We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Kensington
Nearby Hotels
$417
$314
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Rosewood London(London)
$607
$454
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$256
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$224
$187
Doubletree
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$172
$167
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$309
$239
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$143
$101
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$221
$214
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$217
$202
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$288
$279
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (3,182)
Filter reviews
3,182 results
Traveler rating
2,435
577
124
30
16
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,435
577
124
30
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsafternoon teaold brompton roadqueens gatebeautiful hotelthe natural history museumvictoria and albert museumturn down servicenespresso machinesuperior roomlounge areathe location is perfecttube stationrooms are smallconciergeharrodstownhouseturndown
Filter
Updating list...
2,527 - 2,532 of 3,182 reviews
Reviewed October 29, 2012

This was our first time in London and our expectations were exceeded at the Kensington. From the greeting of the bellmen to the atmosphere in the bar; the Kensington is definitely somewhere you want to stay. Easy walking distance to the tube and close to London proper, we found it a convenient location. The rooms were sized well with many amenities. Having just came from Geneva (what a dump) our time in London was accentuated by the comfort, location and ambiance of the Kensington.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheKensingtonHotel, General Manager at The Kensington, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

Dear Daniel H,
Thank you for choosing The Kensington Hotel, we were thrilled to welcome you as our guest during your visit to this side of the pond. It was a pleasure to read that you thought so highly of our team here and that our location in South Kensington was so convenient for you.
Lastly thank you for you taking the time and sharing your experience of us here at The Kensington Hotel with the travelling community. We appreciate you taking the time.
We very much hope that on your next visit to London you will think of us again.

Kind Regards,

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012 via mobile

I had a great stay, and here are some Inthe little things that made a small but sure impact on my stay
The way when they clean your room they leave chocolate Rs and tomorrow's weather forecast
The way they had decorated it with ppl ions for halloween
The extra corteas staff
And. Many other things
Great job Kensington hotel!!!¡¡¡

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michelle p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheKensingtonHotel, General Manager at The Kensington, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

Dear Lucieispresident,

Firstly allow me to extend our gratitude for you taking the time and sharing your experience of us here at The Kensington Hotel with the travelling community. We believe that the details, both big and small, are what make your stay memorable. It was a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your time with us. Your wonderful review has been passed on we really appreciate them.

We hope to welcome you back to soon.

Kind Regards,

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

Great two nights at the hotel. Staff are very friendly and hotel is very clean. Great location, less than 5 mins walk from South Kensington tube station.
I booked a Queen room which I thought meant the bed was bigger than a king but it was actually 1.5 double.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FayeandRodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheKensingtonHotel, General Manager at The Kensington, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

Dear FayeandRodge,
Thank you for choosing The Kensington Hotel. It was truly our pleasure to welcome you as our guest. Your kind words regarding our location on Queen’s Gate and our team here will be passed on. They are greatly appreciated.

Lastly we would like to extend our gratitude for you taking the time and sharing your experience of us with the travelling community.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards,

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Stayed at the hotel with my wife in the month of September'2012. Booked online and got a standard room, but when we got there we found that the standard rooms were in some new wing (attached ) , and thye were tiny. Hence opted to change it to The Queens Gate room. wonderful rooms, big in size, and ample bathroom.
The location was ideal for first timers like us, as it was minutes from south ken underground, and also very close to glouscter Tube station. Also walkable were the museum of national history, hyde park, V&A and Harrods was also not far.
All in all a great choice.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dresswalla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheKensingtonHotel, General Manager at The Kensington, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

Dear dresswalla,
Thank you for choosing The Kensington Hotel for your visit to London. We were thrilled to welcome you as our guest. We were glad to read that you enjoyed our location on Queen’s Gate, so close to Museum Row and public transport links.
We were disappointed, however, that you were not entirely happy with your 1st room allocation. Standard Rooms offer the perfect retreat for the single traveller however for two we would recommend a different room category. Should you be returning please do not hesitate to contact a member of our reservations team and they would be delighted to discuss room types.

Lastly thank you for taking the time to share your experience of us with the travelling community.

We hope to welcome you back on your next visit to the capital.

Kind Regards,

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Two nights weekend (Sat-Mon) here, a very pleasant and quite posh hotel, convenient for South Ken tube (5 mins).
Room was described as 'superior' but it was quite small. I don't know what the standard room would be like. Shower only, and would have preferred movable shower head instead of fixed. TV had plenty of channels, inc. Sky Sports, a bit jumpy on some (e.g. BBC1)
But those minor criticisms are nit-picking really, and on the whole we were delighted with our stay.
We got a good deal via Sunday Times offer, and for that price (just over GBP 100 per night) it was superb value.
Excellent standards throughout, lovely decor, rooms and public areas attractively done out. Helpful and pleasant staff. Breakfast was fine, GBP 20pp for hot choices, but we received a 20pc discount on this and on drinks in the bar.
Would gladly choose this hotel again or recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jackdog85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheKensingtonHotel, General Manager at The Kensington, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

Dear Jackdog85,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and share your experience of us here at The Kensington Hotel. It is only with our guest’s feedback that we can continue to grow. We were delighted to read that overall you enjoyed your stay.

Thank you for bringing to our attention your issue with the television. I have highlighted it with our maintenance team to be investigated. We were disappointed to read you were not entirely happy with your room allocation, should you be returning please do not hesitate to contact us at the hotel and we would be delighted to discuss your room needs.
We very much hope that you will think of us again on your next trip to the capital.

Kind Regards,

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews