We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An American in London”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Kensington

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Kensington
Ranked #35 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An American in London”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

This was our first time in London and our expectations were exceeded at the Kensington. From the greeting of the bellmen to the atmosphere in the bar; the Kensington is definitely somewhere you want to stay. Easy walking distance to the tube and close to London proper, we found it a convenient location. The rooms were sized well with many amenities. Having just came from Geneva (what a dump) our time in London was accentuated by the comfort, location and ambiance of the Kensington.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheKensingtonHotel, General Manager at The Kensington, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Daniel H,
Thank you for choosing The Kensington Hotel, we were thrilled to welcome you as our guest during your visit to this side of the pond. It was a pleasure to read that you thought so highly of our team here and that our location in South Kensington was so convenient for you.
Lastly thank you for you taking the time and sharing your experience of us here at The Kensington Hotel with the travelling community. We appreciate you taking the time.
We very much hope that on your next visit to London you will think of us again.

Kind Regards,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,668 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,999
    512
    114
    30
    13
See reviews for
501
1,099
193
411
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (367)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012 via mobile

I had a great stay, and here are some Inthe little things that made a small but sure impact on my stay
The way when they clean your room they leave chocolate Rs and tomorrow's weather forecast
The way they had decorated it with ppl ions for halloween
The extra corteas staff
And. Many other things
Great job Kensington hotel!!!¡¡¡

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michelle p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheKensingtonHotel, General Manager at The Kensington, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Lucieispresident,

Firstly allow me to extend our gratitude for you taking the time and sharing your experience of us here at The Kensington Hotel with the travelling community. We believe that the details, both big and small, are what make your stay memorable. It was a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your time with us. Your wonderful review has been passed on we really appreciate them.

We hope to welcome you back to soon.

Kind Regards,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, UK
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

Great two nights at the hotel. Staff are very friendly and hotel is very clean. Great location, less than 5 mins walk from South Kensington tube station.
I booked a Queen room which I thought meant the bed was bigger than a king but it was actually 1.5 double.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FayeandRodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheKensingtonHotel, General Manager at The Kensington, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear FayeandRodge,
Thank you for choosing The Kensington Hotel. It was truly our pleasure to welcome you as our guest. Your kind words regarding our location on Queen’s Gate and our team here will be passed on. They are greatly appreciated.

Lastly we would like to extend our gratitude for you taking the time and sharing your experience of us with the travelling community.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

Stayed at the hotel with my wife in the month of September'2012. Booked online and got a standard room, but when we got there we found that the standard rooms were in some new wing (attached ) , and thye were tiny. Hence opted to change it to The Queens Gate room. wonderful rooms, big in size, and ample bathroom.
The location was ideal for first timers like us, as it was minutes from south ken underground, and also very close to glouscter Tube station. Also walkable were the museum of national history, hyde park, V&A and Harrods was also not far.
All in all a great choice.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dresswalla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheKensingtonHotel, General Manager at The Kensington, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear dresswalla,
Thank you for choosing The Kensington Hotel for your visit to London. We were thrilled to welcome you as our guest. We were glad to read that you enjoyed our location on Queen’s Gate, so close to Museum Row and public transport links.
We were disappointed, however, that you were not entirely happy with your 1st room allocation. Standard Rooms offer the perfect retreat for the single traveller however for two we would recommend a different room category. Should you be returning please do not hesitate to contact a member of our reservations team and they would be delighted to discuss room types.

Lastly thank you for taking the time to share your experience of us with the travelling community.

We hope to welcome you back on your next visit to the capital.

Kind Regards,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

Two nights weekend (Sat-Mon) here, a very pleasant and quite posh hotel, convenient for South Ken tube (5 mins).
Room was described as 'superior' but it was quite small. I don't know what the standard room would be like. Shower only, and would have preferred movable shower head instead of fixed. TV had plenty of channels, inc. Sky Sports, a bit jumpy on some (e.g. BBC1)
But those minor criticisms are nit-picking really, and on the whole we were delighted with our stay.
We got a good deal via Sunday Times offer, and for that price (just over GBP 100 per night) it was superb value.
Excellent standards throughout, lovely decor, rooms and public areas attractively done out. Helpful and pleasant staff. Breakfast was fine, GBP 20pp for hot choices, but we received a 20pc discount on this and on drinks in the bar.
Would gladly choose this hotel again or recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackdog85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheKensingtonHotel, General Manager at The Kensington, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Jackdog85,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and share your experience of us here at The Kensington Hotel. It is only with our guest’s feedback that we can continue to grow. We were delighted to read that overall you enjoyed your stay.

Thank you for bringing to our attention your issue with the television. I have highlighted it with our maintenance team to be investigated. We were disappointed to read you were not entirely happy with your room allocation, should you be returning please do not hesitate to contact us at the hotel and we would be delighted to discuss your room needs.
We very much hope that you will think of us again on your next trip to the capital.

Kind Regards,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

We spent a very-long weekend and treated ourselves to the Kensington Hotel. Extremely happy about our choice!
As family with two kids, our room was a double+single (+cot). Most probably it is also suited for guests with special mobility needs.
The room was very spacious (allowing the kids to stretch themselves!), excellent beds, comfortable bathroom. (reading the hotel map we could noticed that not all the rooms are so big). Excellently maintained. Very clean and very well serviced.
Pleasant view on the neighbourhood roofs (and far away some London’s skyscrapers).
Appreciated the service by many representatives of the staff (door, reception, concierge, room…).
The hotel is excellently located in a quiet road, just some 300 meters from South Kensington underground station (and Gloucester road station is not far away). Shops and restaurants in the neighbourhood.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave_Milan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheKensingtonHotel, General Manager at The Kensington, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Dear Dave_Milan,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and share your experience of us with the travelling community. We greatly appreciate your wonderful words, regarding our team in particular. We work very hard to ensure your time with us is memorable so we were delighted to read you and your family enjoyed your time with us.

Lastly we thank you choosing to stay with us at The Kensington Hotel, we hope to welcome you back on your next visit to the capital.

Kind Regards,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

We just spent the weekend in London and I haven´t stayed in this area before, it was lovely, very cosmopolitan with loads of lovely restaurants and wine bars. The Hotel was very nice and the staff very friendly. We ate in the Aubrey Restaurant with our family which was very good value and beautiful food. I would definatly recommend it. It´s very close to South Kensington underground and one stop from Knightsbridge for Harrods and all the shops and very close to the theatres. The Hotel room was nice and clean but nothing special,the only criticism that I would have is that we left the hotel at 9 am the first day as we were on business and arrived back at 3.45pm to have a rest and found our room hadnt been made up. I wouldnt call it superior as advertised, very small and the view was also very bad as we overlooked all the aircon units in the centre of the hotel, Infact we left the curtains closed the whole time. However the down stairs lounge and eating areas are really nice and you feel like you are in a five star hotel and I would go back as we like the location and the staff and probably up grade to a nicer room next time.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheKensingtonHotel, General Manager at The Kensington, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Dear Caroline B,

Thank you for choosing The Kensington Hotel, a member of The Doyle Collection, for your visit to London. We were delighted to welcome you as our guest. We were so happy that our location, so close to public transport links, a short walk from Knightsbridge and all the wonderful shops and Theatres was such an asset to you.

We were disappointed that you were dissatisfied with your room allocation on this occasion. On your next visit please do not hesitate to contact a member of our team here and we would be delighted to discuss your room needs.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
The Ampersand Hotel
The Ampersand Hotel
#43 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,074 reviews
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#61 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,576 reviews
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
Crowne Plaza London Kensington
South Kensington
The Bailey's Hotel London
The Bailey's Hotel London
#131 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#12 of 1,088 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kensington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kensington

Property: The Kensington
Address: 109 - 113 Queen's Gate, London SW7 5LP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in London
#33 Family Hotel in London
#35 Luxury Hotel in London
#50 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Kensington 5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located in leafy South Kensington and just moments from Knightsbridge, Hyde Park and Sloane Square, The Kensington offers 150 unique and stylish guestrooms and suites. London's largest townhouse suite (approx 2,000 sq ft), roll top baths and four-poster beds are truly befitting of this Regency quarter. The Town House bar & restaurant and a magnificent lounge area comprised of period drawing rooms offer a traditional but contemporary setting for afternoon tea, lunch or evening dinners. Our guestrooms are individually decorated in an elegant townhouse style, using sumptuous fabrics, deep upholstery and an eclectic mix of contemporary art and furnishings. The atmosphere is relaxed throughout, with the engaging and innovative service creating the ambiance of a smart private members club. All rooms include flat screen TVs, air conditioning, luxurious Aromatherapy Associates bathroom products, Nespresso coffee machines and complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Despegar.com, Booking.com, Doyle Collection, TravelUp, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Kensington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kensington Hotel London
The Kensington London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing