We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Kensington

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Kensington
Ranked #35 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

We had the pleasure of enjoying an afternoon tea here.
The service was exemplary , staff were extremely polite and understood out dietary requirements making alternative suggestions for us. The sandwiches were delicious.The bread was fresh and the fillings generous, tasty and flavoursome. The scones were the best, hot from the oven and cooked to perfection, same for the patisserie. We would most certainly recommend this as a venue for afternoon tea in London, the standard of the food is on a par with The Dorchester and the service better.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank mrskhan40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ms-Beccy-Gunn, Management at The Kensington, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a wonderful review. Our team is continuously striving towards excellence and so it was truly a pleasure to read your feedback and know that we met your high expectations on this visit. Our chefs in particular were delighted to know that you thought so highly of the menu.

Lastly thank you for choosing Aubrey Restaurant at The Kensington Hotel for your Afternoon Tea, we were delighted to welcome you as our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,628 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,962
    511
    113
    29
    13
See reviews for
487
1,085
191
405
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (364)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

From the moment of our arrival until we departed, we felt pampered without being smothered or intimidated. The Kensington Hotel is very well staffed - in terms of the numbers of employees and their training. Courtesy and kindness were the bywords at every turn.

The restaurant is outstanding - serving fine food in a relaxing environment. As an American, I am not used to finding such a fine restaurant within the hotel confines. We ate dinner there four out of four evenings. The buffet breakfast is delicious and varied in terms of offerings.

No-one does hotels like the Irish - this is just one fine example.

Room Tip: I slept well on the fifth floor; my sister had a comfortable stay on the first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ms-Beccy-Gunn, Management at The Kensington, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and share your experience of us here at The Kensington Hotel. We understand it takes time and we appreciate it.

We were overjoyed to read that you thought so highly of us and you and your family enjoyed your experience. We are passionate about offering each and every guest a personal service to offer a truly memorable experience. We were delighted to read you so enjoyed your time with us. We very much appreciated your lovely words. I have forwarded on your kind words to the team to enjoy.

We look forward to welcoming you back for another visit soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Level Contributor
76 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed at the hotel a number of times this year, one night to ten days at a time. This last week I have seven clients from Florida with me and I am pleased to say they were delighted with the high level of service, atmosphere of the hotel, the comfy beds. The only thing we observed this time was the breakfast Buffet doesn't change, which could be considered (after the third day it does get a little boring) however, the quality of the food is a high standard. The staff always want to help and remember your name, which is nice. I have read comments on the candle, I love the scent, but I think all it needs is a smaller candle then it would reduce the high scent. Two clients did comment on that too. Overall the hotel is wonderful, location great, and I look forward to next weekend when I return with more clients. Keep up the good work but remember there is high competition in the city

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yolanda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ms-Beccy-Gunn, Managment at The Kensington, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Thank you for choosing to return to stay with us at The Kensington Hotel. It was such a pleasure to read that we continue to reach your high standards. We are always delighted to welcome you back as our guest.

It was lovely to read that you and your colleagues so enjoyed your time here with us. We are continuously striving towards excellence and so it was truly a pleasure to read your feedback.
Thank you for your comments regarding the Neom candle in our lobby. We are always grateful for feedback from our guests as we are constantly reviewing our service and amenities to offer the very best experience we can. We will take your comments into consideration.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back upon your next visit to London.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

Our family - myself, my wife and our 11 year old daughter - just had a wonderful 6 night stay at the Kensington Hotel; 3 nights as part of a Wimbledon Experience package and then extended another 3 nights on our own. We were impressed with how all the staff we encountered were so friendly, pleasant and helpful - definite kudos to management for encouraging such a customer friendly environment. We arrived at the hotel after an delayed overnight flight from Chicago in the early afternoon and since our room wasn't ready - the hotel was full due to Wimbledon - enjoyed a very pleasant lunch in their restaurant. By the time we finished our room was ready with our luggage already in the room. We loved the close proximity of the hotel to shopping as well as to a variety of excellent local restaurants. The South Kensington tube station is only a 5 minute walk away which made getting to Wimbledon very convenient. Hyde Park is close by so we were able to get out for a very pleasant run one morning. Our daughter was pleasantly surprised by the nightly milk and cookies that was left for her - it spoiled her for the rest of our European trip.

We stayed in a family deluxe room with a double and a twin bed which was very spacious for European standards.

We also enjoyed the breakfast options - we had the full breakfast with the hot options with our Wimbledon package for the first 3 days and then just the continental breakfast for the last 3 days. Service was quick and efficient which allowed us to get on with our very busy days.

Our entire family would definitely recommend the Kensington Hotel as an excellent and tranquil place to stay in the hustle and bustle of London. Thanks to all the staff for making our daughter's first trip to London such a wonderful and memorable occasion!!

Room Tip: Family deluxe rooms have a double and single bed. There is only one per floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SCTang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ms-Beccy-Gunn, Management at The Kensington, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay and share your experience with the online travelling community. We were thrilled our proximity to Wimbledon prompted you to stay with us here at The Kensington Hotel.

We are passionate about offering each and every guest a personal service to offer a truly memorable experience. We were delighted to read that you and your family so enjoyed your time with us. We very much appreciated your lovely words and we are honoured that you would recommend us to others.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellesley, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

This hotel,is in a great location. the decor and ambience are very welcoming. The rooms, while a bit small, are very nicely decorated.
There is a lovely high tea served in the afternoon and we had one meal in the hotel, which was pricy but good.
we would return to this hotel on a mother vacation.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tulip2013_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ms-Beccy-Gunn, Management at The Kensington, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your recent review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us especially the Afternoon Tea you enjoyed in one of our beautiful drawing rooms. We all very much look forward to welcoming you back next time you are in London on vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

Booked a Saturday night here for a romantic break with my wife. The location is excellent for the shops of Knightsbridge (including Harrods) and some less famous local shops and restaurants. The hotel has an intimate, stylish ambience and was great for the winter weather. We passed a happy hour sitting on the big leather sofas in front of the fire, drinking the surprisingly good cucumber martinis. We were fortunate enough to be upgraded to the main suite, thanks to my GHA Discovery loyalty membership, and it was charming in an unflashy kind of way. There was a decent sized sitting room with books and unusual furnishings/ artworks, a very large, high-ceilinged bedroom and a small but well laid-out bathroom that included a little TV set into the wall. Towels were thick, there was good natural light, the bath was large enough - all the boxes ticked. When it came to time to go out for dinner we opened the latest copy of "Time Out" magazine to look for recommended London restaurants and the very first one on the list was the hotel's own restaurant! We wouldn't normally eat in a hotel restaurant in that part of London, since there is so much choice in the area but it was an easy option and we were glad that we did. The food was a kind of modern British in style and really well done. My wife is vegetarian and sometimes choices can be rather limited for veggies but there were several tempting options and she really enjoyed her food. I had a great steak. All in all, it was a great hotel for our break: comfortable, intimate, romantic, unstuffy and slightly pampering.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bossarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ms-Beccy-Gunn, Management at The Kensington, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a beautiful review of the hotel. We were all delighted to help make your weekend away so special and thank you for recommending the services and amenities of the hotel. It was our pleasure to upgrade you due to your GHA status and we are pleased to know that our loyalty programme makes a difference. We all very much look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

I have stayed at this very " stylish" Doyle Kensington Hotel many times, without question it is my favourite hotel in London.
Drinks at the Bar are so ejoyable with Staff who are so professionally trained, same applies at Reception area. Location is superb for Museums, Shopping and more.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FoodyIrish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ms-Beccy-Gunn, Management at The Kensington, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post such a lovely review and we are all delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we are very proud to be your considered your favourite hotel in London. It is always fabulous to hear when the staff exceed expectations and I have passed on your comments to the Bar and Reception. We all look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
The Ampersand Hotel
The Ampersand Hotel
#46 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,015 reviews
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#61 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,535 reviews
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
Crowne Plaza London Kensington
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#11 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,018 reviews
South Kensington
The Bailey's Hotel London
The Bailey's Hotel London
#122 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kensington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kensington

Property: The Kensington
Address: 109 - 113 Queen's Gate, London SW7 5LP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in London
#33 Family Hotel in London
#35 Luxury Hotel in London
#50 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Kensington 5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located in leafy South Kensington and just moments from Knightsbridge, Hyde Park and Sloane Square, The Kensington offers 150 unique and stylish guestrooms and suites. London's largest townhouse suite (approx 2,000 sq ft), roll top baths and four-poster beds are truly befitting of this Regency quarter. The Town House bar & restaurant and a magnificent lounge area comprised of period drawing rooms offer a traditional but contemporary setting for afternoon tea, lunch or evening dinners. Our guestrooms are individually decorated in an elegant townhouse style, using sumptuous fabrics, deep upholstery and an eclectic mix of contemporary art and furnishings. The atmosphere is relaxed throughout, with the engaging and innovative service creating the ambiance of a smart private members club. All rooms include flat screen TVs, air conditioning, luxurious Aromatherapy Associates bathroom products, Nespresso coffee machines and complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Doyle Collection, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your The Kensington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kensington Hotel London
The Kensington London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing