We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Chic, convenient, and great price!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Kensington

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Kensington
Ranked #35 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
1 review
“Chic, convenient, and great price!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

I love the Kensington. I stay there every time I visit my daughter who lives in Chelsea. The Kensington is a wonderful hotel, the staff are super accommodating, and the rooms are lovely. I stay here probably 4 or 5 times a year and I never have had a bad stay. The Aubrey Doyle bar is really gorgeous and has an amazing mixologist, Allesandro. The food is also delicious. Make sure to order the brownie sundae!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChristyO661
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr-Vincent-OGorman, General Manager at The Kensington, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear ChristyO661,

Thank for once again choosing to stay with us at The Kensington Hotel. We are delighted that we continue to meet your high expectations and offer a memorable experience every time you visit.

We are all dedicated to offering a luxury service for every guest, so your praise of us, the team in Aubrey in particular, is greatly appreciated. Please accept our thanks from all of us here.

We very much look forward to your visit.

Kind Regards

Vincent
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,668 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,999
    512
    114
    30
    13
See reviews for
501
1,099
193
411
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (367)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

This was my second stay. On business this time. Great staff remembered my preference for room and arranged without asking. Nice to see the restaurant staff recognising and welcoming. Closer to tube station and not far fron central london its a great place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank samyu1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr-Vincent-OGorman, General Manager at The Kensington, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear samyu1981,
Thank you for continuing to choose to stay with us at The Kensington Hotel. Your loyalty means a great deal to us. We strive to make every guest feel welcomed and at home whilst our guest. Your wonderful review lets us know we are achieving our aims.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Kind regards,

Vincent
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arlington
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

Had two superior rooms for a week. Wonderfully welcoming staff, nice concierge. The rooms are small, but not necessarily small for London. Not a great deal of storage.
Room noise was OK. I think I'd request a room away from the elevator, as hall-walking was fairly creaky-sounding. On the 4th floor, little exterior noise to speak of, even though we were on the street side.
I loved the area. Tube stop 400 yards away, seemed like a quite safe walk. We had dinner near the hotel (french, italian, and gastropub), and were very happy.
I didn't use the restaurant, bar, or gym, but my wife was happy with the bar (but expensive).
The sitting room was large, had a fire and multiple newspapers, and comfy chairs and couches.

Room Tip: High, back side, away from elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikemeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr-Vincent-OGorman, General Manager at The Kensington, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear mikemeg,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and share your experience of us here at The Kensington Hotel. We were delighted to read you and your family enjoyed your time in London. Our entire team work tremendously hard to enhance you time in London so your praise means a great deal to us.

It is a pleasure to know that our location in South Kensington, so close to Museum row, transport links and so many wonderful eateries was such a highlight during your stay.
We hope to welcome you back as our guest on your return to London.

Kind regards,

Vincent
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

One of the best experience .. Stayed there on a special day.. The staff's made it more memorable & one of the best experience .. Awesome location, excellent service... Afternoon tea was highly commendable ...highly recommended..

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 860michaelc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr-Vincent-OGorman, General Manager at The Kensington, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear 860michaelc,
Thank you for choosing the Kensington Hotel to celebrate your special day. We were thrilled to be a part of your experience.
We believe that every detail, from the décor in our lounge to the 300 thread count linen on your beds, to a team that truly cares for your comfort to everything in between goes towards creating a truly memorable experience for you, our guest, so it was a pleasure to read you enjoyed and appreciated our efforts.

We hope that you will think of us again on your next visit to London.

Kind regards,

Vincent
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bingley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

pros : location -close to south kensington subway st , walking distance to museums, harrods
quiet
cheap compared to other 5*
lovely reception /dining area
very attentive staff

cons : superior room(4th floor) room 414 very very small with an almost useless wardrobe (again very small) unless we paid for superior and got standard

wine stained carpet , not a good look for a 5* wanna be hotel
tried some sandwiches of the lounge menu , just average

Room Tip: be careful what you are offered
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Spectacles007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

Our second stay in 4 months - we love this hotel. Rooms are clean spacious and child friendly. Breakfast is beautiful and very filling. Food in general is of high standard and children are well looked after. Bar is beautiful I had a personalised cocktail made by the barman and on both occasions we spent a lot of time here. Staff are all brilliant Mischa had another fan stay with the Easter hunt being a treat for her. Looking to book another stay very soon. Thank you for another pleasant stay! Maisuria family

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BChohan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr-Vincent-OGorman, General Manager at The Kensington, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Dear BChohan,

Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback following your most recent stay with us. All of the team here at the Kensington take great pride in delivering the service that we are famous for,It is just so encouraging to hear such positive comments.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back again soon for another memorable stay.

Kind Regards,

Vincent O'Gorman.
General Manger.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

Overall, the hotel was very good and a decent value for London. The atmosphere at the hotel was a very nice one in the common areas, especially in the evenings around the fireplace :-)

Stayed in a superior room which was on the smallish side but clean and generally well-equipped. The only thing missing really that I needed was an iron / board, which could have been provided at a hotel of this standard.

Breakfast and room service were a little on the pricier side and not worth it - much better options on Old Brompton road. Staff were friendly and welcoming (although there was no doorman when I arrived). South Ken / Gloucester road tubes are within a 5 - 10 minute walk. Would stay here again for a similar price...

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Quiet_Traveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr-Vincent-OGorman, General Manager at The Kensington, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Dear Quiet_Traveller1,

Thank you for taking the time to Review our Hotel following your recent stay.

I appreciate these things take time and wanted to express my gratitude for your feedback as is both valued and useful.

It was a pleasure to look after you and I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Kensington Hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Vincent O'Gorman.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
The Ampersand Hotel
The Ampersand Hotel
#43 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,075 reviews
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#61 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,576 reviews
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
Crowne Plaza London Kensington
South Kensington
The Bailey's Hotel London
The Bailey's Hotel London
#131 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#12 of 1,088 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kensington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kensington

Property: The Kensington
Address: 109 - 113 Queen's Gate, London SW7 5LP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in London
#33 Family Hotel in London
#35 Luxury Hotel in London
#50 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Kensington 5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located in leafy South Kensington and just moments from Knightsbridge, Hyde Park and Sloane Square, The Kensington offers 150 unique and stylish guestrooms and suites. London's largest townhouse suite (approx 2,000 sq ft), roll top baths and four-poster beds are truly befitting of this Regency quarter. The Town House bar & restaurant and a magnificent lounge area comprised of period drawing rooms offer a traditional but contemporary setting for afternoon tea, lunch or evening dinners. Our guestrooms are individually decorated in an elegant townhouse style, using sumptuous fabrics, deep upholstery and an eclectic mix of contemporary art and furnishings. The atmosphere is relaxed throughout, with the engaging and innovative service creating the ambiance of a smart private members club. All rooms include flat screen TVs, air conditioning, luxurious Aromatherapy Associates bathroom products, Nespresso coffee machines and complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Doyle Collection, Booking.com, TravelUp, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Kensington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kensington Hotel London
The Kensington London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing