We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay”
Review of The Kensington

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 16 more sites!
The Kensington
Ranked #37 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford
Level Contributor
62 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Excellent Stay”
Reviewed June 14, 2013

I frequently stay here with work and I have never had a bad experience. Nice rooms, excellent food and good service. The hotel is only a 5 minute walk from the tube station and the location is ideal for central London.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RachelM087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ms-Beccy-Gunn, Management at The Kensington, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Thank you for writing a review and sharing your experience of us with the online travelling community. It was such a pleasure to read that your experience is memorable each and every time you stay with us.

I have passed on your wonderful review to our team to enjoy. We are all dedicated to ensuring your time with us is truly memorable so it is a pleasure to know that you think so highly of us.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,731 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,046
    525
    116
    30
    14
See reviews for
510
1,135
195
417
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (370)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at the Kensington for one night, having stayed there once before. I was given an upgrade to a much larger room. The staff were all very helpful, polite and went out of their way to make guests feel welcome. This hotel is such a welcome change from the bland, identikit hotels that one usually finds. It has a really relaxed atmosphere and gives really good value for money in a great location just a few minutes walk from South Ken tube. I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ms-Beccy-Gunn, Management at The Kensington, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and share your experience of us here at The Kensington Hotel. We understand it takes time and we appreciate it.
We were overjoyed to read that you continue to enjoy your time with us and we are meeting the high levels of service you have come to expect. I have forwarded on your kind words to the team to enjoy.

We look forward to welcoming you back for another visit soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Please see review below! You will find it under tips for travellers. This was my second stay at the Kensington and will not be my last. Such an enjoyable experience! It was so easy to have breakfast available each day and "room service" for those nights when you are too exhausted to eat out. The rooms are very comfortable and quiet and the location of the hotel would suit any tourist's needs.

Room Tip: I chose a room with a shower rather than bath/shower combination. The deluxe room allowed a little m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Londonskicouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ms-Beccy-Gunn, Management at The Kensington, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Thank you for choosing to return to stay with us at The Kensington Hotel. It was such a pleasure to welcome you back as our guest.

It was lovely to read that you so enjoyed your time here with us. We are continuously striving towards excellence and so it was truly a pleasure to read your feedback and know that we met your high expectations on this visit. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience.

We are thrilled you are already planning a return visit we very much look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We recently stayed for 4 nights at the end of a 4 week overseas trip from Australia. We were keen to stay here again as we enjoyed it 18 months ago after it had just been refurbished. The leisurely London package works very well for us with the breakfast each day & the 3pm late checkout. Perfect before the 10pm long haul flight home. To be honest we felt our experience was still good but not quite as good as last time. ? The hotel has just got a little busy since then. Maybe last time we were generously given a much better room as when we were shown to our room on Sun 2nd we were very disappointed. Being an angular shape, with a king bed as requested there was not sufficient room to open 2 suitcases. We had a fair amount in the cases after travelling for 4 weeks! We hadn't come to London for 1 night which would have been okay. We were duly shown another room which was better but still small so we paid to upgrade. This room was a good size but on the first floor overlooked walls & pipes, consequently it had frosted glass in the bottom windows. Breakfast seemed a bit hectic as it is now confined to one room & the front area only. Personally I think it worked better as it was before especially when you mix guests with those just there for business meetings(often loudly mixed with mobile phone calls!) at the next table. The Staff are all very friendly & helpful & I recommended this hotel to many people after our last visit. The proviso this time would be check on the room first. Arriving on a Sunday at 3pm I think that we despite booking months before got the last one.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ros8690
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ms-Beccy-Gunn, Management at The Kensington, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Thank you for choosing to return to The Kensington Hotel for your visit to London. We were delighted to welcome you back as our guest.

While we pleased to read you thought so highly of our team, it was disappointing to read that we did not meet our usual level of service on this visit. We are passionate about offering each and every guest a personal service to offer a truly memorable experience and we will consider your points regarding breakfast. Thank you for taking the time to offer feedback, we always welcome the opportunity to hear from our guests and improve ourselves.

We hope to welcome you back soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
72 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at The Kensington for one night as we were going to a concert at the Albert Hall which is within easy walking distance. From the moment we entered the hotel the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. We were given a free upgrade to a superior room and the bed was amazingly comfortable. The hotel itself was welcoming in every aspect and the breakfast was superb. Thank you and well done The Kensington! We will be back.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GravesendPoppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ms-Beccy-Gunn, Management at The Kensington, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay and share your experience with the online travelling community. We were thrilled our proximity to The Royal Albert Hall prompted you to stay with us here at The Kensington Hotel.

We are passionate about offering each and every guest a personal service to offer a truly memorable experience. We were delighted to read you so enjoyed your time with us. We very much appreciated your lovely words.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armonk
Level Contributor
367 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013

At first blush the hotel looks lovely - a charming house and wonderful decor. But the problems started almost immediately when i walked into a room the size of a prison cell. No desk, no drawers, a tiny bathroom and a totally claustrophobic feel. I asked the reception to move me to a different room and the second room was lovely - large, comfortable and it had a desk... but still no drawers. Not sure why this hotel doesn't think travelers need a place to unpack other than hang their clothes. The other problem was the sink was borderline clogged. Water takes forever to clear the sink so if you brush teeth you need to wait 5 mins before you can shave. Three times they came to unclog the sink but nothing changed. They finally told me they have "slow pipes". Really???
Breakfast was very nice and the gym is surprisingly large and useful for such a boutique hotel. Beds are comfortable and there's free wi-fi with good strength.
I should add that i was also asked if i want a newspaper in the morning and i said yes but it took three days for them to get my newspaper actually delivered to me. So clearly there's some issues with service as well.
In terms of location the hotel is a 5 minute walk to the underground. Taxis are a BIG issue - it took me between 15 and 25 minutes each morning to get a taxi and the hotel has no service to call a taxi for you and that is a serious problem as it made me constantly late to meetings.
Bottom line - there's a lot to like here but the lack of drawers which meant living out of my suitcase, and the "slow pipes" and the inability to get a taxi in the morning make it hard to give this hotel a strong review.
I think there's better options in the west London area and i will probably explore those on my next visit.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank orrdin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
86 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

Great hotel, great location, but I also had a great room, beautiful bathroom , suppilies for afternoon tea in my room, great wi-fi, beautiful view, lovely bar and Resturant downstairs. I did book this hotel early through Hotels.com and my rate was pretty good, this together with getting such a nice hotel at a good price definitely made my time there awesome . I have learned one trick when traveling alone, book for two this way you don't get the revamped broom closet usually reserved for the solo guest.

Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Gogogal55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ms-Beccy-Gunn, Management at The Kensington, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Thank you for your review; we appreciate you taking the time to share your experience if us here at The Kensington Hotel with the online travelling community.

We are dedicated to ensuring your time with us is memorable so we were so pleased to know that you felt so well looked after whilst you was our guest.
Our design team were thrilled to hear that you thought so highly of the décor. We are converted Town Houses and they are continuously working to create a luxurious yet welcoming space within that wonderful era. We hope our rooms reflect this.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
The Ampersand Hotel
The Ampersand Hotel
#50 of 1,067 in London
3,175 reviews
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#57 of 1,067 in London
3,658 reviews
Chelsea
Egerton House Hotel
Egerton House Hotel
#3 of 1,067 in London
1,362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#14 of 1,067 in London
3,132 reviews
South Kensington
Crowne Plaza London Kensington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kensington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kensington

Property: The Kensington
Address: 109 - 113 Queen's Gate, London SW7 5LP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in London
#33 Family Hotel in London
#37 Luxury Hotel in London
#50 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Kensington 5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located in leafy South Kensington and just moments from Knightsbridge, Hyde Park and Sloane Square, The Kensington offers 150 unique and stylish guestrooms and suites. London's largest townhouse suite (approx 2,000 sq ft), roll top baths and four-poster beds are truly befitting of this Regency quarter. The Town House bar & restaurant and a magnificent lounge area comprised of period drawing rooms offer a traditional but contemporary setting for afternoon tea, lunch or evening dinners. Our guestrooms are individually decorated in an elegant townhouse style, using sumptuous fabrics, deep upholstery and an eclectic mix of contemporary art and furnishings. The atmosphere is relaxed throughout, with the engaging and innovative service creating the ambiance of a smart private members club. All rooms include flat screen TVs, air conditioning, luxurious Aromatherapy Associates bathroom products, Nespresso coffee machines and complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Doyle Collection, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your The Kensington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kensington Hotel London
The Kensington London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing