We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Kensington
Nearby Hotels
$255
Hilton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$317
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$160
$155
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$185
Doubletree
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$310
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$144
$133
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$313
$266
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$216
$169
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$180
$157
galahotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$286
$276
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (3,187)
Filter reviews
3,187 results
Traveler rating
2,440
577
124
30
16
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,440
577
124
30
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsafternoon teaold brompton roadqueens gatebeautiful hotelthe natural history museumvictoria and albert museumturn down servicenespresso machinesuperior roomlounge areathe location is perfecttube stationrooms are smallconciergeharrodstownhouseturndown
Filter
Updating list...
2,296 - 2,301 of 3,187 reviews
Reviewed June 14, 2013

I frequently stay here with work and I have never had a bad experience. Nice rooms, excellent food and good service. The hotel is only a 5 minute walk from the tube station and the location is ideal for central London.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RachelM087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ms-Beccy-Gunn, Management at The Kensington, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2013

Thank you for writing a review and sharing your experience of us with the online travelling community. It was such a pleasure to read that your experience is memorable each and every time you stay with us.

I have passed on your wonderful review to our team to enjoy. We are all dedicated to ensuring your time with us is truly memorable so it is a pleasure to know that you think so highly of us.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at the Kensington for one night, having stayed there once before. I was given an upgrade to a much larger room. The staff were all very helpful, polite and went out of their way to make guests feel welcome. This hotel is such a welcome change from the bland, identikit hotels that one usually finds. It has a really relaxed atmosphere and gives really good value for money in a great location just a few minutes walk from South Ken tube. I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ms-Beccy-Gunn, Management at The Kensington, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and share your experience of us here at The Kensington Hotel. We understand it takes time and we appreciate it.
We were overjoyed to read that you continue to enjoy your time with us and we are meeting the high levels of service you have come to expect. I have forwarded on your kind words to the team to enjoy.

We look forward to welcoming you back for another visit soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Please see review below! You will find it under tips for travellers. This was my second stay at the Kensington and will not be my last. Such an enjoyable experience! It was so easy to have breakfast available each day and "room service" for those nights when you are too exhausted to eat out. The rooms are very comfortable and quiet and the location of the hotel would suit any tourist's needs.

Room Tip: I chose a room with a shower rather than bath/shower combination. The deluxe room allowed a little more room to move around as I was a guest for 6 nights. The location is excellent given it's proximity to so many things including the underground. I felt perfectly safe moving around on my own. The staff were extremely obliging and warm and friendly. So important to have a smiling face as your first point of contact for the day!!!
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Londonskicouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ms-Beccy-Gunn, Management at The Kensington, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2013

Thank you for choosing to return to stay with us at The Kensington Hotel. It was such a pleasure to welcome you back as our guest.

It was lovely to read that you so enjoyed your time here with us. We are continuously striving towards excellence and so it was truly a pleasure to read your feedback and know that we met your high expectations on this visit. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience.

We are thrilled you are already planning a return visit we very much look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We recently stayed for 4 nights at the end of a 4 week overseas trip from Australia. We were keen to stay here again as we enjoyed it 18 months ago after it had just been refurbished. The leisurely London package works very well for us with the breakfast each day & the 3pm late checkout. Perfect before the 10pm long haul flight home. To be honest we felt our experience was still good but not quite as good as last time. ? The hotel has just got a little busy since then. Maybe last time we were generously given a much better room as when we were shown to our room on Sun 2nd we were very disappointed. Being an angular shape, with a king bed as requested there was not sufficient room to open 2 suitcases. We had a fair amount in the cases after travelling for 4 weeks! We hadn't come to London for 1 night which would have been okay. We were duly shown another room which was better but still small so we paid to upgrade. This room was a good size but on the first floor overlooked walls & pipes, consequently it had frosted glass in the bottom windows. Breakfast seemed a bit hectic as it is now confined to one room & the front area only. Personally I think it worked better as it was before especially when you mix guests with those just there for business meetings(often loudly mixed with mobile phone calls!) at the next table. The Staff are all very friendly & helpful & I recommended this hotel to many people after our last visit. The proviso this time would be check on the room first. Arriving on a Sunday at 3pm I think that we despite booking months before got the last one.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Ros8690
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ms-Beccy-Gunn, Management at The Kensington, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2013

Thank you for choosing to return to The Kensington Hotel for your visit to London. We were delighted to welcome you back as our guest.

While we pleased to read you thought so highly of our team, it was disappointing to read that we did not meet our usual level of service on this visit. We are passionate about offering each and every guest a personal service to offer a truly memorable experience and we will consider your points regarding breakfast. Thank you for taking the time to offer feedback, we always welcome the opportunity to hear from our guests and improve ourselves.

We hope to welcome you back soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at The Kensington for one night as we were going to a concert at the Albert Hall which is within easy walking distance. From the moment we entered the hotel the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. We were given a free upgrade to a superior room and the bed was amazingly comfortable. The hotel itself was welcoming in every aspect and the breakfast was superb. Thank you and well done The Kensington! We will be back.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GravesendPoppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ms-Beccy-Gunn, Management at The Kensington, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay and share your experience with the online travelling community. We were thrilled our proximity to The Royal Albert Hall prompted you to stay with us here at The Kensington Hotel.

We are passionate about offering each and every guest a personal service to offer a truly memorable experience. We were delighted to read you so enjoyed your time with us. We very much appreciated your lovely words.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews