We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A simply wonderful evening”

Bel Canto Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Bel Canto Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #38 of 22,544 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $70 - $98
Cuisines: French, European, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Located just a few minutes from Lancaster Gate tube station, Bel Canto is suitable for all events and celebrations including birthdays and romantic evenings. Our opera restaurant attracts everyone from opera enthusiasts to curious tourists and culinary explorers. The classic French menu changes seasonally, and is complemented by a diverse selection of both French and Italian wines. Bel Canto has approximately 60 artists on rotation. Every evening 4 singers and a pianist will perform a variety of arias from celebrated operas. The talented waiting staff will belt out everything from Verdi to Wagner while serving fine French cuisine! During the evening you will receive a glass prosecco to join in with the artists to toast with them for the "Libiamo" of the "Traviatta"! Bel Canto is an intimate Restaurant and is decorated with ruby red wallpaper, ornate opera costumes and crisp white linens. Bel Canto offers truly unique and intimate dining experience - the whole team cannot wait to share with you!
Surrey, England
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A simply wonderful evening”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Our first visit but most definitely not our last. Exceptional customer service from the moment
we arrived, delicious food, relaxed but special ambience and just amazing singing !
Simply a wonderful evening out in London.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank LPG380
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jpmaurel, Owner at Bel Canto Restaurant, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
So happy we left a favourable impression! Thank you for your kind words regarding our food and performance... we take great pride in both!

We look forward to seeing you soon!

Jean Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,016 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    769
    202
    31
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Appledore, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Faultless and fun”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

What a delightful evening. The standard of the performances was extremely high, making the occasion enormously enjoyable but we did not expect such quality of both food and service. Good value for money and an experience we will certainly repeat.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sylvia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jpmaurel, Owner at Bel Canto Restaurant, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you for your kind words. We take great pride in all elements of our restaurants... The singing and food are obviously very important to us... But our General Manager Chris is a customer service master and will not settle for anything but excellence from his whole team. Hope to see you soon! :)

Jean Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A great evening out”
Reviewed September 14, 2013

If you are not a fan opera go anyway, it is a great experience and dining with a difference, the food, service and ambiance were very good to. The singing interludes were short so plenty of time to talk. I booked through Toptable and received a discount. so it cost me £106 all in for the two of us.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Tabler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jpmaurel, Owner at Bel Canto Restaurant, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments! We agree - even if you are not an opera fan you will like Bel Canto... great food and wine... combined with breathtakingly beautiful voices... the 3 work together to beget a fabulous and unique experience! We hope to see you soon!

Jean Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“An evening of opera & food......”
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Got to say that after reading various views of this place I'm glad I decided to go & find out for myself. Firstly the food. Excellent variety & of very good standard. Secondly the service. The service was very good & although I felt it a little slow between courses it kept pace with the last part - the entertainment. You really didn't notice the gaps between courses as the singing kept your mind occupied. Fabulous singers & pianist that delivered!!
Then the bill. Well we had a voucher from Time Out which meant a very good reduction in the cost of the evening. The service charge, although discretionary, was added without being asked (standard these days so just get on with it) At 12.5% it added a hefty £39 approx to the bill. I thought about this after the event & broke it down to this:-
4 persons - 3 courses each with 3 coffee's to finish. 2 bottles of pretty good lower end red wine. 3 'off piste' sweets (cheese @ £3 approx each extra) + magical entertainment = a very good £55 per person. Get that anywhere else in London at this standard??
Would I go without an offer voucher to help the wallet? Possibly not.......
Would I go again with a voucher? Absolutely!!
Oh plus we got a free procecco each on arrival & another small one during one of the performances...brilliant!
Well done Bel Canto. Fab evening that disappeared far too quickly.....

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank PaulioStottio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jpmaurel, Owner at Bel Canto Restaurant, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
I am so happy you had a fabulous experience at Bel Canto and you enjoyed our food and opera! We agree that our restaurant offers tremendous value and it is a miracle that are able to offer our customers special discounts given that our waiters are... well... professional opera singers! :) We hope to see you soon! :)

Jean Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Scintillating singing, fabulous food, astounding ambiance and stupendous service. What more could anyone ask.
This was our second visit and proved to be as pleasurable as the first. It certainly won't be our last. Looking forward to it already.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jpmaurel, Owner at Bel Canto Restaurant, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Hello! you review actually made me blush... :) I am soooo happy you had such a fabulous second visit and we cannot wait until the third! :)

Best

Jean Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bel Canto Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Bel Canto Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing