We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sheer luxury at a great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Kensington

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Kensington
Ranked #35 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Sheer luxury at a great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

The Kensington Hotel is an expensive but well worth it. My family and I stayed over a week end there in April. We opted for the superior rooms which are well appointed. Everthing oozes quality from the entrance right up to the lobby and rooms. The bathroom and bathroom products are of high quality too.The staff at the reception matched the standard set by the hotel management and may have exceeded it. Every detail is dealt with promptly. there is a bowel of free fresh fruit in front of the reception desk and you get offered a free broly 'umbrella for the non-Brits' at the doorstep when it rains

The breakfast is delicious however it does gets busy very quickly and there is a queue. This is the only negative that I can mention. Around the corner is Old Brompton Road where you can find restaurants from every cuisine in the world. The location is ideal for those who wish to visit South Kensington such as the Royal Albert, V&A, Natural Museum, Harrods, etc

Overall cannot say a bad word except for the breakfast queue otherwise an Excellent Hotel. Highly Recommended!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nadir O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ms-Beccy-Gunn, Management at The Kensington, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review and share your experience of us with the online travelling community. We truly appreciate you taking the time.

We are passionate about offering each guest a personal service and so we were delighted to read you thought so highly of us. We believe that a memorable experience starts with a team that is dedicated to handling every detail. I have passed on your very kind words to the team to enjoy.

It is a pleasure to read that our convenient location in leafy South Kensington with our proximity to Museum Row and public transport links was so ideal for you.

We hope to welcome you and your family back on your next visit to London.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,668 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,999
    512
    114
    30
    13
See reviews for
501
1,099
193
411
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (367)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
World Traveller
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

A Stylish hotel with excellent public rooms for a relaxed Kensington stay.

The bedrooms are well appointed but very small. When they renovated the hotel they really pushed the space option a little too far, even for Central London. You get a warning when you look at the size of the door to the bedroom from the corridor, not dolls house size but heading in that direction.

The bathroom must have some sort of record for size, don't turn around too fast or your will bounce of something. The shower was OK once you got into it.

A pleasure to stay there overall, but the space trade of was a little annoying.
But for a older hotel in central London in nice area it was good value.
The breakfast cost was very high, but some excellent places just around the corner are a much better option nice summers morning.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fred William P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ms-Beccy-Gunn, Management at The Kensington, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you for choosing The Kensington Hotel for your visit to London. We were delighted to welcome you our guest.

It a pleasure to read that our convenient location in leafy South Kensington. While we were pleased to read you thought so highly of our team, it was disappointing to read that you were unhappy with the room, all our rooms vary owing to the fact that we are converted Town houses, should you be returning to London please contact a member of our team here and we would be delighted to discuss your needs in detail to ensure that we allocate one to your liking or perhaps you would like to upgrade to a larger room category.

We hope that you will think of us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Wootton Bassett, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

Stayed at all top London hotels and on visiting the Kensington for the first time would definitely visit again and again. Fantastically helpful and polite concierge and all other staff . Room small but very clean and nicely laid out, superb location reasonably priced and don't try to rip you off.

See you again soon

Martin and Jo

Room Tip: Our room was on second floor and very very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ms-Beccy-Gunn, Management at The Kensington, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear Martin and Jo,

Thank you for sharing your experience of us here at The Kensington Hotel with the online travelling community.

We are passionate about offering personal service and creating a memorable experience to every guest, so it was such a pleasure to read we exceeded your clearly high expectations, so from everyone here at The Kensington Hotel we thank you for your kind words.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to London.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
128 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

Excellent location - 2 blocks from tube station, 1 block from Natural History Museum. Staff very friendly & helpful. Many restaurants of varying types all around area- and if you're missing your Starbucks, there is one on the corner across from tube station. Room was very clean- high-quality linens. Not too roomy, but we weren't there much. Bathroom very & clean nice but small & only suitable for 1 person getting ready at a time. If you are a very large person- you will find the shower super- small. Shower amenities were very high quality. Only ate breakfast buffet 1 morning. While a bit pricey, there was a large variety & service was great. Had desserts & drinks one night in the bar- good but expensive.

In summary, really loved this hotel. It's quiet, has a good location & attentive staff. Would recommend.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kellithetaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ms-Beccy-Gunn, Management at The Kensington, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you for choosing The Kensington Hotel. We were delighted to welcome you and your family as our guest.

It a pleasure to read that our convenient location in leafy South Kensington, so close to public transport links and as well as Museum Row and so many wonderful eateries was such benefit to you during your time with us.

Our team is passionate about offering the most memorable experience possible so we were delighted to read you thought so highly of us. I have passed on your very kind words for everyone to enjoy.

We hope to welcome you and your family back soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

We really liked this hotel and the ambience but for the price they could throw in a few extras eg a welcome drink or evening drinks and snacks. Excellent location, very helpful staff, nice smallish room and very good breakfast! Wifi included. Whoever mentioned the perfumed smell is just ultra sensitive because it is not a problem. Recommend if price is no worry.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JillManly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ms-Beccy-Gunn, Management at The Kensington, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you for choosing The Kensington Hotel, we were delighted to welcome you as our guest.

It was lovely to read that you so enjoyed your time here with us. We are continuously striving towards excellence and so it was truly a pleasure to read your feedback and know that we met your high expectations on this visit. In regards to price, our Reservations team would be more than delighted to discuss the various packages available should you be returning to London.

We hope you will think of us again should you be returning.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

Stayed at the hotel for one week (which can be a long time). Very comfortable stay. Friendly and efficient staff, great service (very pro active and ability to anticipate your needs was amazing), housekeeping, comfortable room, modern bathroom.

Location is very convenient with a tube station very nearby within walking distance.

Also lot of convenience stores around the hotel.

Strongly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suku M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ms-Beccy-Gunn, Management at The Kensington, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and share your experience of us here at The Kensington Hotel. We greatly appreciate you taking the time to share your experience of us with the online travelling community. We do all that we can to ensure that every guest has a memorable experience so it was lovely to read that you so enjoyed your time with us.

We hope you will think of us again should you be returning to London.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheltenham
Level Contributor
180 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

This is a super hotel in a quiet tree lined street. It feels a million miles from the hustle and bustle of the city but in fact is just a short walk from South Kensington tube station.
The hotel is understated but beautiful. Our room was large with very comfy beds. The bathroom was fairly average.
We loved the Cocktail bar and the cocktails. We had dinner in the restaurant and it was delicious. We also enjoyed snacks in the lounge area. The staff were very friendly and attentive.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank primada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ms-Beccy-Gunn, Management at The Kensington, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and share your experience of us here at The Kensington Hotel. We understand it takes time and we appreciate it.
It is a pleasure to read that our convenient location in leafy South Kensington with our close proximity to public transport links was so ideal for you. We were further pleased to know that here at the hotel our team met your high expectations. From all of us here thank you for your kind words.

Our design team were delighted to read your praise of your of the décor, they are continuously working to create a luxurious yet welcoming space for you, our guest, to enjoy.

We hope to welcome you back to The Kensington Hotel soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
The Ampersand Hotel
The Ampersand Hotel
#43 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,075 reviews
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#61 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,576 reviews
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
Crowne Plaza London Kensington
South Kensington
The Bailey's Hotel London
The Bailey's Hotel London
#131 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#12 of 1,088 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kensington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kensington

Property: The Kensington
Address: 109 - 113 Queen's Gate, London SW7 5LP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in London
#33 Family Hotel in London
#35 Luxury Hotel in London
#50 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Kensington 5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located in leafy South Kensington and just moments from Knightsbridge, Hyde Park and Sloane Square, The Kensington offers 150 unique and stylish guestrooms and suites. London's largest townhouse suite (approx 2,000 sq ft), roll top baths and four-poster beds are truly befitting of this Regency quarter. The Town House bar & restaurant and a magnificent lounge area comprised of period drawing rooms offer a traditional but contemporary setting for afternoon tea, lunch or evening dinners. Our guestrooms are individually decorated in an elegant townhouse style, using sumptuous fabrics, deep upholstery and an eclectic mix of contemporary art and furnishings. The atmosphere is relaxed throughout, with the engaging and innovative service creating the ambiance of a smart private members club. All rooms include flat screen TVs, air conditioning, luxurious Aromatherapy Associates bathroom products, Nespresso coffee machines and complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Doyle Collection, Despegar.com, TravelUp, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Kensington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kensington Hotel London
The Kensington London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing