We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor Service”
Review of Trebovir Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Trebovir Hotel
Ranked #858 of 1,067 Hotels in London
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
33 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Poor Service”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Some of the staff that we encountered at this hotel were exceptionally friendly and welcoming, and conducted themselves with an appropriate level of professionalism. They were courteous and friendly, with the exception of some of the staff in the house keeping.

When we requested to clean our bathroom as we are not ready to go yet at 11 a.m. (we stayed there for more than a month), she refused and just handed us some towels. When we insisted to at least clean the bathroom and replace the dirty cups, she protested and requested us to leave the room otherwise the cleaning staff will not service the room. I then had to call the reception to request for someone to come over to clean the cups at least and provide us some toiletries if they will not clean the bathroom. However, she was probably ordered to bring some toiletries and to quickly clean the bathroom, which she did but in protest. When she left, we could see her long face and still remember us when we came down the following day for breakfast. We saw her looking at us while talking to one of the staff in a foreign language and when she noticed us that we were looking at them, both stop talking. We rarely requested to have our room service for the duration of our stay as we are always busy but at that time we needed the bathroom to be cleaned so we assume that the cleaning staff will be friendly and accommodating, we were wrong. The encounter with the cleaning staff happens a few times during our stay. At one time, we requested to change the bed sheets as it's already three days, we were told it was done so we pointed out that it wasn't as the stain from previous night's take out still in the bed sheet. The request was ignored but was changed the following day.

The rooms are perfectly adequate small but there is still a great deal of room for improvement such as changing their cleaning liquid as it has a funny smell when you enter the room. The hotel breakfast is also moderated and consisted of two slices of ham, one croissant, two slices of cheese, toast bread and orange juice. If you stay long enough eating the same food everyday, you won't be able to go everyday.

Room Tip: Lower floors has a good Internet connection.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank newyorker91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

717 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    257
    212
    89
    71
See reviews for
144
191
124
124
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed January 30, 2013

it was small was exactly what I needed for a night stop over, very clean/functional and the breakfast was good. Reception staff were extremely welcoming & very efficient. Breakfasts included. Wifi. Would definitely recommend as a very convenient place to stay in London.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pracheeshah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

I booked 1 night in a single room for Thursday 17 JAN 13, at a great rate of just £39 (which was cheaper than a taxi fare home to South London). I read a few reviews of local hotels and this seemed to be the best.

It didn't disappoint at all. The room I was given was actually a double bed (Room G08). Yes the room was small, but more than adequate if I was staying for a few nights. Yes, the bathroom is very small (one of those modular cruise ship bathrooms) but it's more than functional and was impressed with shower and plenty of hotel water. The towels were real white and quite fluffy (not those awful off white thread bare things you sometimes see.)

The room was clean and nicely decorated. The bed was soft and springy (but I like soft rather than firm) and was impressed with the crisp white bed linen - it was a white duvet rather than sheets.

Like : nice little kettle and tea & coffee facilities, hairdryer in bathroom, wardrobe with proper hangers (all matching and not those cheap wire ones) and a full lenght mirror postioned just by an overhead light fixture.

Didn't have much interaction with staff, only at check-in and she was very pleasant. Didn't use the breakfast room as I was late and in a rush, but she told me there was a continental breakfast but toast was available to make yourself.

Honestly can't fault this hotel, and at that rate I wouldn't hesitate to stay again. Although I might pay the few £'s more and book a double room, as I think if the single is even smaller, it might be a bit too small.

Room Tip: Room G 08 (on the ground floor and at the end of the corridor was very quiet)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kieran0503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
69 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013

The en-suite room, although it was small was exactly what I needed for a 1 night stop over, very clean/functional and the breakfast was good. Reception staff were extremely welcoming & very efficient.All I needed was a clean, warm bed with private bathroom facilities & The Trebovir worked perfectly for me, thank you.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank olivernone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2013

The Trebovir ticked all our boxes of needs. Cheap. Clean. Very close to tube stop- yet was still able to walk to some London attractions. Breakfasts included. Wifi. Plenty of shops close by for our needs: laundromat, dinners, groceries, chemist, pubs. And as a bonus, friendly & very helpful staff. Would definitely recommend as a very convenient place to stay in London

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013

This was the first of the Capilon Group hotels to be refurbished (I know because the front-desk guy told me) and they admit the pod bathrooms on the lower floors were a mistake. In fact, none of their other hotels has them. Which is good as they make cruise ship bathrooms look spacious. But I knew to expect them to be tiny and frankly everything else made up for the Hobbit-sized rooms and showers. The price is low. In fact, for two sharing, it's hostel low. The rooms are small but safe, clean, well-appointed, and comfortable. (We're talking two "well-fed" Americans here, so if we said the beds were comfy, trust me they're big enough.)
The local authorities won't allow the Trebovir to serve cooked meals so the breakfast is Continental only. (It's the full English in their other hotels.) But it was ham, cheese, warm croissants, yoghurt, cereal, juice and coffee so it was substantial. And all served with a nice Polish smile. The location is fabulous. Earl's Court tube is handicapped accessible which means there are lifts to all platforms. We aren't disabled but we had a lot of luggage and needed to be able to get to Heathrow asap in the morning. Well, the Trebovir is 300 yards from the front of the tube station which has District, Circle and Piccadilly (H'row) trains. Perfect. And dinner on Earl's Court Road is easy -- Mr. Wings -- or any of the spruced-up, post-Aussie pubs. We zoomed up to Marble Arch to shop and it only took 15 minutes. All in all a great find, especially for budget travelers.

Room Tip: The fourth floor is the only floor with regular (non-pod) bathrooms but as the roof slants, the mirr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveljunky56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limassol, Cyprus
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2012

Was visiting London in December 2012 because a member of my family was going to have an operation somewhere near South Kensington. Had to find a budget hotel only for sleep. I booked this hotel for 4 nights. Its allocated just on the corner of Earls Court tube station(picadily line). Actually it is built on the same block of tube station less than 100 steps away. Although it is so close to the station it is not noisy at all. They gave me a street view room which is excellent. On the reception there was this lady named Polina who turned to be one of the kindiest receptionists i have ever met. Really helpfull ! When i got into my room i recalled tripadvisor's review's. Every single word of the previous travellers was true. Small room. If your luggage is big you cannot open it except if you put it on bed!! But this could be ordinary for hotels in Europe's big cities. But then it was the bathroom....It could be a nominee for world's tiniest and most uncomfortable bathroom!!!!!!!!!!! I can say it was clean but there is no chance that you can have a shower in there without the door being open. Its exactly the same to a plane's bathroom but with a 50cm shower. Windows cannot seal and you can hear people on the street. Breakfast is served in a room of 20 sq.m.Toasts-ham-cheese-butter only. On the main street you can find pubs and a couple of restaurants. Fast food on both corners of the main street. In conclusion this hotel is for people seekeing a budget hotel. Nothing more nothing less. Great location. But book this ONLY for sleep.

Room Tip: Street view Rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank limassol78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark0brien, Manager at Trebovir Hotel, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Thank you "limassol78" for posting a review on to our trip advisor page.

As described in your review with many others on to various internet sites by past guests Trebovir hotel is centrally located offering great service at reasonable price.
we opted for space saver modular bathrooms in some of the room in order to maximise the space in the bedroom. These bathrooms are very commonly found in modern hotels across the Europe.
Most guests find our rooms very well appointed accommodating modern facilities like Air conditioning, Flat screen wall mounted TV, Tea and Coffee maker, Telephone etc.
We offer complimentry continental breakfast as advertised on all of the booking sites which includes Choice of Cereals, Fruit Yogurt, Freshly baked Croissant, Cheese, Ham, Toast, Juice and Hot Beverages.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Earls Court
Lord Kensington Hotel
Lord Kensington Hotel
#730 of 1,067 in London
415 reviews
Earls Court
Lord Jim Hotel
Lord Jim Hotel
#694 of 1,067 in London
267 reviews
Earls Court
London Court Hotel
London Court Hotel
#410 of 1,067 in London
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Earls Court
Garden View Hotel
Garden View Hotel
#542 of 1,067 in London
993 reviews
Earls Court
Amsterdam Hotel
Amsterdam Hotel
#558 of 1,067 in London
643 reviews
Earls Court
Hotel Rushmore
Hotel Rushmore
#580 of 1,067 in London
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trebovir Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trebovir Hotel

Property: Trebovir Hotel
Address: 18-20 Trebovir Road | Earls Court, London SW5 9NH, England (Formerly Grand Hotel London)
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Earls Court
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #858 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Trebovir Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ideal Earl's Court Hotel - In a quiet street just yards from the bustle of Earl's Court Road and the Exhibition Centre, Trebovir Hotel, offers 62 modern, comfortable and spacious rooms. The building comprises two classic West London townhouses, rich with English charm and within easy reach of excellent transport links. Trebovir Hotel features classic cosseting accommodation and a healthy, generous Continental breakfast, all at very keen prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Trebovir Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trebovir Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing