We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent 5 Star Hotel”
Review of The Kensington

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Kensington
Ranked #34 of 1,064 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent 5 Star Hotel”
Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

Arrived on business and stayed just one night, checkin was quick and efficient with friendly staff. I was escorted to my room by a pleasant gentleman called Ross who was very polite indeed. The room was comfortable and had all the extra's i needed for my stay, I-Pod docking station was get addition to fast charge your phone. I had a few meeting planned in the hotel which took place in the lounge area, with the back drop with am amazing open fire where else would you rather spend your afternoon having meeting? well in style in the Kensington Hotel. Staff were all great and anticipated each and every one of my needs, well priced and you do get what you pay for.

Tips:
Very close to south ken tube station
Very close to Harrods
Hyde Park on your door step
Accessible by car

I have already planned my next visit into the city and cant wait to bring my wife to this perfect location in London.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jbenlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr-Vincent-OGorman, General Manager at The Kensington, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Jbenlondon,

Thank you for writing such a wonderful review. We were delighted to read that you so enjoyed your time with us.
Here at the hotel we are glad that you enjoyed the little details, such as the Ihome docking station and complimentary WIFI in the building, that we try to add to enhance you stay. We believe it is the details that make an experience truly memorable.

We hope to see you on your next visit to London.


Kind Regards,

Vincent
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,702 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,022
    524
    113
    30
    13
See reviews for
506
1,119
195
413
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (367)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Paignton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Visited this hotel for 1 night after seeing Madonna at Hyde park London. The hotel was just a few tube stops away so was great to get back to.Room was nice and clean had no trouble with it or the size . Booked directly through the hotels own web page as came out cheaper than comparison sites. Man on reception was very nice.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MFLB68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr-Vincent-OGorman, General Manager at The Kensington, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear MFLB68,

Thank you for choosing The Kensington Hotel. We were delighted to welcome you as our guest. We were so pleased to know that our proximity to Hyde Park prompted you to choose to stay with us.
We believe that a memorable experience starts with a team that is dedicated to doing all we can to enhance your time with us. We were delighted to read that this ethos has led us to meet your high expectations.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards,

Vincent
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Nice boutique-sized hotel in South Kensington. Rooms are nicely furnished (modern, not stuffy), with comfortable beds and attractive, modern marble bathrooms. They are a bit small (and can get a bit warm in the winter). The free wi-fi in the rooms works well.

Staff are pleasant and welcoming and the lobby lounge area features gas fireplaces and a comfortable atmosphere for chatting with friends.

The location is great for exploring the west end or really any part of London with South Kensington tube station having the Piccadilly, Circle, and District lines, which makes many locations a single seat ride away. Also, Brompton Road (around the corner) has a number of nice restaurants (at a wide array of price levels) which makes eating easy.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank The_illadelph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr-Vincent-OGorman, General Manager at The Kensington, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear The_illadelph,

We were so pleased to know that our location, with our close proximity to public transport links, Museum Row and so many wonderful restaurants prompted you to choose to stay with us at The Kensington Hotel. We were delighted to welcome you as our guest.
Our design team were thrilled to hear that you thought so highly of the décor. We are converted Town Houses and they are continuously working to create a luxurious yet welcoming space within that wonderful era. While all our rooms are beautifully appointed our Deluxe rooms offer a larger, sumptuous space. Or should you wish for true indulgence our Suites are the ultimate in boutique hotel luxury. Our reservations team would love discuss our different options for your next visit.
Our team is passionate about delivering a first class service and offering you, our guest, a truly memorable experience, so from all of here thank you for your kind words. They mean so much.
Thank you for your review; we appreciate you taking the time to share your experience if us here at The Kensington Hotel with the online travelling community.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards,

Vincent
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
496 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Spent 3 nights here recently. Excellent hotel, good location near South Kensington tube station, museums, and Hyde Park. Rooms are quite small, but this is London, and very well furnished. I enjoyed the snacks in the room each night. Staff were friendly. I would also recommend the cocktail bar and the restaurant

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KiwiTraveller43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr-Vincent-OGorman, General Manager at The Kensington, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear KiwiTraveller43,

Thank you for your review; we appreciate you taking the time to share your experience if us here at The Kensington Hotel with the online travelling community. It was a pleasure to read that our location, with our close proximity to Museum Row and public transport links with convenient access to the rest of London prompted you to choose to stay with us.
We offer a variety of room categories from Standard to Luxury Suites, we would be delighted to welcome you back on your next trip to London and perhaps you would like to opt for one of our different category room which would afford you a larger more sumptuous space.
We hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards,

Vincent
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, New Jersey
Level Contributor
26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

I stayed there for 7 nights. Remarkably low prices despite the great location.
Corner of Queens Gate and Old Brompton Road.
Easy walk to South Kensington tube stop. Plenty of restaurants, post office, pub, bakery, Mailboxes Etc, FedEx, on Old Brompton Road.
All facilities in the hotel were excellent. Nice gym, bar, restaurant, beautiful sitting areas with fireplaces on the main floor. Excellent breakfast, buffet for 16 pounds, and buffet plus hot entree (such as omlete, pancakes, waffles, etc.) for 21 pounds.
Friendly helpful staff.
I can't say enough about what a great place this was to stay. Walk to V&A, Science Museum, Kensington Palace. You can walk to Harrods too, but it's a little far, so just take the tube one stop to Harrods.
Free WiFi throughout, but WiFi in the room usually didn't work. Good WiFi in the lobby, bar, and restaurant, and there are 2 computers with printers you can use on the main floor 'business center'.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ReadHere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr-Vincent-OGorman, General Manager at The Kensington, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear ReadHere,

It was such a pleasure to read that our location in South Kensington, a short walk from many the amazing exhibits on Museum Row, the delicious dining at so many eateries on Old Brompton Road, the finest shops in London and so was so many other attractions was so perfect for you. The convenient transport links gives you London on your doorstep without the rush of being more touristy areas.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We were very glad to know that you had “the perfect stay”. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards,

Vincent
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Had a family break in London and stayed over at the Hotel. Staff and service were excellent. Genuine warmth and care from throughout the people you interact with. The studio room had beautiful deco and very spacious. Enjoyed the cocktails. Good value for money.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mon987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr-Vincent-OGorman, General Manager at The Kensington, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear Mon987,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a lovely review about your recent stay with your family at The Kensington Hotel. We are continuously striving towards excellence and so it was truly a pleasure to read your feedback.
We believe that a memorable experience starts with a team that is dedicated to doing all we can to enhance your time with us. We were delighted to read that this ethos has led us to meet your high expectations.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards,

Vincent
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Stayed for one night at the Kensington hotel, truly a great hotel, staff here really make the difference here, service seems seems simple here with a warm, genuine touch, well done to them. Would recommend this hotel to anyone

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geb945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr-Vincent-OGorman, General Manager at The Kensington, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear geb945,

Firstly we would like to thank you for choosing The Kensington Hotel. We are thrilled to welcome you as our guest.
Our team truly care that your experience of us is memorable and we do all that we can to enhance your time in London. Every detail from a welcoming smile after a hard day to an extensive knowledge of London and its attractions counts. We want to be sure your time with us is a memory you will cherish.
We are honoured that you enjoyed your time with us so much so that you would recommend us to others in the online travelling community. Thank you from all of us here.

We look forward to your next visit.

Kind Regards,

Vincent
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
The Ampersand Hotel
The Ampersand Hotel
#47 of 1,064 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,117 reviews
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#58 of 1,064 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,619 reviews
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
Crowne Plaza London Kensington
South Kensington
The Bailey's Hotel London
The Bailey's Hotel London
#130 of 1,064 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#14 of 1,064 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,093 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kensington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kensington

Property: The Kensington
Address: 109 - 113 Queen's Gate, London SW7 5LP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in London
#33 Family Hotel in London
#34 Luxury Hotel in London
#50 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Kensington 5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located in leafy South Kensington and just moments from Knightsbridge, Hyde Park and Sloane Square, The Kensington offers 150 unique and stylish guestrooms and suites. London's largest townhouse suite (approx 2,000 sq ft), roll top baths and four-poster beds are truly befitting of this Regency quarter. The Town House bar & restaurant and a magnificent lounge area comprised of period drawing rooms offer a traditional but contemporary setting for afternoon tea, lunch or evening dinners. Our guestrooms are individually decorated in an elegant townhouse style, using sumptuous fabrics, deep upholstery and an eclectic mix of contemporary art and furnishings. The atmosphere is relaxed throughout, with the engaging and innovative service creating the ambiance of a smart private members club. All rooms include flat screen TVs, air conditioning, luxurious Aromatherapy Associates bathroom products, Nespresso coffee machines and complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Doyle Collection, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TravelUp, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your The Kensington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kensington Hotel London
The Kensington London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing