We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great find in South Kensington” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Kensington

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Kensington
Ranked #40 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
USA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great find in South Kensington”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

I've stayed at the The Kensington Hotel on a number of occasions for my work travel. The staff is incredibly friendly, the rooms are fine on size (I've never had an issue), and the design of the hotel is both trendy and comfortable. It’s become one of our London favorites.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrSmithUsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr-Vincent-OGorman, General Manager at The Kensington, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear MrSmithUsa,

Thank you for continuing to choose The Kensington Hotel for your visits to London. We are always delighted to welcome you as our guest. We dedicated to creating a retreat; whether you are here for business or leisure, your kind words regarding our team, the décor and everything during your stay lets us know that this ethos has led us to meet your high expectations.
Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a lovely review and sharing your experience of us with the online travelling community. We appreciate it.

We very much look forward to your next visit,

Kind regards

Vincent
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,406 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,787
    469
    108
    28
    14
See reviews for
437
990
173
380
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (342)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

We organised a conference in the hotel with a number of guests also staying at the hotel.

The conference ran very smoothly, all the guests gave great feedback

The reception and hotel staff were all extremely kind and helpful, could not fault the service

Would highly reccomend

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracielambert2211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr-Vincent-OGorman, General Manager at The Kensington, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Tracielambert2211,

Thank you for choosing The Kensington Hotel for your conference. We were delighted to welcome you all as our guests.

We strive to create a welcoming haven for any traveller; whether you are here for business or leisure your kind review lets us know we are succeeding in our efforts. We believe that the first step in creating a memorable experience is a team that truly cares for your comfort. It was a pleasure to read you thought so highly of us.

We hope to welcome you back soon,

Kind regards

Vincent
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athlone, Ireland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

The quality of service is first class. Every member of staff that I have encountered has been absolutely charming - Kensington Management take note - you have a great bunch of people working for you - well done.

Colin D

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CCDuffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr-Vincent-OGorman, General Manager at The Kensington, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Colin D,
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at The Kensington Hotel. We were thrilled to welcome you as our guest. It was such a pleasure to read that you were so impressed with our team during your time in London. We continuously strive to create a truly memorable experience for you, our guest. Your kind words let us know we are succeeding, so from all of us thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with the travelling community.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Vincent
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
athens
Level Contributor
101 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

The common spaces (reception, drawing room, restaurant) were really outstandingly decorated and cosy, the staff were very friendly, eager and polite, room decoration was ok, so was free WiFi. breakfast was good but variety of food was limited but rooms were small (although they were called "superior"), and bathrooms were also unacceptably small .
Sleep quality was average, bed was not so comfortable. All in all, a descent hotel in a nice London neighborhood , close to everything worth seeing, good price, great common areas but small rooms and even smaller bathrooms

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dimitrisbAthens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr-Vincent-OGorman, General Manager at The Kensington, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear dimitrisbAthens,
Thank you for your review; we appreciate you taking the time to share your experience if us here at The Kensington Hotel with the online travelling community. We were so pleased to know you felt that our location in leafy South Kensington was “excellent”.

We were disappointed to read that you found your room small. While all our beautifully appointed rooms are to the highest standard, every room is different owing to the fact that we were converted townhouses. Should you be returning one of our team here would be delighted to discuss your room needs to assign you a room more suitable to you. Or perhaps you would like to opt for one of our Deluxe rooms which would afford you these wonderful amenities as well as a larger more sumptuous space.

Thank you for your comments regarding the décor in our public areas. Our design team work tremendously hard to create a luxurious space for our guests to enjoy. We were pleased that you enjoyed it. In regards to your sleep quality were disappointed by your comments. Our Management team and I take these comments seriously and we are currently investigating all beds to ensure that they are still at the highest standard. Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention.

Kind regards,

Vincent
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

lovely hotel in a great spot for the Museums, and nice restaurants as well as any other needs you might have.close by. Short walk to the Tube from the Hotel. Best part of it all was Martyn the concierge. He made our anniversary stay at the hotel very special. He is an absolute delight and there was nothing he wouldnt do to make our stay perfect in every way. The hotel should make sure to keep this gentleman employed there. A fine representative for a quality hotel. . Donna and Alan

Room Tip: very happy with the room size, as most hotel rooms in London are on the small side compared to North...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr-Vincent-OGorman, General Manager at The Kensington, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear Alan B,
Thank you for choosing The Kensington Hotel to celebrate such a special day. We were thrilled to a part of your anniversary celebrations.

It was lovely to read that you thought so highly of our team, Martyn in particular. We are all passionate about enhancing your experience in any way that we can. So we would all like to thank you for your kind words.

Kind Regards,

Vincent
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We stayed for 4 days. Great service and nice boutique hotel in great location. Pleasant atmosphere in the lounge and nice Gym. Stayed in Luxury studio definitely will recommend as its very spacious and nicely decorated. Tried the afternoon tea great value for money and nice service.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Josmith135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr-Vincent-OGorman, General Manager at The Kensington, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Josmith135,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It was such a pleasure to read that you were so impressed with us during your time in London. We continuously strive to create a truly memorable experience for you, our guest. Your comments let us know we are succeeding, so from all of us thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with the travelling community.

We look forward to your next visit.

Kind regards,

Vincent
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Truly a very warm & welcoming stay from the beginning till the end.I would recommend this hotel to any type of traveller who is looking for high quality comfort, good food, cleanliness, politeness, friendliness & professionalism from a hotel & it's staff. I stayed at The Kensington for a whole month between March to April 2013. Even though I've stayed at the hotel many other times with my family, they always welcome us back with the same warm welcome of the first time. The hotel is a lovely family & business hotel. The deluxe rooms & suites are spacious, clean & well decorated. I have three young children & they always enjoy staying here. Everything here is equal to any 5 star hotel I've stayed at before & I have stayed at many around the world. On this trip the staff were so kind & patient in doing their best to keep me in the same room even though my travel plans were always changing last minute & it was a busy period. Every request was answered with a quick yes & no problem plus a smile! The area is also great for eating out. Transportation is easy to access. Charming place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HajBam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr-Vincent-OGorman, General Manager at The Kensington, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear HajBam,

Thank you for continuing to choose The Kensington Hotel. We are always delighted to welcome you and your family as our guests.

We strive to create a welcoming haven for any traveller; whether you are here for business or leisure we hope you have a memorable experience. We believe that every detail, from the décor in our lounge to the 300 thread count linen on your beds, to a team that truly cares for your comfort to everything in between goes towards making this a reality. It was a pleasure to read you enjoyed and appreciated our efforts. Our design in particular so appreciated your kind words; they continuously work on keeping everything the optimum of luxury and comfort. They were delighted you felt so at home.

Lastly allow me send the thanks of the entire team for your wonderful review. We are truly appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with the online travelling community.

Kind regards,

Vincent
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
The Ampersand Hotel
The Ampersand Hotel
#50 of 1,072 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 2,661 reviews
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#67 of 1,072 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 3,332 reviews
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
Crowne Plaza London Kensington
Chelsea
Egerton House Hotel
Egerton House Hotel
#2 of 1,072 in London
5.0 of 5 stars 1,120 reviews
Westminster
The Nadler Victoria
The Nadler Victoria
#20 of 1,072 in London
5.0 of 5 stars 411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kensington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kensington

Property: The Kensington
Address: 109 - 113 Queen's Gate, London SW7 5LP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in London
#33 Family Hotel in London
#40 Luxury Hotel in London
#50 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Kensington 5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located in leafy South Kensington and just moments from Knightsbridge, Hyde Park and Sloane Square, The Kensington offers 150 unique and stylish guestrooms and suites. London's largest townhouse suite (approx 2,000 sq ft), roll top baths and four-poster beds are truly befitting of this Regency quarter. The Town House bar & restaurant and a magnificent lounge area comprised of period drawing rooms offer a traditional but contemporary setting for afternoon tea, lunch or evening dinners. Our guestrooms are individually decorated in an elegant townhouse style, using sumptuous fabrics, deep upholstery and an eclectic mix of contemporary art and furnishings. The atmosphere is relaxed throughout, with the engaging and innovative service creating the ambiance of a smart private members club. All rooms include flat screen TVs, air conditioning, luxurious Aromatherapy Associates bathroom products, Nespresso coffee machines and complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Doyle Collection, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your The Kensington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kensington Hotel London
The Kensington London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing