We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“casual French wining & dining”

La Cave Restaurant & Wine Bar
Ranked #14,602 of 22,375 Restaurants in London
Price range: $32 - $45
Cuisines: French, European, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Southwark
Cross street: Borough High Street
Transit: London Bridge
Wessex
Level Contributor
67 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“casual French wining & dining”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

Sitting outside on a hot summer evening, traffic noise diffused by trees, comfortable seating and friendly service. Good bistro menu, as well as fuller dinner menu - plenty of choice, some unusual French dishes. Wine rather pricey, so opt for house carafe - very acceptable!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nodge94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    22
    7
    13
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Shropshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Good location, disappointing menu and service a bit lacking”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

We found this place by accident as we were looking for somewhere to have lunch before going up The Shard. The courtyard was a shady haven on a hot, sunny day.

I ordered a Perrier and was a bit surprised when the waiter came back and said they'd run out. I asked for something else and twenty minutes later had to ask another waiter for the drink.

There weren't many food choices on the menu which was a bit of shame. I went for a simple choice - Croque Monsieur - but couldn't have it as they'd got no cheese! Given that the place is next to Borough Market, how difficult would it have been to go and buy some more?

We then ordered more drinks and after another long delay, our server came back and admitted that she'd forgotten what we'd asked for. Not good!

All in all, we were a bit disappointed with the experience, but the food was good.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
191 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Cavern among the bustle of the south bank”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

Small courtyard respite below the London Bridge adjacent to the Southwark Cathedral and Borough Market. The outside wine bar menu was quite nice in pairing with the wine and ale list. Plenty of outside noise flows into this off the path courtyard but quiet in terms of bankside foot traffic.

Try the charcuterie offerings.

Next time we visit, we'll focus on dinner fare. I'm sure it will not disappoint.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Poor service and expensive”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

We chose this restaurant as it looked nice and it was a warm summer's evening so it was lovely to sit outside - something one doesn't often do with the British weather!

We stood waiting, trying to catch the eye of someone to allocate a table. We had to call for the waitress to take our order. She offered water which we accepted but never got it. Had to wait at least 20 minutes for the food to arrive - steaks which were grisly and never worth the £19 charge. We had to ask repeatedly for the bill which eventually arrived, and 12.5% service had been added (what service?) We waited for the credit card machine, but in the end had to go into the restaurant to pay. Waiters/waitresses were pleasant enough but seemed to have a poor command of English.

Very disappointed and felt ripped off.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Deejaysee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice place”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

Good service. Great food. Not too horribly expensive.
The outside is a bit noisy but considering the location I guess it can't be helped.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BenteRiis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Cave Restaurant & Wine Bar also viewed

 

Been to La Cave Restaurant & Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing