We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another great stay”
Review of The Kensington

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Kensington
Ranked #34 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Another great stay”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Having already written a review on The Kensington Hotel, I thought it would be good to update TripAdvisor with my latest experience.

Yes, it's still five star. Yes, the service is still first class. Yes, the rooms are still immaculately clean and superbly finished. Yes, the hotel still looks fantastic. Yes, it's probably my favourite hotel.

Unfortunately on this occasion we could only book the one night and sadly spent the other two elsewhere. But upon check-in in we were informed the rooms weren't ready yet. They checked us in, handed us the keys, took our bags and sent us to the bar. We must have ordered around four cocktails and were then told the room was ready and "sorry for your wait, the drinks are complimentary".

That sums up the Kensington. A truly great hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank uk_trader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ms-Beccy-Gunn, Management at The Kensington, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you for choosing to return to stay with us at The Kensington Hotel, we were delighted to welcome you back as our guests.

We are dedicated to ensuring that every guest has a memorable experience on every occasion so it such a pleasure to read that we continue to meet your high expectations, thank you for your kind words. I will pass on your wonderful review to our team to enjoy.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back to The Kensington Hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,703 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,024
    523
    113
    30
    13
See reviews for
506
1,120
195
413
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (367)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
131 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in a very hot spell in July, having previously enjoyed an excellent meal in Aubrey's restaurant. We were not disappointed by the hotel, it was fabulous. We chose a deluxe room as it was clear from previous reviews that some people find room sizes small. This was an excellent choice; the room was quite large and had a very comfortable queen bed. The room itself was very nicely decorated and furnished. There was no view (except for air-conditioning units) but I don't think there is really a view to be had in this area. The position of the room suited me very well as it was quiet. The wardrobe was a bit small and there were no drawers (seems to be an odd fashion in hotels these days!), might have been an issue for a longer stay. It was extremely hot and the air conditioning worked well thank goodness. The bathroom was lovely, nice products and good robes, slippers and towels. We tried Aubrey's restaurant again and it was just as good, as was the breakfast each morning. Staff were always smiling and extremely pleasant. I loved the beautiful candle smell in the hotel lobby. I love this hotel and we are very likely to return.

Room Tip: Be aware from other reviews that some rooms can be small; our deluxe room was large, so decide if th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank curlycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ms-Beccy-Gunn, Management at The Kensington, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience of us here at The Kensington Hotel with the online travelling community, we appreciate the time it took.

We were delighted to read that you had such a positive experience in Aubrey that it prompted you to choose to stay with us. We are dedicated to offering a personal service and creating a memorable experience to every guest, so it was such a pleasure to read we exceeded your clearly high expectations on this visit also. Our design team in particular truly appreciated your kind words regarding the décor, they work extremely hard to create a welcoming yet luxurious space for you to enjoy.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to London.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 24, 2013

My husband and I stayed at The Kensington Hotel for 12 nights during July and thoroughly enjoyed it. The staff are fantastic - so well trained, enthusiastic and seem genuinely keen to assist with any sort of enquiry. The lounge areas are very comfortable and a great place to relax with a pot of tea after sightseeing, in our case, during some hot weather. Fabulous location and we enjoyed all the great cafes and restaurants in the area. Easy walk to Chelsea which was a bonus. We will stay there again
Thank you

Room Tip: King bed would have been great but guess the room was a bit small for that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 88Wan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ms-Beccy-Gunn, Management at The Kensington, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you for choosing The Kensington Hotel for your visit to London. We were delighted to welcome you and to know you felt so at home whilst our guest. Our team is passionate about ensuring every detail of your experience with us is memorable so we were delighted to read that you thought so highly of us. Our design team in particular was thrilled to read your kind words regarding the décor, they are constantly working to create a welcoming yet luxurious space for you to enjoy.

We were pleased to read that our convenient location in leafy South Kensington, so close to public transport links and as well as all the wonderful perks of Chelsea was such benefit to you during your time with us.

Lastly thank you for your very kind review, your kind words mean so much to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013

The hotel is well located a short walk from south kensington tube station. Whilst i recognise that this is an affluent area at £200 plus a night the rooms were tiny and u literally had to shut doors behind you to manoeuvre around the room. Food was again overpriced and poor value. Not impressed.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sebandhugo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ms-Beccy-Gunn, Management at The Kensington, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and offer your feedback on your stay here at The Kensington Hotel. We understand that it takes time and truly appreciate it. I was naturally very sorry to read that you were not happy with your room allocation and found the room to be small. We are, as you know, converted Town Houses and while this offers some beautiful design features it does make every room different in layout and design. Should you be returning to London a member of our team would be delighted to discuss your room needs to ensure you are allocated a room to meet your requirements, as we do have a several room categories which offer more space and indeed additional seating areas.

Again I was sorry to read that you did not enjoy your experience in Aubrey, but I would like to assure you that our chefs work extremely hard to ensure that every meal served is to the highest possible quality. I would be interested to discuss this further, should you wish, to better understand your comments and would kindly ask that you contact me at Beccy_gunn@doylecollection.com . I look forward to hearing from you and hopefully resolving all matters to your satisfaction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Love this boutique hotel.
I came to London on a work trip and this was home for me while I was here.
Very elegantly decorated. I love the wallpaper and curtains. Somewhat eclectic.
About 5 mins to South Kensington Station and along the way, you have Tesco Express, Little Waitrose, Hummingbird Bakery and other cafes and eateries.

The room is very inviting, and beds comfortable.
I rested very well every night before going off to work.
The radio was useful as it helped me to unwind.

My room had short stairs up to the bathroom. Totally love this ...
Bathroom is modern with white grey marble walls.T
The aromatherapy bath products were awesome and it was a great way to unwind after a day's work.

I ran into a few minor problems. My bathtub didn't drain very well and it was quite uncomfortable when the water accumulated up to mid-calf. Had to inform them twice before it was fixed. But once it was, it was perfect. My key card didn't work on 3 different occasions (not sure why), and it was a long walk from my room to the lift down, just to get to the lobby. Was a bit frustrating especially when I came back with my heavy work bag and shopping.

Other than that, this was place is perfect. Will definitely return again.
Miss those arometherapy products!

Room Tip: Block booking of the room offers a much better rate. I had to book an extra night separately for an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank glamourbugz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ms-Beccy-Gunn, Management at The Kensington, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you for choosing The Kensington Hotel for your visit to our nation’s capital. We were delighted to welcome you as our guest and to know you felt so at home whilst you were here.
It a pleased to read that our convenient location in leafy South Kensington, so close to public transport links and as well as so many wonderful eateries and local shops was such benefit to you during your time with us.

Our team is truly dedicated to ensuring every detail of your experience with us is memorable so we were delighted to read that you thought so highly the décor, our design team are constantly working to create a welcoming yet luxurious space for you to enjoy your very kind words mean so much to them.

We were sorry to read that you experienced problems, in regards to your key card, devices that emit a signal (such as mobile phones, Ipads, radios) can often interfere with the magnetic strips on the keys. We are glad to know that despite this you enjoyed your time with us.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland on Sea UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013

The photos do not do this hotel justice! The exterior is pleasing to the eye and the interior is stylish and elegant.
We had two very hot and sticky days in London but the luxury of air conditioning in our room and the most comfortable of beds meant that we awoke refreshed!
All the members of staff were courteous, attentive and friendly.
Our best stay in London yet.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank manningjl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ms-Beccy-Gunn, Management at The Kensington, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you for choosing The Kensington Hotel. We were delighted to welcome you as our guest for your time in London.
It a pleasure to read that you thought so highly the décor, the bed in your room in particular, we are very proud of the work that has gone into creating a welcoming yet luxurious space for you to enjoy.

Our team is passionate about offering the most memorable experience possible so we were delighted to read you thought so highly of us. I have passed on your very kind words for everyone to enjoy.

We hope to welcome you back soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadview Heights
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

This hotel was great in every way! The location couldn't be beat, you could pretty much get anywhere in London quickly and easily. The hotel staff was superb in every way. The rooms were small, but very nice and clean. The only problem we had was the shower, it only had a 1/2 door and couldn't shower without getting everything wet, but it could have very well been just me who couldn't figure it out. Overall I was more than pleased and would definitely visit this hotel again and would recommend it to anyone I knew who was visiting London.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ms-Beccy-Gunn, Management at The Kensington, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you for choosing The Kensington Hotel for your visit to London, we were delighted to welcome you as our guest. It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed our proximity to the wonderful exhibit on Museum Row as well as public transport links and so many wonderful eateries whilst you were our guest.

We are honoured that you think so highly of us that you would recommend us to others; we hope that you will think of us again on your next visit to London.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
The Ampersand Hotel
The Ampersand Hotel
#47 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,125 reviews
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#58 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,622 reviews
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
Crowne Plaza London Kensington
South Kensington
The Bailey's Hotel London
The Bailey's Hotel London
#129 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#14 of 1,063 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,097 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kensington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kensington

Property: The Kensington
Address: 109 - 113 Queen's Gate, London SW7 5LP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in London
#33 Family Hotel in London
#34 Luxury Hotel in London
#50 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Kensington 5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located in leafy South Kensington and just moments from Knightsbridge, Hyde Park and Sloane Square, The Kensington offers 150 unique and stylish guestrooms and suites. London's largest townhouse suite (approx 2,000 sq ft), roll top baths and four-poster beds are truly befitting of this Regency quarter. The Town House bar & restaurant and a magnificent lounge area comprised of period drawing rooms offer a traditional but contemporary setting for afternoon tea, lunch or evening dinners. Our guestrooms are individually decorated in an elegant townhouse style, using sumptuous fabrics, deep upholstery and an eclectic mix of contemporary art and furnishings. The atmosphere is relaxed throughout, with the engaging and innovative service creating the ambiance of a smart private members club. All rooms include flat screen TVs, air conditioning, luxurious Aromatherapy Associates bathroom products, Nespresso coffee machines and complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Doyle Collection, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TravelUp, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your The Kensington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kensington Hotel London
The Kensington London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing