We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comrortable and considerate”
Review of The Kensington

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Kensington
Ranked #34 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 24, 2012

I arrived at the Kensington at 11pm after a plane trip from Sweden for a 3 night stay. As soon as I arrived my bag was taken by the courteous porter, Martin. Quiet and warm foyer, greeted by reception and requested a wake up call in morning as I was on a tour the next day. Room and bathroom clean, the bed was so comfortable , linen white and fresh. Problem-next morn, no wake up call, plus wasn't notified of the tour person coming to collect me. Reception called the tour company(premium) and a lovely tour man Len drove me to the tower of London so didn't miss the tour! Arrived back at hotel that afternoon spoke to Vanessa and Ansis (managers) who were aware of the morning scenario, apologised and indulged me in a complimentary dinner. This restored my enjoyment of this hotel. Next day another tour, received wake up call, great tour, back to a warm hotel, delicious food and a very large comfortable bed! All areas of staff are professional and courteous. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 770Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheKensingtonHotel, Front Office Manager at The Kensington, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2012

Dear 770Traveller,
Thank you so much for your nice feedback following your recent stay with us.Please accept my apologies for the missed wake up call and the tour guide issue, and please be assured that we spoke with the team and it will not happen again. Please feel free to contact me directly should you be coming to London again, I would be delighted to look after your booking for you.I am looking forward to welcoming you back at the Kensington Hotel in the near future.
Kind Regards
Chiara Vierchowod

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,893)
There are newer reviews for The Kensington
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,395 - 2,401 of 2,894 reviews

Reviewed January 23, 2012

Myself and my boyfriend stayed at the Kensington Hotel London at the weekend and we enjoyed it so much that we felt compelled to write a review on Trip Advisor. We arrived from Dublin earlier in the day and checked in at 11am to which we were told that our room was ready! we were delighted... we were also upgraded which was a great surprise for us and especially as it was my boyfriend's birthday.. we left our luggage up and went out and about and when we arrived back to our room we found a beautiful fruit plate with "happy birthday" written in chocolate on it. A lovely touch. The room itself was so clean, comfortable, spacious and quiet. The bathroom was gorgeous with major attention to detail. We only stayed for one night unfortunately as we were heading home the next day and we were sad to leave the hotel - very rare in my experience. The next day upon checking out we had a late flight so we could leave our luggage with the hotel for safe keeping and when we came to collect it the staff were so nice and said "welcome back" with lovely smiles - seriously we felt as though we were their only customers and they were very genuine. This hotel is in a fantastic location just a few minutes walk to the main museums and many beautiful cafes and restaurants surround it - if you are looking for a really lovely Indian restaurant we would recommend "Thali" which was recommended to us from the very helfpful concierge. From our weekend trip away we have promised to visit again in April. Really looking forward to it already.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MIchelle N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheKensingtonHotel, Front Office Manager at The Kensington, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2012

Dear Michelle N,
Thank you for your wonderful feedback about the Kensington Hotel!
I really appreciate your praise and I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us , more than happy to hear that you found our staff helpful and you also liked the décor of the hotel.
Please do not hesitate to contact me directly to assist in your next booking.
On behalf of the Management and Team Members of the Kensington Hotel I am looking forward to soon welcoming you back.
Kind regards
Chiara Vierchowod

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2012

Partner and myself needed a break to clear january blues, bit hassled after work had mislaid passport at airport dreadful traffic in Dublin... and we arrived. The front desk was an oasis of peace and courtesy, gave us heated travel towels whilst waiting to check in and on we go.

The hotel is beautiful, full of antique furtniture, wonderful paintings, beautiful library serving as the 'Aubrey' restaurant. The bar manager and staff were excellent knew their drinks but be careful of pushing the most expensive drinks on customers. Also disappointed as this hotel belongs to the Doyle Collection didn't see an Irish Whiskey in sight at bar !

Room was smallish but classic bed and furniture, bath and shower alittle high to access for older clients with mobility problems

Had evening food which was adequate and breakfast the following morning was very good.
What made our weekend was the personal attention of staff, nothing was too much for them, we were always greeted and made feel at home.

The hotel is central for tubes and buses and has a wide selection of cafes, pubs and restaurants on its doorstep. A must for the Weary Traveller looking for a 'Pick Me Up.'
We Will Be Back !!!

Room Tip: Corner Room might be a little bigger, not sure
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mikeyDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheKensingtonHotel, Front Office Manager at The Kensington, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2012

Dear MikeyDublin,
Thank you very much for your Kind review following your stay with us.
I am very happy that you enjoyed the service and décor of the Kensington Hotel ,be assure that I already passed your nice feedback to our Team Members.
I saw your comment about our Bar and I am very sorry you had that impression, but I can reassure you that it is not what we intended.
Should you have the opportunity to visit Aubrey Bar again, I am glad to inform you that we do have a selection of Irish and International Whiskeys.
Should you need a new room booking please do let me know, I will personally assist you and I will be able to allocate an easy access room as well.
I hope to welcome you back soon to the Kensington hotel
Kindest regards
Chiara Vierchowod

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2012

We enjoyed our 3 day stay while visiting the sights and sounds of London. Excellent facilities as would be expected. The service is second to none and it is within easy reach of attractions.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BigAlbert66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheKensingtonHotel, Front Office Manager at The Kensington, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2012

Dear BigAlbert66,
Thank you for reviewing your experience at the Kensington Hotel. I really appreciate your feedback , I know this takes time . I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and I am looking forward to your next visit. Should you be coming to London again please do not hesitate to contact me directly at chiara_vierchowod@doylecollection.com
Kind Regards
Chiara Vierchowod

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2012

I love this charming classic five star hotel. Perfect towels and bed linens, elegant relaxed perfectly appointed sitting areas, old world charm… When I arrived everything went wrong. I had no heat, my key cards would not work and the robe was missing its sash tie. I went to the desk three times and politely complained because nothing had yet happened. I am never disrespectful no matter how disappointed I might be. The most professional and courteous woman, Vanessa Kunze said” well that is enough of that” and they move me to a beautiful room. Problems occur but what matters is what is done about them. If the Doyle Collection people are as professional as their hotels look, the next property will be managed by Ms. Kunze. I will stay here every time I stay in London. Also the location is great from Heathrow. Simply jump on the Piccadilly Tube and get off at South Kensington. It is perfect for a romantic weekend in London. Of and go see War Horse! And eat dinner at the Harwood Arms. Perfect Gastro Pub food… You will never say English food isn’t world class food again…

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank WineGeek10001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheKensingtonHotel, Front Office Manager at The Kensington, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2012

Dear WineGeek10001,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review ! I know that these things take time and I wanted to express my gratitude as your feedback is both useful and valued .
I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and I more than happy to hear that you found our staff helpful and professional. Please be assured that I have already passed your amazing comments to Vanessa.
Should you be come to London again please feel free to contact me personally at Chiara_vierchowod@doylecollection.com to help you with your booking.
I am looking forward to welcoming you back to the Kensington Hotel.
Warm Regards
Chiara Vierchowod

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2012

I stay at The Kensington every time I need to stay in London and I love it. The staff are wonderful, friendly and helpful. The bar and lounge are beautiful and the rooms are smart and furnished beautifully. My only gripe is that the pillows are too hard for my liking. Classy, boutique and personal.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ServicemattersLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheKensingtonHotel, Front Office Manager at The Kensington, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2012

Dear ServicemattersLondon,
Thank you very much for your kind words. I am really happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and I have passed your feedback and nice comments to our team members.
Should you be coming to London again please do let me know , I will make sure that all your preferences are taken into consideration.
I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon at the Kensington Hotel.
Kind regards
Chiara Vierchowod

chiara_vierchowod@doylecollection.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2012

I spent two nights at the hotel in June 2010 and was most impressed. The staff were very friendly and efficient. I liked the nice touch of a chocolate delivered to my room each night.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank grj187439
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheKensingtonHotel, Front Office Manager at The Kensington, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2012

Dear grj187439,
Thank you for sharing your experience at the Kensington Hotel.
I really appreciate your feedback and I am delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Should you be coming to London again please feel free to contact me directly to assist in your next booking.
I am looking forward to welcoming you back.
Warm Regards
Chiara Vierchowod

chiara_vierchowod@doylecollection.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
The Ampersand Hotel
The Ampersand Hotel
#48 of 1,072 in London
3,345 reviews
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#64 of 1,072 in London
3,771 reviews
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#14 of 1,072 in London
3,253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
Crowne Plaza London Kensington
Chelsea
Egerton House Hotel
Egerton House Hotel
#2 of 1,072 in London
1,434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kensington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kensington

Address: 109 - 113 Queen's Gate, London SW7 5LP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in London
#33 Family Hotel in London
#34 Luxury Hotel in London
#50 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range: $250 - $481 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Kensington 5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located in leafy South Kensington and just moments from Knightsbridge, Hyde Park and Sloane Square, The Kensington offers 150 unique and stylish guestrooms and suites. London's largest townhouse suite (approx 2,000 sq ft), roll top baths and four-poster beds are truly befitting of this Regency quarter. The Town House bar & restaurant and a magnificent lounge area comprised of period drawing rooms offer a traditional but contemporary setting for afternoon tea, lunch or evening dinners. Our guestrooms are individually decorated in an elegant townhouse style, using sumptuous fabrics, deep upholstery and an eclectic mix of contemporary art and furnishings. The atmosphere is relaxed throughout, with the engaging and innovative service creating the ambiance of a smart private members club. All rooms include flat screen TVs, air conditioning, luxurious Aromatherapy Associates bathroom products, Nespresso coffee machines and complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Doyle Collection, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Kensington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kensington Hotel London
The Kensington London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing