We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Entertainment”

Bel Canto Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Bel Canto Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #42 of 22,675 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $69 - $95
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Located just a few minutes from Lancaster Gate tube station, Bel Canto is suitable for all events and celebrations including birthdays and romantic evenings. Our opera restaurant attracts everyone from opera enthusiasts to curious tourists and culinary explorers. The classic French menu changes seasonally, and is complemented by a diverse selection of both French and Italian wines. Bel Canto has approximately 60 artists on rotation. Every evening 4 singers and a pianist will perform a variety of arias from celebrated operas. The talented waiting staff will belt out everything from Verdi to Wagner while serving fine French cuisine! During the evening you will receive a glass prosecco to join in with the artists to toast with them for the "Libiamo" of the "Traviatta"! Bel Canto is an intimate Restaurant and is decorated with ruby red wallpaper, ornate opera costumes and crisp white linens. Bel Canto offers truly unique and intimate dining experience - the whole team cannot wait to share with you!
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Entertainment”
Reviewed July 21, 2014

This was recommended to us by our daughter and we were very pleased that we went.

The entertainment was great with frequent operatic renditions from the waiters / waitresses. I am not an opera goer but have to say that I though the quality of the singing was excellent. There was also a chance for some audience participation.

The food was OK, It was not the best by any means but certainly not bad.

The night was a memorable one and a great way to spend a night in London.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank DT64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jpmaurel, Public Relations Manager at Bel Canto Restaurant, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear DT64,

We are delighted that on your daughters recommendation you had a delightful evening at Bel Canto, and feel that it was a memorable night for all the right reasons and a great way to spend a night in London! We hope you return soon to share an evening of opera dining.

Lyrically yours
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,023 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    775
    203
    31
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
185 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“What a surprisingly delightful evening .3 hours of bliss.”
Reviewed July 17, 2014 via mobile

Not knowing what to expect it came as a surprise that the waiters and waitresses were the entertainment. They served the meals and drinks and in between sang fantastically , pieces from operas. What wonderful singers the two men and two ladies were accompanied by an accomplished pianist. The menu was varied and very acceptable, resulting in a spectacular evening.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Eddy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jpmaurel, Public Relations Manager at Bel Canto Restaurant, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear Eddy D

Thank you for taking the time to share your ‘spectacular evening’ at Bel Canto. We have shared your comments with our staff who are all delighted that you found everything in your evening, the food, service ‘wonderful singers’ and our ‘accomplished’ pianist to be so agreeable. Please join us again soon for another fabulous evening of opera and fine French food.

Lyrically yours
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing”
Reviewed July 17, 2014

Great athmosphere one of the best experiences I ever had in a restaurant.Highly reccomended. Food is great and lovely presented. Staff is very talented and song choices are great.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank StefanoPistilli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jpmaurel, Public Relations Manager at Bel Canto Restaurant, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear StefanoPistilli,

We are delighted to hear that your evening at Bel Canto was one of your ‘best experiences’ in a restaurant. At Bel Canto delicious food, excellent service and sublime performers are at the heart of our restaurant and are thrilled to hear that we met these high standards for you! We you join us again soon to share another excellent dining experience.

Lyrically yours
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
43 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good entertainment, with nice food”
Reviewed July 17, 2014

I was invited to Bel-canto for a birthday celebration of a family member. I arrived very early, and although the table was not booked for such an early time, I was received with a greeting and was shown to the table.
I enjoyed the singing with a glass of rye until the other party members arrived.
The food itself is OK. Not the best I have had in London, but by no means bad. By itself, the food might be overpriced, but combined with the singing, I think this is a very good vakue for money. You pay for the whole package, and the whole package is very good!
The singers were very good and were very entertaining. I must say that the pianist was extremely good, and got an extra tip ;-)
The service was good, but in times a bit slow.
I will recommend Bel-Canto to any Opera lover (or music lover in that sense) as an experience.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank The_Lictor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jpmaurel, Public Relations Manager at Bel Canto Restaurant, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear The_Lictor

We are delighted to hear that you had such a wonderful experience at Bel Canto, and found our staff to be so prompt in our greeting. At Bel Canto we pride ourselves on such customer service, and our excellent artists, and our pianist is thrilled that you enjoyed her performance. We hope to see you again soon for another evening of opera dining!

Lyrically yours
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful Voices”
Reviewed July 15, 2014

Lovely food enjoyed while we listened to beautiful voices. The intervals are well spaced and allow for good conversation.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CommerceJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jpmaurel, Owner at Bel Canto Restaurant, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Dear CommerceJohn,

Thank you very much for being a part of our Opera Dinning Experience and for the great feedback!

We cannot wait to welcoming you again.

Yours lyrically,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bel Canto Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Bel Canto Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing