We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“TRYING TERRIBLY HARD...”
Review of The Kensington

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Kensington
Ranked #34 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“TRYING TERRIBLY HARD...”
Reviewed October 31, 2013

We stayed at The Kensington for one night as a treat - not having to drive home after a meal! It's well decorated (a bit over decorated for my taste but nonetheless...), immaculately clean in all areas, and the staff were, without exception delightful. Lots of little extras like the chap on the door feeding the parking machine for us, a bottle of water each on departure, lovely snacks in the room and jasmine tea before bed. It was an amazing deal pricewise - £198, an additional £13 and breakfast was included - and a £10 money off voucher and an upgrade...which meant full breakfast for two cost the grand sum of £3. They forgot our order but still..the thought was there! Having said all this, we won't unfortunately be going back because the bed was incredibly uncomfortable, the shower was only about 50cms wide, and it was incredibly noisy - traffic noise, fridge noise, builders noise... A shame but there you go!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sussexfarmers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrea D, Manager at The Kensington, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review following your recent stay. Naturally I was disappointed to read your comments regarding the room and would like to assue you that these matters are being addressed. I would like to thank you for all your kind comments regarding our team and service and I do hope that you will allow us the opertunity to welcome you back. Please contact me directly on andrea_doyle@doylecollection.com as I would personally like to look after your reservation for you and ensure you have a very enjoyable and comfortable stay on your next visit..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,704 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,023
    525
    113
    30
    13
See reviews for
506
1,121
195
413
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (367)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Athlone, Ireland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Just back from my stay at the Kensington - once again the standard of service was first class. A special mention for George for the attentive service and Martin the Consierge for being as helpful as ever. This hotel never fails to impress .

Colin D

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CCDuffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrea D, Manager at The Kensington, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this wonderful review. It is fantastic to read how much you enjoy staying with us. We have shared your comments with our team especially George and Martin and we are all looking forward to welcoming you back to your London home again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 31, 2013

I really like the location of this hotel, very nice staff, lobby. Rooms not bad, nice decoration. Its really few steps from nationak history museum, v&a museum, and nice streets like kings road fulham road... The only problem is that its expensive, probably more expensive than other very decent hotels around... But all in all a good experience

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maxime T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrea D, Manager at The Kensington, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this review following your recent stay. We are so pleased you ejoyed your experience with us and please feel free to contact me directly when you wish to return as I would be delighted to help you find a room type and price to meet your needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
74 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013 via mobile

Booked a cream tea via afternoon tea.com which came with free glass of champagne. Great experience we were shown to a very nice lounge area with burning fire, mix of modern and traditional sofa and old fashioned pictures on the wall great. The staff were very well presented and very attentive. We ordered the afternoon tea for myself and wife and scones, jam and cream for son. Good choice of teas beautifully presented sandwiches, scones and cake. All items were very fresh, home made and very original making use of different breads, types of scones and beautifully presented cakes. service was good throughout with just the correct balance of attention and privacy.

Recommended

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank FieldyMouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrea D, Manager at The Kensington, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Thank you very much for this wonderful review. We have shared your comments with our team who are delighted to have made your afternoon tea so memorable. We are so pleased that you found our hotel so cozy and comfortable and we all very much look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cowfold, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013

We stayed here for one night and on arrival had an excellent welcome. We were upgraded free of charge, were given an amazing deal on the price of the room, breakfast and free cocktail in the bar. Our car was taken care of and parked on the street for much less than the cost of the NCP. However the rooms were a little soulless with no pictures and poor details like no fresh milk and not enough UHT for the tea and coffee. Our room also suffered from being on the corner and continuos road noise throughout the night. on top of this the fridge was faulty and rattled all night. At breakfast the waiter took our order without pen and paper and needless to say it was forgotten about and was half an hour late. then when it did arrive it was wrong and had to be sent back. Staff were friendly and the hotel offers good value for central London but I wouldn't stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for one away from the noisy corner and higher up
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrea D, Manager at The Kensington, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I was pleased to read that you found our staff so friendly and welcoming however I was very disappointed to read that you were not totally satisfied with your stay. Please be assured that we have spoken to our teams regarding the issues you mentioned and they have been addressed as a matter of urgency. We hope you can accept our sincere appologies for the lapses in service that you experienced during this short stay.I do hope also that you will allow us the opportunity to make amends for the disappointment
you experienced. Please feel free to contact me directly should I be ale to assist you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leatherhead, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Afternoon tea at The Kensington Hotel's Aubrey Restaurant is wonderful. The sandwiches, scones and cakes are absolutely delicious and the atmosphere was relaxed and welcoming. The staff are courteous and attentive, especially our smiling waiter George. The perfect way to end a visit to the Museums. Affordable luxury and excellent value. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Helen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrea D, Manager at The Kensington, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this wonderful review . We are so pleased that you enjoyed our afternoon tea so much and in particular that George was able to make your visit so special.
George and all of our team were delighted to look after you and we look forward to welcoming you back agin in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 30, 2013

The hotel is very clean and very well maintained. When entering the hotel you are welcomed by a lovely smell of lavender, as there are aromatherapy candles lit throughout the hotel; that adds to a sense of cleanliness and puts the guest at ease.
The ambiance is excellent and there is a luxury feel to it, with lit fires in each hall room which makes having a lovely cup of tea or drink even more enjoyable and cosy. The bar area is also very good, and the cocktails are lovely even for those who do not particuarly enjoy alcohol.
The night concierge is beyond friendly and very helpful.
The rooms are ok although quite small: the bathroom was very clean with good quality products in it but it was extremely small (2 average-sized people struggle to be in at the same time).
The breakfast selection was great, very varied and of good quality.
Only negative side: for each day we were there, the breakfast orders were mixed up or incorrectly served, and we could hear other tables loudly complaining about the same type of issues. It seemed there was either lack of co-ordination in the kitchen or very poor communication between the staff, part of which seemed inexperienced.
Overall, very good hotel!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mila B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrea D, Manager at The Kensington, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Thank you very much for this wonderful review following your recent stay. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us, particularly that you found the ambiance to be so good.I was disappointed to read about the lapses in service you experienced on this occasion and I would like to assure you that the issues raised have been addressed with the necessary teams and training has been carried out to ensure these shortfall do not reoccur. Thank you once again and we all look forward to your next visit to The Kensington Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
The Ampersand Hotel
The Ampersand Hotel
#47 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,126 reviews
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#58 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,625 reviews
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
Crowne Plaza London Kensington
South Kensington
The Bailey's Hotel London
The Bailey's Hotel London
#133 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#14 of 1,063 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,098 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kensington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kensington

Property: The Kensington
Address: 109 - 113 Queen's Gate, London SW7 5LP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in London
#33 Family Hotel in London
#34 Luxury Hotel in London
#50 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Kensington 5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located in leafy South Kensington and just moments from Knightsbridge, Hyde Park and Sloane Square, The Kensington offers 150 unique and stylish guestrooms and suites. London's largest townhouse suite (approx 2,000 sq ft), roll top baths and four-poster beds are truly befitting of this Regency quarter. The Town House bar & restaurant and a magnificent lounge area comprised of period drawing rooms offer a traditional but contemporary setting for afternoon tea, lunch or evening dinners. Our guestrooms are individually decorated in an elegant townhouse style, using sumptuous fabrics, deep upholstery and an eclectic mix of contemporary art and furnishings. The atmosphere is relaxed throughout, with the engaging and innovative service creating the ambiance of a smart private members club. All rooms include flat screen TVs, air conditioning, luxurious Aromatherapy Associates bathroom products, Nespresso coffee machines and complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Doyle Collection, TravelUp, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your The Kensington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kensington Hotel London
The Kensington London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing