We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Super evening, not just supper”

Bel Canto Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Bel Canto Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #38 of 22,367 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $69 - $96
Cuisines: French, European, British, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Located just a few minutes from Lancaster Gate tube station, Bel Canto is suitable for all events and celebrations including birthdays and romantic evenings. Our opera restaurant attracts everyone from opera enthusiasts to curious tourists and culinary explorers. The classic French menu changes seasonally, and is complemented by a diverse selection of both French and Italian wines. Bel Canto has approximately 60 artists on rotation. Every evening 4 singers and a pianist will perform a variety of arias from celebrated operas. The talented waiting staff will belt out everything from Verdi to Wagner while serving fine French cuisine! During the evening you will receive a glass prosecco to join in with the artists to toast with them for the "Libiamo" of the "Traviatta"! Bel Canto is an intimate Restaurant and is decorated with ruby red wallpaper, ornate opera costumes and crisp white linens. Bel Canto offers truly unique and intimate dining experience - the whole team cannot wait to share with you!
Camberley
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Super evening, not just supper”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2014

Looking for something different we happened on Bel Canto from recommendations on the tripadvisor web site. What a great evening! We were looking for reasons to stay longer to catch the final performance of the evening, at 11pm, but having been there since 7.30pm we thought it was time to go even though we'd been told we could stay as long as we wanted. The food is excellent, the menu is small which probably accounts for the superb quality, and the atmosphere is brilliant. The waiters/singers were sensational both in their opera performances and friendly and efficient service. If you want to have a super evening rather than just a supper, this is a must.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Oldhampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jpmaurel, Owner at Bel Canto Restaurant, responded to this review, November 14, 2014
Dear oldhampshire

I’m so happy to read how much you enjoyed your visit to Bel Canto! We think we offer a truly unique dining experience and to read comments such as yours is extremely gratifying. Unlike many establishments in London, we do not rush our diners, indeed your table is available to you all evening. I do hope that you will return soon. We would love to see you again.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,008 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    764
    200
    31
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
126 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Refreshing, uplifting...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2014

A wonderful experience. Fab music and song. Great food. The welcome from the Maitre d and his excellent service from him and his team throughout the evening was flawless. Don't hesitate ..Go!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank TrekkingWhiteTiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jpmaurel, Owner at Bel Canto Restaurant, responded to this review, November 14, 2014
Dear TrekkingWhiteTiger

Thank you for awarding your visit to Bel Canto with 5 stars. We really couldn’t wish for anything more! Our manager Chris will be so pleased to hear your kind words and I’m certain he would like to pass on his thanks. Thank you for sharing your thoughts on Trip Advisor - it is greatly appreciated.

Warmest wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great experience for the whole family”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2014 via mobile

Visited the restaurant with our extended family. Booking process worked very well with very clear feedback and instructions.
We did not know what to expect, and as it is a basement location, you initially get a little worried. But as the local filled up, the atmosphere was great. And the performances were absolutely professional. To top it off, food was excellent as well. So all in all, an outstanding evening. It is not the cheapest but believe it represents fair value for the money.
My only recommendation would be not to book a table before 19:30 as this is when the performances really start.

Helpful?
3 Thank Makako2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jpmaurel, Owner at Bel Canto Restaurant, responded to this review, November 20, 2014
Dear Makako2000,

Wow! How great to read Bel Canto being described as a ‘great experience for the whole family’. We can’t explain how much feedback like that means to us and I’ll be certain to share it with our staff later. Many thanks for leaving feed back on Trip Advisor. Please visit us again soon - we’d love to welcome you back!

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
146 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“GO”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2014

My first experience at a musical dining restaurant and i have to say it blew us away all our table including two that was scepticle. For me the singing was brilliant and anyone that wants a special night out should consider going here you wont regret it. Go

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Roger P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jpmaurel, Owner at Bel Canto Restaurant, responded to this review, November 20, 2014
Dear Roger P,

How wonderful to hear the Bel Canto experience described as ‘brilliant’. I will be certain to pass your thoughts on to our staff; they will be most gratified to hear them. Thank you for leaving your feed back here on Trip Advisor; it is hugely appreciated. We do hope that you will visit us again soon!

Best wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Bel Canto is a 'bucket list' must do!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2014

This was our second visit to Bel Canto and will not be our last! Wonderful food accompanied by beautiful singing in a warm, informal atmosphere. A lovely evening!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandrabbit2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jpmaurel, Owner at Bel Canto Restaurant, responded to this review, November 20, 2014
Dear Roger P,

How wonderful to hear the Bel Canto experience described as ‘brilliant’. I will be certain to pass your thoughts on to our staff; they will be most gratified to hear them. Thank you for leaving your feed back here on Trip Advisor; it is hugely appreciated. We do hope that you will visit us again soon!

Best wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bel Canto Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Bel Canto Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing