We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A delightful visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Kensington

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Kensington
Ranked #35 of 1,090 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Rickmansworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A delightful visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

From the time we arrived at the front door, the staff were so welcoming; check-in was a pleasure, and we had a lovely modern room with all the amenities. It is clear that the highest standards are are in play, and there are nice public rooms to relax and read the papers. We are looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andyr918
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr-Vincent-OGorman, General Manager at The Kensington, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear Andyr918,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It was such a pleasure to read that you were so impressed with our team. We continuously strive to create a truly memorable experience for you, our guest. Your comments let us know we are succeeding, so from all of us thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with the travelling community.

We look forward to your next visit.

Kind regards,

Vincent
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,670 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,001
    513
    113
    30
    13
See reviews for
499
1,100
194
411
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (367)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amersfoort, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
71 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013 via mobile

Love this place, stayed here recently on a business trip, but was also connecting with some friends in tee city. Its perfect for both. You are greeted with the wonderful aroma of expensive scented candles in both this Doyle property and their sister Hotel The Marleybone (5 star) the smell is distinctive. The architecture here at the kensington is stunning, its such a wonderful building. Hand in hand with that is smaller rooms and hallways then the Marleybone which was originally a 60's or 70's build i imagine where the rooms are larger.But you get a lot of character with the Kensington. The room i was in was not small by any london standard, perfectly formed as they say.

The lovely James greeted us as we strolled through the lobby, so friendly yet professional, he made sure to take care of us during our whole trip, another memorable member of staff was the multitalented Jimmy, the concierge and bar man and door man; he is a super character. Nothing was a problem for any of the staff. Its these 5 star touches from these members of staff that make The Kensington so special. You feel like you are in a 5 star hotel , even though its a 4 star. The Doyle experience and attention to customers needs in their hotels is very noticeable compared to other hotels.

After a crazy day or night in London city it is a pleasure to come back to such an atmospheric and peaceful oasis, having said that we spent one night in their bar with friends and it was buzzy and very enjoyable.

This is a perfect location though, so many great places around here to enjoy. This does not feel like just another hotel, its interior designed perfectly, the rooms are refurbished with all amenities but its done in a tasteful and warm way that you feel immediately settled in, in understated luxury. Class.

Needless to say I will be back!                 

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank scenarios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr-Vincent-OGorman, General Manager at The Kensington, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear scenarios,

Thank you for choosing The Kensington Hotel for your trip to London. We were delighted to welcome you as our guest.

We strive to create a welcoming haven for any traveller; whether you are here for business or leisure we hope you have a memorable experience. We believe that every detail, from the décor in our lounge to the 300 thread count linen on your beds, to a team that truly cares for your comfort to everything in between goes towards making this a reality. It was a pleasure to read you enjoyed and appreciated our efforts. Our design in particular so appreciated your kind words; they continuously work on keeping everything the optimum of luxury and comfort.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

Vincent
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

The Kensington Hotel has opulent style and excellent service. All of the staff are extremely courteous and over a multiple night stay I felt very at home and welcome. The décor is beautiful with lots of reference to fashion and the quality of the food is excellent.
An overall 10/10 in a fabulous part of town.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ts4747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr-Vincent-OGorman, General Manager at The Kensington, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear ts4747,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent visit. We were thrilled to welcome you as our guest. I have passed on your wonderful review to our team to enjoy. We are all dedicated to ensuring your time with us is truly memorable so it was a pleasure to read that you felt we scored a “10 out of 10” for you.

From everyone here at The Kensington Hotel, we eagerly anticipate your return on your next visit.

Kind Regards,

Vincent
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tahoe City, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

The Kensington Hotel is the perfect mix of style, comfort, and service. This is a boutique hotel and just the right size. The elevators, public spaces, and rooms are easily accessible and do not require a substantial amount of walking to get from one point to another-imprtant when traveling with older and younger folks.The public lounges are well appointed, comfortable, and perfect for reading the morning papers, afternoon tea and evening cocktails. Unlike large luxury hotels, the Kensington is on the small side with a staff that wants to know you. It is a well trained and efficient staff. Whether James or Alladin serving cocktails, Otabek swiftly transferring bags or hailing a cab, we never encountered a staff member who did not provide top notch service and always with a smile and courtesy. Afternoon tea, cocktails, and meals are of the highest quality.
The studio suites are well appointed and comfortable. The bathrooms are modern, roomy, and well appointed with walk in showers, separate tubs, and double sinks.
This was an eleven day family holiday and we could not have made a better hotel choice. Subsequent to our departure we arrived Heathrow to find our flight had been cancelled. I telephoned the hotel and remarkably was told to return, our former rooms would again be made available, and the rates unchanged. The front desk could not have been more accommodating. All in all we were very comfortable and well treated. There is no reason to search for an alternative hotel in London.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking Old Brompton Road or Queen's Gate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank john_m33155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr-Vincent-OGorman, General Manager at The Kensington, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear john_m33155,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a wonderful review about your recent stay at The Kensington Hotel. Our team is continuously striving towards excellence and so it was truly a pleasure to read your feedback.

We believe that every detail, big or small go together to make an experience memorable. From the décor in our lounge to the quality of bacon at breakfast, to a team that is well trained and truly cares for your comfort to everything in between. So your kind words are very much appreciated.

We were all so pleased that you enjoyed your suite. Our design team, in particular, were thrilled to hear that you thought so highly of the décor. We are converted Town Houses and they are continuously working to create a luxurious yet welcoming space whilst respecting the amazing design features from that era.

Lastly thank you for choosing The Kensington Hotel for your visit to London. We were thrilled to welcome you and your family as our guests, even more so to have you with us for a few extra days.

Kind regards,

Vincent
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

This is a terrific small luxury hotel in one of the best locations in London. The rooms are lovely, the food, especially the breakfast is delicious, the cocktails are outstanding but the thing that stands out is the personalised and attentive service. Stay here for business or pleasure, you will be very well looked after.

I stayed in a deluxe room, which was well appointed with very comfortable bed and beautiful soft linnen. The cocierge showed me the family room in response to a request from me as my family might be joining me for my next trip; these are spacious and again well appointed.

The location, close to South Kensington tube station (which is on 3 lines so close to everything and can be accessed directly from Heathrow on the Piccadilly line), walking distance to Kings Road and great museums and in a very classy part of London.

The price also for the quality of service was very competitive.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eli G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr-Vincent-OGorman, General Manager at The Kensington, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear Eli G,
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. Your kind words mean so much to us.

We believe that a memorable experience starts with a team that is dedicated to doing all we can to enhance your time with us. We were delighted to read that this ethos has led us to meet your high expectations and that you felt so at home whilst with us.
Our design team enjoyed your kind words regarding the décor; they work tremendously hard to ensure everything has a sense of welcoming luxury. They send their thanks.
We were so pleased to read that you felt we had such a good location, that our close proximity to public transport links, Museum was such a benefit for you.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to the capital.

Kind regards,

Vincent
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
Level Contributor
108 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

This hotel is just perfect: stylish, attentive staff, great service, good food, nicely decorated rooms and the best cocktails in London!
Just one thing, the standard rooms are really small, not suitable for two guests, especially the bathroom is ... well ... miniscule. Walking in and out of it requires an olympic medal in gymnastics.
But as the hotel is a member of the GHA, only ten nights per calendar year get you free upgrades already, forever removing you out of standard room territory.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on the back of the hotel, especially the south wing, large airconditioning units on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank H D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr-Vincent-OGorman, General Manager at The Kensington, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear H D,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at The Kensington Hotel, we were thrilled to welcome you as our guest.

We were delighted by your kind words regarding our team. We are dedicated to delivering a discreet yet personal service which represents excellent value at all times, your comments serve as a real motivator and confirmation that we are reaching our aims.
In regards to your comments about our Standard rooms, we strive to offer every guest an experience of the highest standard, which we are glad you experienced; our Standard Rooms offer the perfect retreat for the single traveller. Should you be travelling again the higher category rooms afford you the extra luxury of more space.

We are glad to know you are enjoying your GHA membership, we hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

Vincent
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

Great hotel, perfect location for London museums and Royal Albert Hall, short walking distance, local shops , delis & cafes just around the corner in South Kensington.
Rooms are beautifully decorated and smell divine, Lavendar scented toiletries, and nice comfy bed very relaxing.
We were made to feel most welcome and special by all the staff. Would definately recommend this hotel and stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheila W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr-Vincent-OGorman, General Manager at The Kensington, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Sheila W,

Thank you for your review; we appreciate you taking the time to share your experience if us here at The Kensington Hotel with the online travelling community. It is an honour that you think so highly of us that you would recommend us to others. We were so pleased to know that our location, with our close proximity to so many wonderful restaurants was such a benefit for you.
It was such a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your room. Our design team, in particular, were thrilled to hear that you thought so highly of the décor. We are converted Town Houses and they are continuously working to create a luxurious yet welcoming space whilst respecting the amazing design features from that era.
Our team is passionate about delivering a first class service and offering you, our guest, a truly memorable experience, so from all of here thank you for your kind words. They mean so much to us.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards,

Vincent
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
The Ampersand Hotel
The Ampersand Hotel
#43 of 1,090 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,078 reviews
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#61 of 1,090 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,578 reviews
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
Crowne Plaza London Kensington
South Kensington
The Bailey's Hotel London
The Bailey's Hotel London
#130 of 1,090 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#12 of 1,090 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,052 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kensington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kensington

Property: The Kensington
Address: 109 - 113 Queen's Gate, London SW7 5LP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in London
#33 Family Hotel in London
#35 Luxury Hotel in London
#50 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Kensington 5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located in leafy South Kensington and just moments from Knightsbridge, Hyde Park and Sloane Square, The Kensington offers 150 unique and stylish guestrooms and suites. London's largest townhouse suite (approx 2,000 sq ft), roll top baths and four-poster beds are truly befitting of this Regency quarter. The Town House bar & restaurant and a magnificent lounge area comprised of period drawing rooms offer a traditional but contemporary setting for afternoon tea, lunch or evening dinners. Our guestrooms are individually decorated in an elegant townhouse style, using sumptuous fabrics, deep upholstery and an eclectic mix of contemporary art and furnishings. The atmosphere is relaxed throughout, with the engaging and innovative service creating the ambiance of a smart private members club. All rooms include flat screen TVs, air conditioning, luxurious Aromatherapy Associates bathroom products, Nespresso coffee machines and complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TravelUp, Booking.com, Doyle Collection, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Kensington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kensington Hotel London
The Kensington London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing