We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel for Woman Traveling Solo”
Review of The Kensington

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Kensington
Ranked #35 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 27, 2013

I missed my Gatwick flight was was in a pinch about where to spend the night while I waited for the next flight. My cabby suggested The Kensington Hotel. I'm so glad he did. I checked into the hotel with no reservation - was given a competitive rate - and immediate assistance re-booking my missed flight. The staff were delightful and very helpful. They suggested I visit Victoria & Albert Museum ... and then get a manicure around the corner from the hotel ... and make it back in time for tea. I felt like I was dealing with family members.
My room was elegant and airy and big - and not overly designed and quirky. The bed was heavenly. The downstairs lobby area is what a London hotel should look like ... it has many seating areas where you can tuck in with a book by a fireplace, have a cup of tea and/or meet friends. It's filled with art and crystal and big furniture - and it's all newly up-dated - but again, it isn't quirky, edgy or precious. Anyone will feel comfortable there ... including a single woman traveler who is stranded overnight. It is the perfect London experience! My only complaint is that there was little or no information about a hotel pool ... or any of the gym facilities. Also, there was no information about check-out times in the room ... but really, I think I'm just reaching for something to critique here.

Room Tip: 402 is a lovely room ... though no bathtub.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SusanTWood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr-Vincent-OGorman, General Manager at The Kensington, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2013

Dear SusanTWood,
We were sorry to read that you missed your flight. We know how stressful this can be. We were, however, delighted to read that you were recommended to stay with us. It is always an honour to hear that someone thinks so highly of us. It was our pleasure to welcome you as our guest and alleviate your stressful experience in any way we can.
It was wonderful to read that you enjoyed our location in leafy South Kensington with such convenient proximity to Museum Row and salons.

We are dedicated to doing all that we can to ensure your time with us is memorable so I have passed on your wonderful words to everyone here to enjoy. Our design team, in particular, were delighted to hear that you thought so highly of the décor. Our property has been converted from Townhouses and they all worked tremendously hard during our renovation, and everyday since, to bring it back to its glory. It’s lovely to read that you felt we achieved this.
We hope that you will think of us again should you be returning to London.

Kind regards,

Vincent
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,889)
There are newer reviews for The Kensington
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,050 - 2,056 of 2,890 reviews

Reviewed April 26, 2013

Just minutes walk from the South Kensington tube station and close to great restaurants.
Delighted to give this hotel 5 stars. Staff really friendly and helpful.
Very relaxed yet professional atmosphere.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank micfitzgerald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr-Vincent-OGorman, General Manager at The Kensington, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2013

Dear micfitzgerald,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. We were so pleased to read that our close proximity to public transport links, Museum Row and so many wonderful restaurants was such an asset during your time with us.

We really appreciate your kind words regarding our team. We are dedicated to delivering a discreet yet personal service which represents excellent value at all times, your comments serve as a real motivator and confirmation that we are reaching our aims.
We hope you will think of us again should you be returning to London

Kind regards,

Vincent
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

I've stayed at the The Kensington Hotel on a number of occasions for my work travel. The staff is incredibly friendly, the rooms are fine on size (I've never had an issue), and the design of the hotel is both trendy and comfortable. It’s become one of our London favorites.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MrSmithUsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr-Vincent-OGorman, General Manager at The Kensington, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2013

Dear MrSmithUsa,

Thank you for continuing to choose The Kensington Hotel for your visits to London. We are always delighted to welcome you as our guest. We dedicated to creating a retreat; whether you are here for business or leisure, your kind words regarding our team, the décor and everything during your stay lets us know that this ethos has led us to meet your high expectations.
Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a lovely review and sharing your experience of us with the online travelling community. We appreciate it.

We very much look forward to your next visit,

Kind regards

Vincent
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

We organised a conference in the hotel with a number of guests also staying at the hotel.

The conference ran very smoothly, all the guests gave great feedback

The reception and hotel staff were all extremely kind and helpful, could not fault the service

Would highly reccomend

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tracielambert2211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr-Vincent-OGorman, General Manager at The Kensington, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2013

Dear Tracielambert2211,

Thank you for choosing The Kensington Hotel for your conference. We were delighted to welcome you all as our guests.

We strive to create a welcoming haven for any traveller; whether you are here for business or leisure your kind review lets us know we are succeeding in our efforts. We believe that the first step in creating a memorable experience is a team that truly cares for your comfort. It was a pleasure to read you thought so highly of us.

We hope to welcome you back soon,

Kind regards

Vincent
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

The quality of service is first class. Every member of staff that I have encountered has been absolutely charming - Kensington Management take note - you have a great bunch of people working for you - well done.

Colin D

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Service
Thank CCDuffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr-Vincent-OGorman, General Manager at The Kensington, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2013

Dear Colin D,
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at The Kensington Hotel. We were thrilled to welcome you as our guest. It was such a pleasure to read that you were so impressed with our team during your time in London. We continuously strive to create a truly memorable experience for you, our guest. Your kind words let us know we are succeeding, so from all of us thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with the travelling community.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Vincent
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

lovely hotel in a great spot for the Museums, and nice restaurants as well as any other needs you might have.close by. Short walk to the Tube from the Hotel. Best part of it all was Martyn the concierge. He made our anniversary stay at the hotel very special. He is an absolute delight and there was nothing he wouldnt do to make our stay perfect in every way. The hotel should make sure to keep this gentleman employed there. A fine representative for a quality hotel. . Donna and Alan

Room Tip: very happy with the room size, as most hotel rooms in London are on the small side compared to North...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr-Vincent-OGorman, General Manager at The Kensington, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2013

Dear Alan B,
Thank you for choosing The Kensington Hotel to celebrate such a special day. We were thrilled to a part of your anniversary celebrations.

It was lovely to read that you thought so highly of our team, Martyn in particular. We are all passionate about enhancing your experience in any way that we can. So we would all like to thank you for your kind words.

Kind Regards,

Vincent
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

We stayed for 4 days. Great service and nice boutique hotel in great location. Pleasant atmosphere in the lounge and nice Gym. Stayed in Luxury studio definitely will recommend as its very spacious and nicely decorated. Tried the afternoon tea great value for money and nice service.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Josmith135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr-Vincent-OGorman, General Manager at The Kensington, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013

Dear Josmith135,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It was such a pleasure to read that you were so impressed with us during your time in London. We continuously strive to create a truly memorable experience for you, our guest. Your comments let us know we are succeeding, so from all of us thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with the travelling community.

We look forward to your next visit.

Kind regards,

Vincent
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
The Ampersand Hotel
The Ampersand Hotel
#47 of 1,072 in London
3,335 reviews
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#63 of 1,072 in London
3,759 reviews
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#14 of 1,072 in London
3,251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
Crowne Plaza London Kensington
Chelsea
Egerton House Hotel
Egerton House Hotel
#2 of 1,072 in London
1,433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kensington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kensington

Address: 109 - 113 Queen's Gate, London SW7 5LP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in London
#33 Family Hotel in London
#35 Luxury Hotel in London
#50 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range: $250 - $471 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Kensington 5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located in leafy South Kensington and just moments from Knightsbridge, Hyde Park and Sloane Square, The Kensington offers 150 unique and stylish guestrooms and suites. London's largest townhouse suite (approx 2,000 sq ft), roll top baths and four-poster beds are truly befitting of this Regency quarter. The Town House bar & restaurant and a magnificent lounge area comprised of period drawing rooms offer a traditional but contemporary setting for afternoon tea, lunch or evening dinners. Our guestrooms are individually decorated in an elegant townhouse style, using sumptuous fabrics, deep upholstery and an eclectic mix of contemporary art and furnishings. The atmosphere is relaxed throughout, with the engaging and innovative service creating the ambiance of a smart private members club. All rooms include flat screen TVs, air conditioning, luxurious Aromatherapy Associates bathroom products, Nespresso coffee machines and complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Doyle Collection, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Kensington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kensington Hotel London
The Kensington London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing