall, Natural History Museum and Science Museum. Or if you enjoy posh shopping, it's near to Harrod's and Harvey Nichols.

My friend bought us a Mr and Mrs Smith hotel voucher for our wedding present and we used this to stay here. I emailed the hotel to let them know that our stay was part of our honeymoon. We were greeted on arrival by friendly staff and they upgraded us and gave us complimentary champagne.

Our room was on the top floor and had a very comfortable four posted bed. The room and bathroom were lovely - they even put rose petals on the bed! The room was a good size for London hotels.

We didn't eat at the hotel, but the afternoon tea looked good! We instead ate out at some lovely local restaurants. There's such a variety of places to eat on your doorstep. We found a great little pub call the Queen's Arms on Queens Gate Mews - this was tucked away from the main drag and served good food and drinks.

When we went back to the hotel we treated ourselves to champagne. Jimmy served us and he was such a lovely chap - I said that I'd mention him in my review. We sat in the lounge, where there are huge comfy sofas and a big real fire - very relaxing.

The location, staff and decor really made this hotel stand out for me. I have stayed in numerous hotels in London and can honestly say that this was my favourite. The staff were very friendly, but not over bearing.

We will definitely be staying at The Kensington Hotel again. Thanks for a wonderful stay and the upgrade - we really appreciated it!
Claire Pawson

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Missymarsbar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ms-Beccy-Gunn, General Manager at The Kensington, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Dear Mrs Pawson, thank you for posting such a lovely review and we were delighted that we could help make your honeymoon treat so memorable. We are delighted to be a Mr & Mrs Smith hotel and thank you for choosing us for your stay in London. It was great to hear that Jimmy was able to look after you so well and thank you for taking the time to recognise him. We all look forward to welcoming you back and congratulations on your recent wedding.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014

The Kensington hotel in London really knows how to treat a guest, they have top facilities and high quality rooms. We felt it was worth the price we paid for and we received a good service from everyone. plus the sleep quality is great. we highly recommend.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flora m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ms-Beccy-Gunn, General Manager at The Kensington, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such an amazing review and I am delighted that you enjoyed every aspect of the hotel. It is always great to hear when we exceed expectations as the comfort and enjoyment of our guest is of utmost importance to us. We all look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed January 8, 2014

My patner and myself enjoyed our afternoon tea here, the service is very good and staff are smiling. This was my first tea here and I was wowed by their afternoon tea. The hotel is also very nice with good seats and a fire place. I would definitely come back.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Pollygiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ms-Beccy-Gunn, General Manager at The Kensington, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
We are delighted that you enjoyed your first visit to the hotel and thank you for taking the time to write your recent review. We all look forward to to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014

I highly recommend this hotel because the staff are so fantastic. Particularly George, who is always so happy, polite and attentive. The atmosphere in the hotel is great, and I will be coming back often!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank londoner115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ms-Beccy-Gunn, General Manager at The Kensington, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
We are all delighted that you enjoyed your visit to the hotel and thank for recommending the staff and in particular George. We all look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 8, 2014

George who works in the bar of the Kensington hotel is simply the dream! His energy and enthusiasm brighten up your day. I would stay here again if only to see his smiling face every morning. Every hotel needs someone like George. A true asset and a reason to return.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Ldec86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ms-Beccy-Gunn, General Manager at The Kensington, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a fabulous review about George. It is always great to read when one of us is able to make such a positive impression and I know George was delighted to help make your stay so memorable. We all look forward to welcoming you back next time you are back in London.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
The Ampersand Hotel
The Ampersand Hotel
#49 of 1,069 in London
3,276 reviews
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#57 of 1,069 in London
3,726 reviews
Chelsea
Egerton House Hotel
Egerton House Hotel
#2 of 1,069 in London
1,408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#13 of 1,069 in London
3,202 reviews
South Kensington
Crowne Plaza London Kensington
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kensington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kensington

Property: The Kensington
Address: 109 - 113 Queen's Gate, London SW7 5LP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in London
#33 Family Hotel in London
#36 Luxury Hotel in London
#50 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Kensington 5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located in leafy South Kensington and just moments from Knightsbridge, Hyde Park and Sloane Square, The Kensington offers 150 unique and stylish guestrooms and suites. London's largest townhouse suite (approx 2,000 sq ft), roll top baths and four-poster beds are truly befitting of this Regency quarter. The Town House bar & restaurant and a magnificent lounge area comprised of period drawing rooms offer a traditional but contemporary setting for afternoon tea, lunch or evening dinners. Our guestrooms are individually decorated in an elegant townhouse style, using sumptuous fabrics, deep upholstery and an eclectic mix of contemporary art and furnishings. The atmosphere is relaxed throughout, with the engaging and innovative service creating the ambiance of a smart private members club. All rooms include flat screen TVs, air conditioning, luxurious Aromatherapy Associates bathroom products, Nespresso coffee machines and complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Doyle Collection, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Kensington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kensington Hotel London
The Kensington London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing