We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best birthday in my life was in Bel Canto”

Bel Canto Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Bel Canto Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #42 of 22,857 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $70 - $98
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Located just a few minutes from Lancaster Gate tube station, Bel Canto is suitable for all events and celebrations including birthdays and romantic evenings. Our opera restaurant attracts everyone from opera enthusiasts to curious tourists and culinary explorers. The classic French menu changes seasonally, and is complemented by a diverse selection of both French and Italian wines. Bel Canto has approximately 60 artists on rotation. Every evening 4 singers and a pianist will perform a variety of arias from celebrated operas. The talented waiting staff will belt out everything from Verdi to Wagner while serving fine French cuisine! During the evening you will receive a glass prosecco to join in with the artists to toast with them for the "Libiamo" of the "Traviatta"! Bel Canto is an intimate Restaurant and is decorated with ruby red wallpaper, ornate opera costumes and crisp white linens. Bel Canto offers truly unique and intimate dining experience - the whole team cannot wait to share with you!
Moscow, Russia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best birthday in my life was in Bel Canto”
Reviewed May 16, 2013

It was wonderful, really! We booked the restaurant to celebrate my birthday. And it was a good idea. The atmosphere was majestic. The singers are professionals. We spent a sweet time in Bel Canto!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Demiol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jpmaurel, Owner at Bel Canto Restaurant, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear Opera Diner,

Thank you for your comments.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your birthday celebration at Bel Canto.

Your feedback will be passed to the team.

Вся команда Бела канто желает вам один очень с днем рождения!

Gratefully yours!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,033 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    781
    207
    31
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Opera and gastronomy”
Reviewed May 16, 2013

An excellent evening. The food was really good, well presented and justified the visit without the added attraction of four opera singers of excellent quality. It is always a pleasure to listen to young talented singers - but to have meal served by them (cheerfully and willing to chat about their embryonic careers) in between arias was a pleasure. Highly commended. Bravo and brava.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Ian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jpmaurel, Owner at Bel Canto Restaurant, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear Opera Diner,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback.

We are overjoyed that you thoroughly enjoyed our dining experience.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again in the near future.

Lyrically yours!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Unique and Delicious”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

I was really happy with my time at Bel Canto.
First things first - the food was superb. The fish soup brought back memories of sitting in harbour-side restaurant in Nice. The braised ox cheek was also tasty and literally melted in my mouth like butter (a cliche but in this particularly case, true)... The chocolate fondant was a thing of beauty and I also enjoyed the basil creme brulée my companion ordered.
Now onto the main spectacle - the waiters here are all professional opera singers... yes, the person filling your water and taking your order will sing several times during your service, bringing you to the brink of tears or to near fits of laughter through some of opera's most recognised arias. Best of all, while they give you a private performance you get to casually sip wine and enjoy excellent french food! What more could you want?

A great idea for birthdays and when tickets at the Royal Opera prove illusive!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank ChrisO422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jpmaurel, Owner at Bel Canto Restaurant, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Opera Diner,

Thank you for your comments.

We are delighted that you enjoyed our operatic dining experience and hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again in the near future.

All your compliments will be passed to the team.

Respectfully yours!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishops Stortford
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Super place for celebration”
Reviewed May 12, 2013

We celebrated my birthday yesterday ... And couldn't have chosen better. The atmosphere was intimate but not stuffy .... The singing superb and the singers and accompanist engaging and fun. Presentation of food excellent and quality of food great. We arrived at 7 and left at 11 ... And we're singing the tunes and the restaurants praises the following morning. Well done ... And friendly emails to confirm tables made us feel that you genuinely wanted our guests to have a terrific evening. We did

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank HJKBishopsStortford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jpmaurel, Owner at Bel Canto Restaurant, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Opera Diner,

Thank you for leaving your comments.

The restaurant is laid out differently every night with the aim to provide an intimate setting. We are delighted that you enjoyed the atmosphere.

All your compliments will be passed to the team.

Gratefully yours!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Bel Canto - singing its praises !”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We booked the restaurant for our daughter's 18th Birthday Party and we were warmly greeted and her dining chair was marked with a Birthday balloon as requested.
She and her cousin were a little apprehensive at first perhaps thinking they would have to take part ! But no it's all down to the wonderful singers and we were soon enjoying Prosecco and opera in a convivial atmosphere followed by dinner.
The singers waited on between serving so the very diva who had just sung was then presenting you with your next course !
A fabulous evening enjoyed by the young ladies just as much as Mum & Dad.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Scud50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jpmaurel, Owner at Bel Canto Restaurant, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Opera Diner,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback and we appreciate you acknowledging that our restaurant is suitable for all ages.

We do our best to fulfil any requests and exceed expectations.

Singing along is not compulsory, but of course, we encourage it!

Lyrically yours!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bel Canto Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Bel Canto Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing