We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Hotel with great service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Kensington

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Kensington
Ranked #35 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Charlevoix, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic Hotel with great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2011

My wife and I had the privilege of staying at The Kensington Hotel, Doyle Group, 109-113 Queens’ Gate, London SW& 5LR for nine days departing May 7, 2011. We found the hotel charming, very clean and service oriented. Our room was a Studio Suite which was large and the bathroom was done in black and white marble with a full size tub, walk in shower, double sink and a bidet and was luxurious. The bed was very comfortable. The hotel surprised us with a bouquet of a dozen red roses the first day of our stay. Every evening we received a thermos of tea and a sweet treat. The sitting area in the hotel was very pleasant and served quality food which was available throughout the day including a very nice restaurant. The staff went out of their way to please and to make our stay very pleasant. The concierge arranged for us to be picked up at the airport and to take us back upon our departure and enabled us to charge it to our room. There is a safe in the room large enough for a lap top computer. One day I inadvertently left the safe open and when we returned at the end of the day its contents were intact.
The hotel’s location is ideal with a short walk to South Kensington Station. There are a large number of restaurants and services in the area including laundry, grocery stores, banks, money exchange, drug stores, deli, news stand and even a Starbucks. We felt very comfortable in the area and enjoyed the local pub and several of the restaurants. The Victoria and Albert Museum, The Museum of Natural History and the Science Museum were all within easy walking distant to the hotel.
I had done much research on picking the best hotel at the best value and I could not have been happier. I hope we have an opportunity to return.

Room Tip: Ask for a Studio Suite deal
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 42068Joe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,628 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,962
    511
    113
    29
    13
See reviews for
487
1,085
191
405
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (364)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2011

We had a fantastic trip to London, my husband, 12 year old daughter and I, which was topped by the fact that we stayed at the luxurious Doyle Group Hotel - The Kensington !!
Everything from the welcome, to the friendly staff, the luxurious en-suite room and the wonderfully set out breakfast with a refreshingly different menu, made this long weekend one to remember !!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsParkEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheKensingtonHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Kensington, responded to this review, August 10, 2011
Dear Tripadvisor guest,

Thank you for taking the time out to write this wonderful review, I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay here with us.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back again soon for a another memorable weekend.

Kind Regards,
Gillian O'Loughlin
Assistant Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Level Contributor
70 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2011

We stayed in a deluxe room as previous reviews had criticised the room sizes. This room was spacious and well equipped. In particular the bathroom was impressive. Room was at the rear, so no view, but also no noise!
One small complaint; a ceiling bulb was not working, but this was quickly and pleasantly rectified. The restaurant was excellent, both for dinner and breakfast. The staff were very friendly courteous and attentive. A bit pricey, but worth it. Enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Would suggest going for deluxe room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Noel021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2011

I really enjoyed my stay at the Kensington Hotel. I had a fabulous room - upgraded my room (I forget what the "second level" room is called - premium, maybe?).

I had dinner in the restaurant - the food was top-notch.

The only negative - the bartender at the lounge was almost absurdly, laughably inattentive. He was so focused on the only other patron at the bar (both he and the patron spoke Italian) that other staff kept having to remind him that I was also at the bar.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jen19146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2011

Its a brisk, business like hotel, with nothing memorable about it. The Royal Garden Hotel, located close by, is a much better choice. The rooms are REALLY small, so much that you have to literally hop from the bed into the bathroom. Location is excellent, lots of good restaurants nearby but not as close to the tube as you would like it. There is also no major shopping district closeby, and Kensington High Street is a good distance away. At £200 per night, with no breakfast included, it was a raw deal indeed. As I said, nothing to remember it by

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pachyderm_98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
103 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2011

We stayed at the Kensington for the Easter weekend, and we all found it definitely lovely. It is a very charming boutique hotel, in a nice location at a good price (I mean, this is London) for the service given.
Rooms all clean and well mantained, soft beds, soft spotless towels, the hotel offers bathrobes, slippers, hot water heater and they even hand you a bottle of water as you check out. They have those fridges that charge you automatically when you pull out the drinks, which I hate, but at least this worked well (usually you get charged when you sneeze too close to the fridge).
Good wireless connection in the rooms, a Mac with printer on the ground floor (you don't get charged for b/w prints) helps printing your boarding passes. There's always fruit or sweets in the hall.
We occupied 4 rooms, all nicely decorated. Room service and concierge, impeccable.
Note: some rooms and some bathrooms are SMALL. But very nice big showers.
CONS: they could not offer us adjoining rooms, so we had to leave the kids in a separate room (else we would have needed to book a suite, but did not know) nearby. No big issue for us, but remember to get a suite if you travel with small children.
We did not have breakfast in the hotel, instead we went to Le Pain Quotidien behind S. Kensington Tube station.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsMcGonagall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheKensingtonHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Kensington, responded to this review, May 2, 2011
Dear Mrs McGonagall,

Many thanks for this wonderful review following your recent stay with us.
I was very pleased to read how much you enjoyed spending the Easter holidays with us and I have shared your lovely comments with all of our team.

I am delighted to inform you that we will shortly be replacing the current mini bar system for a more user friendly version, I hope this will be in place for your next visit.

Thank you once again and I look forward to welcoming you back to The Kensington hotel very soon.

Kind Regards,

Andrea Doyle
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
135 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2011

I arrived at this hotel, straight from Heathrow, at about 7:25 in the morning, expecting to check my luggage and come back later to check in. I looked (and felt) like a zombie. They checked me in immediately, showed me where the breakfast room was, and were utterly gracious. The public areas are beautifully decorated and this was like walking into the inside of a jewelbox. The only downside is that the room was tiny with absolutely no view - but I really didn't care. All I wanted was a soft bed, a nice bathoom, and a comfortable place to crash after my overnight flight. I got all that and more. I would definitely stay here again, even though it was something of a splurge.

Room Tip: Perfectly located near the South Kensington tube
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DCvagabond1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheKensingtonHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Kensington, responded to this review, May 2, 2011
Dear Tripadvisor guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to post this review. I am delighted to read that our team took such good care of you and that you enjoyed the whole experience at The Kensington Hotel.

I do hope I will have the opportunity to personally meet you and show you our different room categories on you next visit.

I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards,

Andrea Doyle
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
The Ampersand Hotel
The Ampersand Hotel
#46 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,012 reviews
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#61 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,535 reviews
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
Crowne Plaza London Kensington
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#11 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,017 reviews
South Kensington
The Bailey's Hotel London
The Bailey's Hotel London
#122 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kensington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kensington

Property: The Kensington
Address: 109 - 113 Queen's Gate, London SW7 5LP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in London
#33 Family Hotel in London
#35 Luxury Hotel in London
#50 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Kensington 5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located in leafy South Kensington and just moments from Knightsbridge, Hyde Park and Sloane Square, The Kensington offers 150 unique and stylish guestrooms and suites. London's largest townhouse suite (approx 2,000 sq ft), roll top baths and four-poster beds are truly befitting of this Regency quarter. The Town House bar & restaurant and a magnificent lounge area comprised of period drawing rooms offer a traditional but contemporary setting for afternoon tea, lunch or evening dinners. Our guestrooms are individually decorated in an elegant townhouse style, using sumptuous fabrics, deep upholstery and an eclectic mix of contemporary art and furnishings. The atmosphere is relaxed throughout, with the engaging and innovative service creating the ambiance of a smart private members club. All rooms include flat screen TVs, air conditioning, luxurious Aromatherapy Associates bathroom products, Nespresso coffee machines and complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Doyle Collection, Despegar.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your The Kensington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kensington Hotel London
The Kensington London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing