We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Plenty of better options around” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of New Jomuna

New Jomuna
Reserve with OpenTable
New Jomuna is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #15,155 of 22,199 Restaurants in London
Cuisines: Indian, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Pimlico
Level Contributor
63 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Plenty of better options around”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

Very disappointing and we won't be going again. The food was very disappointing - particularly the rice which was really flavourless and bland. Even the accompaniments to poppadoms were poorly done. Watch out also for the cutlery not being clean! There are a dozen other restaurants within a stones throw that surely are unlikely to be worse! The only consolation is that it did not give me food poisoning! :-(

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Iain27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    32
    18
    24
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fife, Scotland
Level Contributor
75 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Not as good as last visit”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2012

The food we had was good but our poppadoms and chutney never arrived. Also the restaurant claims to sell only large bottles of Cobra - nothing smaller which seems ridiculous - not everyone always wants the equivalent of a pint with a meal. Service was otherwise OK - just.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Avoid”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2012

I live locally, it's always empty, now I know why. The food is awful and will give you stomach issues. Don't bother, if you want decent Indian food jump on the bus that goes from outside Sainsburys opposite and go to Punjab in Covent Garden, that is excellent. This is disgusting.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank vsm101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
117 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Avoid at all possible”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2012

We walked into the restaurant and the waiter was standing by the door and as we walked in he said to us "What do you need" with a straight face and I told him that I had a reservation, he was not very welcoming and we felt uncomfortable. He then took us to a table like we were bothering him. Very stand offish service the entire night while we were there with only two other diners along with us in the entire place, but now I understand why.

Food was bland even though I ordered my lamb curry medium spices; I have eaten pre-packaged food better than what this place serves. Drinks are expensive and it took the bartender 25 minutes to make our drinks (Mai Tai), he actually looked in a recipe book to find out how to make it as we watched! The total bill was the highest we paid during our entire London stay. I would never recommend this place to anyone.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jmraggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saskatchewan
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Decent north Indian food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012 via mobile

The food is good and the menu extensive. The waiter was attentive, maybe a little too attentive. I recommend the Tandoori chicken. Good meal for 2 with Indian beer 40 UK pounds.

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GAJ48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed New Jomuna also viewed

 

Been to New Jomuna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing