We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A memorable evening” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bel Canto Restaurant

Bel Canto Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Bel Canto Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #31 of 22,199 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $67 - $93
Cuisines: French, European, British, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Located just a few minutes from Lancaster Gate tube station, Bel Canto is suitable for all events and celebrations including birthdays and romantic evenings. Our opera restaurant attracts everyone from opera enthusiasts to curious tourists and culinary explorers. The classic French menu changes seasonally, and is complemented by a diverse selection of both French and Italian wines. Bel Canto has approximately 60 artists on rotation. Every evening 4 singers and a pianist will perform a variety of arias from celebrated operas. The talented waiting staff will belt out everything from Verdi to Wagner while serving fine French cuisine! During the evening you will receive a glass prosecco to join in with the artists to toast with them for the "Libiamo" of the "Traviatta"! Bel Canto is an intimate Restaurant and is decorated with ruby red wallpaper, ornate opera costumes and crisp white linens. Bel Canto offers truly unique and intimate dining experience - the whole team cannot wait to share with you!
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A memorable evening”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2014

Bel Canto Restaurant was recommended to us by friends so we decided to go and give it a try. We were not disappointed, it was a wonderful evening. The three course dinner was divine and the waiters and waitresses sang an amazing array of opera pieces.
It was a stunning exhibition.

Highly recommended.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BabsWatto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jpmaurel, Public Relations Manager at Bel Canto Restaurant, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear BabsWatto,

At Bel Canto we always aim to provide an evening of exceptional food and sublime music and we are so happy that you felt that your experience with us was a ‘stunning exhibition’ coupled with ‘divine’ food. Thank you for your recommendation and we can’t wait for you to join us again!

Lyrically yours
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

985 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    746
    196
    30
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Unbelievably the best Italian experience you will ever have... Simply Astonishing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2014

We were in London for the weekend and arranged to meet a good friend for a catchup. I wanted to experiment with a meal with a difference and head read some of these reviews for Bel Canto.
Never going to opera I was a little apprehensive about whether I would enjoy this...
It was superb. Great attention service food ambience.. And the singing performances and showmanship from the five artistes .. were remarkable.. the pianist is a gem. If you are in town then you MUST eat here and enjoy the show and experience.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Zubo01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jpmaurel, Public Relations Manager at Bel Canto Restaurant, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear Zubo01

We were so happy to read that you agree that Bel Canto is the ‘best Italian experience you will ever have’! Your comments have been passed onto all our staff, the servers, chefs and artistes, all of whom were delighted to have provided you will such an excellent evening.
We do hope that you return and relive the experience

Lyrically yours
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Surprisingly high quality opera”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2014 via mobile

Entering the place I expected a bit if a tourist trap. However, the singers are genuinely excellent on their own. So much that I couldn't help but feel a bit uncomfortable when they leave their singing role for waiter/waitress role. They play opera classics in a room with good acoustic and small enough to really make you feel their vocal chords. Food is very good. The service is attentive despite the dual roles for many. I would encourage them to present pieces at the beginning or the end. To me, it adds to the pleasure. I have see over two dozen operas but still don't remember the names if a lot of the music pieces. If you like opera, this will make for a genuinely different experience.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Felix_lechat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jpmaurel, Public Relations Manager at Bel Canto Restaurant, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear Felix_leChat

Thank you so much for taking the time to give us feedback! We have passed your comments on to our artists who are thrilled to have immersed you so deeply in their performance. Moreover we are very happy that you felt that our service was of the same high standard as the performances!
We hope to see you again soon

Lyrically yours
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wantagh, New York
Level Contributor
54 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A Most Entertaining Dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2014

Excellent food, excellent service and very entertaining. If you’re not familiar with Bel Canto, while you are dining, every 15 minutes or so the servers, who are all professionally trained opera singers (those that I spoke to studied at the Royal Academy of Music), perform an operatic piece…either solo or as a group. I’m not necessarily a fan of opera, but I thoroughly enjoyed this. After each performance, which lasts 3 – 5 minutes, I couldn’t wait for the next one to begin! Thank you to Chris Ivanov, the manager of this ‘must try restaurant when you are in London’.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CNTravel3365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jpmaurel, Public Relations Manager at Bel Canto Restaurant, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear CNtravel 3365

How brilliant that our artists at Bel Canto provided you with such a brilliant experience despite you not necessarily being a fan of opera and our artists were very happy to hear this! We always aim to provide an exceptional memorable experience here at Bel Canto and are very happy that we achieved this. We hope that you can visit us again!

Lyrically yours
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A memorable evening”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2014

Four of us had a fantastic evening on Saturday. The food is very good and the service excellent - fast and friendly. The atmosphere is brilliant, with the very talented singers providing some wonderful musical interludes. A totally different dining experience, and the offer we used from Amazon Local made it very affordable too.

Carol J

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Carol J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jpmaurel, Public Relations Manager at Bel Canto Restaurant, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear CarolJ

At Bel Canto we are committed to providing an exceptional evening in terms of food, entertainment and service and are very happy that we met your high expectations of us. We have passed your delight at the music on to our artists, and they are thrilled to have provided you with such a memorable evening! We hope to see you again soon!

Lyrically yours
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bel Canto Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Bel Canto Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing