We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“All around great!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Kensington

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Kensington
Ranked #35 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
72 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“All around great!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2011

The hotel staff and service are excellent. Our room was larger than expected for two beds, but we did upgrade as suggested by the hotel. Well worth the added cost! The hotel is located just a couple of short blocks away from the So Kensington station - super convenient. I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Call and ask for recommendations
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheKensingtonHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Kensington, responded to this review, April 8, 2011
Dear Tripadvisor guest,

Thank you very much for this wonderful review following your recent stay with us at The Kensington Hotel.

I’m so pleased that you enjoyed you stay with us and I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards,

Andrea Doyle
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,665 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,997
    512
    113
    30
    13
See reviews for
499
1,099
193
411
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (367)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2011

First visit to hotel since 20 million pound transformation from the old Jurys Kensington Hotel. This hotel is everything you would expect from a 5 star hotel. From the welcoming reception staff, very helpful concierge and super efficient Duty Manager - nothing was a problem! Large breakfast room with a very generous and varied breakfast fare. Dinner in the Aubrey dining room was no less than you expect from a 'Michelin star' supervised kitchen. The bedroom we had on the 2nd floor was luxurious with super modern bathroomand large flat screen tv. The cocktail bar and lounge areas were first class and perfect after a day out in London. The location of the hotel is very convenient for the South Kensington and Gloucester Road tube stations and many local cafes and bistros.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seannoel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
River Forest, Illinois
Level Contributor
86 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2011

We got off the South Kensington station from the Piccadilly line from Heathrow and walked about 3 blocks to the hotel. It was the best location. We never had to take a cab. The place has been recently remodeled and is absolutely beautiful. Very subtle but extremely elegant furnishings. I loved the mohair chair in our room. I had requested two beds and got a big one. I did not ask for two because I was with my 18 year old daughter and we felt it was fine. The only thing is WHO would design a bathroom without an electrical outlet for a dryer???? There was an outlet for a shaver but not for the hair dryer so the cord had to stretch across the hall into the bathroom. Another little complaint is that I asked for 2 extra bath towels which were delivered immediately but the next day never got another set. Also no washcloths one day. The housekeepers should pay a little closer attention to details. On the day we left I became invisible and could not get a cup of coffee. The other two days the breakfast was fine but on the last day which we needed to hurry along Murphy's law took over and no coffee. I think this area is great for tourists because it is safe and its close proximity to everything.

Room Tip: I booked through Aer Lingus package.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pierry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheKensingtonHotel, General Manager at The Kensington, responded to this review, April 8, 2011
Dear Pierry,

Thank you for your review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your room and I have informed our designer how impressed you were with the décor.

I was very sorry to read that you found some elements of your experience disappointing and I would like to apologise for that

Please be assured that the lapses in service that you have mentioned have been addressed and I can assure you that this is not at all the standard level of service we endeavour to maintain here at The Kensington Hotel.

Thank you once again and we are looking forward to you next visit.

Kind Regards,

Andrea
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2011

My 23 year-old daughter and I stayed five nights at The Kensington Hotel during a recent trip to London. We enjoyed the experience and were only somewhat disappointed in the size of the room. We could barely walk around the queen size bed! Still, the service was wonderful and the food in the hotel dining room was delicious. The location was great - within walking distance to great restaurants and two tube stations. We would definitely return for another stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WorkInProgress50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2011

Hot towel on arrival, modern lobby, amazing large seating area off lobby adorned with beautiful furnishings, elaborate bar, nice restaurant. Very clean. Friendly helpful staff especially the concierges/porters. Room very very small(!!!) too cramped but clean and nice toiletries in rediculously small bathroom (door knocks into toilet in every room I have stayed) didn't deter us from staying repeatedly though! Great area...very close to south Kensington tube and lots if great shops, salons, restaurants and bars. I often travel to London for courses and thus is always my preferred hotel of choice....even if it requires a commute!

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank audz83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
116 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2011

three night stay most enjoyable. Lovely lobby rooms with soft music, fire places (it is still cool at night), unobtrusive staff.
took advantage of three-night special rate for suite 176 pounds plus VAT per night. Spacious room (particularly for London), nightly turn down service, small but perfectly appointed shower bathroom

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aavery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2011

I took my mother to London for 4 days to celebrate her birthday. I chose The Kensington Hotel based on price 145 pounds and location (close to Kensington Gardens, the Underground and good restaurants). The hotel was recently beautifully rennovated. The lobby and bar is cozy and well designed, a nice palce to have tea or a cocktail or sit next to the fire and read a book. The only negative is that the rooms are very small, but this wasn't a issue for us since we spent most of our time outside of the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Quigs71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
The Ampersand Hotel
The Ampersand Hotel
#43 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,077 reviews
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#61 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,577 reviews
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
Crowne Plaza London Kensington
South Kensington
The Bailey's Hotel London
The Bailey's Hotel London
#129 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#12 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kensington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kensington

Property: The Kensington
Address: 109 - 113 Queen's Gate, London SW7 5LP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in London
#33 Family Hotel in London
#35 Luxury Hotel in London
#50 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Kensington 5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located in leafy South Kensington and just moments from Knightsbridge, Hyde Park and Sloane Square, The Kensington offers 150 unique and stylish guestrooms and suites. London's largest townhouse suite (approx 2,000 sq ft), roll top baths and four-poster beds are truly befitting of this Regency quarter. The Town House bar & restaurant and a magnificent lounge area comprised of period drawing rooms offer a traditional but contemporary setting for afternoon tea, lunch or evening dinners. Our guestrooms are individually decorated in an elegant townhouse style, using sumptuous fabrics, deep upholstery and an eclectic mix of contemporary art and furnishings. The atmosphere is relaxed throughout, with the engaging and innovative service creating the ambiance of a smart private members club. All rooms include flat screen TVs, air conditioning, luxurious Aromatherapy Associates bathroom products, Nespresso coffee machines and complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Doyle Collection, Travelocity, Booking.com, Despegar.com, TravelUp, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Kensington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kensington Hotel London
The Kensington London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing